We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel at exceptional value”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #127 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
485 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel at exceptional value”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Just completed a three night stay at Hotel de Varenne, a wonderful boutique hotel with personal service, a great location, and excellent rooms. Rooms are large, clean, well furnished and relatively inexpensive for this section of Paris. Very near Invalides, Rodin, and Eiffel Tower, Rue Cler and outstanding restaurants. We stayed in room 41 (fourth floor overlooking small courtyard) and had a wonderful view of the Eiffel Tower....very special.

The courtyard is nice to sit outside and relax and enjoy a quiet moment after a long day.

HIghly recommend this hotel and definitely will stay here again on our next trip to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for room 41...nice courtyard and Eiffel Tower views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    301
    71
    10
    8
See reviews for
182
782
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madras, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We had a wonderful time in Paris and at Le Varenne.
Rooms and service are perfect.
We will remember for years our one week stay there.
Their location is number one and the value excellent.
We also loved the breakfast taken in the nice little garden.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salman k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Hotel de Varenne is located on a quiet street close to a Metro stop and within a few stops of most major sites. While the rooms are small, by American standards, they are nicely furnished and the facility is properly maintained. Room 17, with two twin beds, was somewhat larger than most, and the bathroom included a tub with a handheld shower that can be cradled high enough to stand under. The hotel has a lift for easy access to rooms on the upper floors. The small refrigerator in each room was a nice plus not found in many boutique hotels. Several good restaurants, a market, a wine shop, two bakeries, and an ATM are within a block or two of the hotel. Since, like most visitors to Paris, we didn't rent a car the proximity to the restaurants and other facilities was a huge plus. We particularly liked Armando's restaurant, located a few doors down from the hotel. Our party of 6 met in the small courtyard for coffee in the morning and to relax over a glass of wine at the end of the day. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoTether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel de Varenne for a week in September. The rooms are lovely and the hotel is close to the metro and all the major sites. It is located off the busy tourist path which is a real plus. We have been to Paris on several occasions and absolutely love it! If you're looking for a quiet hotel off the busy streets of Paris, we highly recommend the Hotel de Varenne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at this lovely little hotel in September. The location is terrific, within a 30 minute walk or an easy metro ride to most of the major sites and museums. The exterior has a nice little garden - a lovely place to sit and sip a glass of wine while relaxing between afternoon adventures and dinner plans, if the weather cooperates. Because of the setback garden and the relatively quiet street, the rooms are very quiet. Our room, on the top floor, actually had a view of the Eiffel Tower from one of the windows. I don't think any other rooms have that view - so be sure to ask for the room on the 4th floor with that view. And the price is reasonable (for Paris). We paid about $260 per night.

But there are some important downsides - mostly focussed around the bathroom. As noted above, our room did not have a shower. There was a large tub (that did not drain properly - though they called in a plumber to fix this for us), and a handheld showerhead. If you like to stand under a shower, forget it - that is just not possible. We also thought that the towels were cheap feeling, and the hotel did not provide some toiletries I usually expect to see such as lotion and a vnity kit.

It's a trade off - I would be happy stay here again because of the location and charm. My husband would rather stay elsewhere next time because of the shower.

Room Tip: One top floor room has a view of the Eiffel Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were very pleased that we stayed at Hotel de Varenne and definitely recommend it.
Great location to many many of the Paris sights, as well as to the subway. Two blocks from the Rodin Museum. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean,comforatable and quiet rooms. Courtyard was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel de Varenne in mid-June of this year. While this delightful hotel is just a short walk from the Seine, the Louvre, Les Invalides and the Place de la Concorde, it sits on a quiet street that boasts a wonderful patisserie next door, and excellent restaurants, galleries and shops within a block or two — all in a quiet neighbourhood that made us feel as if we were actually "living" in Paris rather than just visiting.

The rooms are large, quiet and well appointed. And the staff is helpful without being intrusive.

I recommend it highly and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandzia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#99 of 1,802 in Paris
550 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#117 of 1,802 in Paris
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#63 of 1,802 in Paris
450 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#57 of 1,802 in Paris
780 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#74 of 1,802 in Paris
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Property: Hotel de Varenne
Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#97 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing