We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small hotel in the heart of Paris”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #135 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

When stepping into the courtyard of Hotel de Varenne, you feel like truly entering to a hidden gem. The staff was really friendly from the very beginning and made us feel welcome. The location enabled us to walk to many places or take the metro if we wanted to (a couple of different metro stations relatively close by).

We had our room on the second floor and it was spacious and comfortable. Second floor was perfect in the sense that you could easily take the stairs up and down. The hotel has an elevator, but it was really small. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay at Hotel de Varenne and would recommend this place to our own friends, too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suvimarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varenne75, Propriétaire at Hotel de Varenne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your good experience with us.
This was a pleasure to welcome you to Paris.
We will be happy to welcoming you and your friends in the future.
Kind regards.

Jean-Marc POMMIER
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a small, tastefully renovated hotel in a great neighborhood. The rooms are lovely, with every amenity. An enclosed garden outside has comfortable seating for breakfast or a drink in the afternoon or evening. It's within walking distance of practically everything a tourist wants to see and, like all of Paris, near a Metro stop that will take you anywhere else. A convenient market is across the street, as is a laundry. The front desk is staffed at all times and the service is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Traveler4life59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great time with my boyfriend during our stay at Hotel de Varenne.
The front desk staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful.
Our room was large, comfortable and very cosy.
The location is superb with many restaurants and nice little shops.
We won't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ginger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family of two sons, my wife and myself stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The pros are that the hotel itself it's charming, clean and In a quiet part of town. The two gentlemen who work the desk at different parts of the day were accommodating and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms were large by European standards.

Cons: there was a female desk worker who was there in the morning and during the day who we found to be less friendly than to the two gentlemen. The waitress who worked the breakfast could not seem to understand any English nor did she understand my attempts to speak French and got my order wrong several times. The breakfast itself is quite limited so I was confused as why she was thrown off when I tried to order eggs.

The location is fine as there is a station nearby that get you anywhere you want to go with about a 20 minutes train ride.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July, 2014. My #1 requirement in hotels rooms, besides the usual cleanliness is good AC. (OK, so I'm a spoiled American.) This room had good AC and all the usual amenities. The hotel is conveniently located in the 7th Arrondisement. The closest Metro station is Invalides. We walked from here to many major attractions. We had breakfast one day, which was just the usual continental breakfast because it was a Sunday and everything was closed, including the little bakery a few steps away. Keep in mind that almost all restaurants and grocery stores are closed on Sundays in France. There is a little grocery store across the street from the hotel where we could have bought some picnic supplies had we planned in advance. There is an attractive little sitting area with a few green trees and plants outside the front door of the hotel but off the street. A few comments about accessibility. There is an elevator but it is tiny and probably could not accommodate a wheelchair. Also, the hallways are narrow. I do not consider it friendly to the mobility-challenged. Otherwise, a good choice for a Paris hotel.

Room Tip: Our room looked out at the street. It was quiet but it was a weekend in Paris. We did hear the dai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ramblingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our two night stay in a superior room at the Hotel de Varenne. Room was clean, comfortable and of reasonable size for a Paris hotel. The hotel is on a quiet street within walking distance of Paris' major sights. Staff was helpful especially in arranging for car to airport and storing our luggage after check-out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This review is based on a limited experience (one night). Our room was tiny, but it worked! We had a great night's sleep and were very comfortable. Also, we hired a babysitter through the hotel's baby sitter services. Our babysitter arrived promptly, and was professional. We were happy with our stay and would stay here again. Great location too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SoCalGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#79 of 1,805 in Paris
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#177 of 1,805 in Paris
1,417 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#41 of 1,805 in Paris
553 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#55 Family Hotel in Paris
#101 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#120 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £129 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing