We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel plus ideal location”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #100 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely boutique hotel the last few days of May. It is situated within walking distance to Invalides, Rodin and The Eiffel Tower The Varenne metro stop is within a 5 min walk. This neighborhood is very quiet - there are many office buildings/embassies around the hotel---it is a very secure location. The hotel staff was pleasant, helpful and spoke very good English. The interior of the hotel was also very nice - it reminded me of a gentlemen’s library. Their photos of the hotel found online are very accurate. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pretty courtyard. We had booked a superior room for 209 euros per night and felt it was a comfortable size for the two of us. Extra electrical outlets in the room were a great bonus! There is a small grocery store down the street as well as a couple of restaurants. We did eat at the Italian restaurant a few doors down, and also one a couple of blocks away called Le Basilic - both good (note that the Italian restaurant charges taxes on top of the prices on their menu where most restaurants we ate the price on the menu included the taxes). There is also a nearby bank ATM which was convenient for getting cash.
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel - the bakery next door is excellent and there is another small bakery further down the street.
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel de Varenne and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The superior room size was quite comfortable for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We visited Paris for 4 nights at the beginning of May and after much research on TripAdvior, we settled for the Hotel de Varenne. Most reviews followed the same theme of location, location, location. Once again, we found that the TripAdvisor reviews were right on the money. The hotel is located in the 7th arrondissement which truly is the perfect location. The neighborhood is upscale with convenient grocers, shops and restaurants. Exactly what I think is the perfect European neighborhood. The Rodin is half a block away so it's easy to get there when you notice that there's no line. Other museums, churches and the Eiffel Tower are also an easy walk, but then we prefer walking over public transportation.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer. We had breakfast at the hotel each morning and for some reason, I thought that breakfast was included but then found out that it was 11 euros per person. A little pricey but it was always good and the coffee was superb. We opted for a deluxe room that faced the little courtyard so our room was surprisingly quiet.

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After reading all the reviews of this hotel my husband and I decided to book a few nights here at the end of our Grand Circle tour. This way we could extend our time in Paris and get to see the places we had missed on a previous trip. We are so glad that we stayed here. From the moment we made our reservations we were very pleased with how accessible the staff was in answering our many questions. On our arrival they were friendly and attentive. Since we were there early as we had to leave our tour group at nine, they held our bags for us while went off to explore. When we returned our bags were in our lovely room. This hotel is very clean and cheerful. The courtyard is the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine or a picnic. We also enjoyed the hotel breakfast each morning. Best of all the location is ideal as you can walk to the Orsay, Rodin, Eiffel Tower, and just about every place we wanted to see. The neighborhood was quiet and convenient to a pharmacy, market, bakery, metro and many restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return here in the future

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you have come to tripadvisor looking for reviews on the Hotel de Varenne you have probably noticed that the overwhelming majority of them feature similar thoughts around one central theme, this is a wonderful hotel. A warm and welcoming staff, a location second to none with the Metro, Musee d'Orsay, Musee Rodin and Eiffel Tower ALL within very easy walking distance and rooms that are way above average for a 3 star hotel.
The surrounding area is clearly upscale, however, it is easy to find a good restaurant within a five minute walk. Need a supermarket ...it is across the street. Need a pharmacy ..it is only one block away.
Last but not least after enjoying the energy of Paris it's nice to know that you will find an extremely comfortable bed in a neighborhood that is quiet.
The Hotel de Varenne...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isnore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our family of 6 enjoyed our stay at Hotel Varenne for 4 nights. The 2 Exec. Doubles and the Superior twin room were exactly what we needed and the beds were very comfortable. As others have said the location is ideal with many shops to meet your needs for morning coffee, fresh fruit, wine, cheese etc. We enjoyed their offered breakfast one of the mornings and it was very nice also. We especially appreciated their little outdoor dining area that allowed us to have a glass of wine in the late afternoon and a picnic type light dinner another night. The staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you Hotel de Varenne

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTownBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We chose Hotel Varenne because of the reviews and we were not dissapointed. Our room was the usual Paris room, adequate but not huge. The location is very central and it is easy to reach Musee D'Orsay, the Tower and the Champs Elysee is a good stroll. Varenne metro is a block away and locally there is a great supermarket across the road, a great bakery two doors down and plenty of great restaurants in the area. The staff at the hotel are great, always helpful and the breakfast is excellent. Wine in the courtyard is a great way to finish the day. Will stay here again.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We prefer a small boutique hotel in a quiet but convenient location which has well appointed rooms and excellent personal service. This describes Hotel de Varenne perfectly. It is near the embassy area of Paris and is a ten- to fifteen-minute walk from the Musee d'Orsay. Entrance to the hotel is through an iron gate and a lovely courtyard which is set back from the street. The front desk receptionists are warm, gracious, and eager to assist guests with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. We splurged a bit and reserved an Executive Double Room and were very pleased with it. It was tastefully decorated, quiet, and cozy. We will return to this hotel on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MARI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#142 of 1,803 in Paris
479 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#47 of 1,803 in Paris
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#102 of 1,803 in Paris
578 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#183 of 1,803 in Paris
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#79 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £138 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing