We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location in Paris!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #102 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location in Paris!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

The hotel is very sweet and exactly what you imagine when you think 'Parisian' hotel, with a particularly nice courtyard area. We booked a Superior room and the staff were kind enough to allow us to have 2 children (4 and 8 years) in the same room with us which saved us from booking two rooms and spending even more on accomodation. I consider the price (230 Euros a night not including breakfast) quite steep for the standard of the hotel (which is 3 star) but the location is amazing! The district is very quiet (I saw many embassies and consulates as we walked around) but very close to everything, including the metro! We didn't use the Metro, however, preferring to walk everywhere. The reception staff were really lovely and helpful, however, the breakfast staff did not speak or seem to understand English which lead to many miscommunications and incorrect orders! In itself, this wouldn't have been a problem, but they were not at all friendly and did not share a smile with us in the two days we were there. Housekeeping was, likewise, not particularly friendly (not even a 'Bonjour' as we plassed in the hall) which is a shame as the front desk staff try hard to create a friendly atmosphere. I would stay in this hotel again and recommend it to a friend but mostly due to the location. I'm not sure it's rating as 3rd most popular hotel in Paris on Tripadvisor is warranted (at least it was at the time I booked) - generally I expect more from a hotel rated so highly on Tripadvsor.com.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakkelund1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    296
    71
    10
    7
See reviews for
172
795
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I haven't stayed there yet but plan to be there this Sunday August 1 with two rooms for four nights, but I've had numerous emails with Jean-Marc, Gerard and Beatrix and all have been extremely cordial and helpful. I think this will be an excellent find.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_from_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

This was our third stay at the Varenne, and it gets better each time. The staff was wonderful, and did everything to make our stay special as usual. We are looking forward to our next stay at Hotel Varenne.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qld, australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Found this hotel to be very comfortable, clean and convenient to city sights. Lovely little area in courtyard to have drinks, or coffee. Breakfast was continental, so opted for patisseries in the street, many to choose from! Staff friendly and helpful each time when asked. Little supermarket in street, but others not far away either. Laundramat approx 15 mins walk away. Few restaurants in the area, were very nice and some not too expensive. Overall, pleasant place to stay in Paris, and would return. Rooms of a standard with other European cities. Not extremely large, but comfortable. Would like to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Had a small lift, but with no suitcases, used the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniepotts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

You can reserve at Hotel de Varenne.
No doubt about it, it's all true. Believe me we had a fantastic time there.
The staff is extremely polite and friendly and the decoration is superb.
Look no further this is an hidden gem at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmygold79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

This was the perfect hotel for my first trip to Paris. I came with my 11 year old daughter. The hotel is very clean. Also very small, situated in a residential area in the 7th arrondisement. Free internet access is provided - ask the concierge for the password. It offers breakfast - either "petit dejuner" which is coffee or tea, juice, breads and jam, or a larger breakfast with eggs, toast and fruit (both for an extra charge) Our room was small by American standards, but all we really needed. We stayed in room 27, equipped with 2 twin beds, small closet, mini-fridge, safe, TV, AIR CONDITIONING, and large bathroom with bath, sink, and stocked with towels, washcloths, water glasses, hand soap, shower gel, shampoo and lotion. Apparently, there are larger rooms, as a family of 4 is staying here as well. Across the street there is a small grocery store, and laundry / dry cleaner. Down the street is a lovely fruit shop and also a yummy bakery. Also in the same block are a pharmacy, and 2 banks with cash machines. Many good cafes and restaurants within 5 - 10 minute walk. 5 minute walk to the Invalides Metro stop so very easy to take Metro transport almost anywhere. (Get a Paris Visite pass at the station for the number of days you will be there and you won't have to buy a ticket for every trip on the Metro. If you plan to leave the central city, get one for zones 1-6, otherwise zones 1-3 will do.) Staff was very friendly, and the concierges at the front desk all spoke English passably well. The hotel is VERY reasonably priced for Paris. The neighborhood is quiet, and safe. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank socalmommyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We had a great time at hotel de varenne.
The rooms are spacious and clean and the bedding is perfect.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
We had breakfast every morning in the little garden, a real plus.
Look no further this is the ideal place for a romantic stay in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherpesfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#75 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#127 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#110 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#58 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Property: Hotel de Varenne
Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#75 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing