We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, nice rooms in Paris”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #110 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice rooms in Paris”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. Walking distance to Invalides, Musee Rodin, Musee d'Orsay, Louvre, National Assemblee and much more. The rooms are on the small side and the elevator is tiny. Good internet speed.

So, quite functional, very clean, professional staff, nice breakfast courtyard. No romantic getaway location but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neville J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    297
    71
    10
    8
See reviews for
177
800
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is centrally located for sight seeing in Paris. It is also just a stroll to Invalides Metro station from where you can reach anywhere in Paris if you dont feel like walking - particularly handy for a day trip to Montmartre (10mins by metro). As regards sightseeing by foot, everything is a manageable stroll and along the way the streets around the hotel are quaint and filled with cafes and shops. Its ideally located for sights on both sides of the city.

The rooms are not big but they are fully equipped with everything you would want, including slippers and robe, travel essentials, power shower, air conditioning, satellite tv and even a stocked mini bar with champagne and other beverages and snacks. There is no bar in the hotel.

Breakfast is served until 12, and there are loads of cafes to choose from in the area so a room only option would also be fine.

Room Tip: For me the trip was about getting out and about to see Paris, so we really didnt spend much time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACWMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and appreciated the outdoor space. Was really nice if you just wanted to relax instead of being in your room. We came on a Sunday and not much to do, but during the rest of the week appreciated the grocery stores across the street, plus a wonderful bakery just two doors down (with great pasteries). Room was small, but luckily we had a 'hallway' in our room which allowed us to store our luggage. Short walk to many locations and staff was helpful in confirming reservations for car pickup, etc. Being unfamiliar with Paris, hotel location was great and we could walk to many of the places we wanted to visit. There's some construction - though not intrusive - seems perhaps they are providing a new reception area. Definitely agree with the positive reviews - which is what we used when choosing the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I agree with all of the positive reviews of this quiet, lovely hotel. I agree, too, that upgrading to the superior room is a good idea if you want more space. The standard rooms are really quite small. The staff are particularly helpful and friendly. But the big plus for this hotel is the location-- one can walk nearly everywhere-- the Invalides, the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, the Luxembourg gardens, etc...but especially one can walk right down the street to the Rodin Museum where, for 2 euros, you can luxuriate in the beautiful gardens of the place and enjoy the tranquility of a truly wonderful place. If you are feeling harried by city life, take the short walk to the Rodin and you won't regret it. There is a really good bakery next door, a grocery store across the street, and all kinds of restaurants. Take a walk up to L'Universite, turn left at the Palais Bourbon, walk a few blocks and you emerge on the magnificent esplanade with the Invalides to your left and the Pont Alexandre III on your right-- simply breathtaking! The de Varenne is a real find.

Room Tip: One thing I really don't like, or understand, is the weird little quarter glass panel on the sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oborozuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This quaint hotel is located near Invalides, Rue Cler, Pont de Alexander and the Seine, You could walk(and our travelling companions did) to the Louvre, D'Orsay and L'Orangerie. You could also walk to the Tour Eiffiel (though we took a cab back at night) There is a metro stop two blocks from the hotel. The room was large enough so as not to be claustrophobic and the bathroom was more than adequate. A nice touch was the robe and slippers. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was simple and typically French(coffee, croissant, juice) I would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My fiance (boyfriend at the time) and I were visiting his sister who was stationed in Germany this past August, and decided to take a day trip to Paris for our anniversary. We chose Hotel de Varenne, based on other Trip Advisor reviews. We are SO happy we did! What a great value!!The hotel is beautiful, and a short walk from so many attractions. Since we had only a day, and came in by train via Luxembourg, it was so convenient for us. We walked everywhere after we got off the metro. The tower was beautiful, and the city was so lovely. The employees of the hotel were very helpful and nice. There is a tiny Italian restaurant down the street, a great wine shop, and a choclaterie and frommagerie. I really can't say enough about it. Our room was clean and beautiful with a view of the courtyard. There was no noise. The elevator is a bit small, but hey, that's ok. We had breakfast in the courtyard and it was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great location in a quiet neighbouhood with attentive staff. Convenient for walking to major museums and attractions. Many fine shops, restaurants, and brasseries nearby. An excellent breakfast helps start the day. Small courtyard where you can enjoy a glass of wine or cup of coffee and rest tired feet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MackieEditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#76 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#125 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#80 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#114 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Property: Hotel de Varenne
Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#81 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing