We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a hoStel... not hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Montclair Hostel
Ranked #14 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed a week on my first ever trip to Paris.
The location is great, easily accessible from the airport by public transport. Within walking distance to Sacre Ceour and metro to reach all other places.

Although I stayed for a week in a dorm of 4 girls, and pre-paid 2 months before I came, the room was CRAMPED with a tiny bathroom where the hot water intermittently works. Oh the water switch off every ...1 minutes I guess...So whenever i shower, I just press my back on the knob, especially when i wash my hair.
May be not all the room is like this, but I got the most left corner room on the first floor. The 2 benefits of being on the first floor - wifi is accessible from there and just enough staircases for me to lift up my luggage . No lift.

Breakfast - all you can eat croissant and bread with selection of jams. Coffee, tea, and orange juice. Milk and cereals. Not bad at all....

Staffs - depending who is working, some can be aloof, while others are helpful. I actually enjoy talking to Fernando, the guy who cleans the room every afternoon. His English is better than the staffs in the reception.

Love the communal kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kokubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Bonjour,
We thank you for your comment, We confirm you that we are an Hostel.
For the shower, be sure that normally, we have hot water for all guest.
We also made the renovation, painting, bathrooms, in june.
We are happy that you like the breakfast and hope to welcome you a next time.
Regards
Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hostel has a great location, just a the bottom of the sacre-coeur church. It's pretty clean. There is no elevator, wasn't a problem for me but could be for someelse. It's a good choice if you are travelling by yourself and want to meet with other young travellers. the wifi is free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hello,
What a good idea, thanks for your review!
Concerning the lift, we understand your position and decide to install it for 2013.
Waiting to welcome you again.
Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Staye here twice now, great location, awesome street and clean, well priced hostel. I've been here both as a couple and with a parent, it was perfect for both. The dorms and private rooms are both equally as good depending on what you're after

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisDennis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi there!
Well, when will be the 3rd time ?
We enjoy to welcome people who come back in Paris
Thanks for your trust in our Hostel
regards
Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

If you are looking for a central hostel with simple breakfast included and you are alright with sharing your room with others (ex. in 4-6 beds dormitory) with shared bathroom and WC or would like a very simple, but clean room with a double bed, in a superb central area in PARIS (with a view of Sacre-Ceour) - Montclair Monmartre is the place for you!
Simple, clean, old building with character and charm offers you a great stay, with clean sheets and free WiFi included in a price of aprox. 25 €/night/double bed room (shared bathroom and WC, wich is the only thing that bothered a bit whrn the hot water ran out by 09:30 am).
The staff is super nice, kind, friendly and very helpful!

We had a great stay! Merci et a bientot ;)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonecigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thanks for your comment,
We are happy that you like the Montclair Hostel
See you a next time!
Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

my stay at le montclair was -ok. pros: it is located very close to the metro and it is located in montmatre, a ten minutes walk from sacre coeur. free wifi. free breakfast. the area where the guests hang out is pretty nice too. positive: they have a kitchen.
cons: no elevator. the rooms are not nice. bad beds. a constant bad smell in the toilette. no love in these rooms. some of the staff people have an arrogant-ignorant attitude.
all in all: ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imitthjaertakimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in a 6-bed dorm room and were very disappointed with the room. The walls were black covered in mould which was pretty shocking and the room very damp and cold. The room had an ensuite toilet and shower although we only managed to get hot water once during our stay and it only lasted a few minutes. There is a very small shared shower on the ground floor of the hostel which has hot water so we had to queue to use that - not really worth having an ensuite! No mirror in the room. Staff were surly and unfriendly. The hostel does have secure lockers and a locked luggage room, and is conveniently located a few minutes walk from Jules Joffrin metro stop. Have stayed in far better hostels in Paris for a similar price

Room Tip: do not stay in the 6 bed dorm Room 22 - walls covered in mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jess_Cardiff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hello,
We thank you for your time to post this comment.
First we confirm you that we finish the renovations in the rooms and the 22 was part of it, you can check the pictures. For the hot water, we are sorry for this trouble and be sure that we provide hot water in every bathroom. And we also put a new mirror in the room.
Come back to let us proove you that we can provide a better stay!
Regards
Romuald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

By the moment I entered this property I knew it was party time. The staff is really friendly and helpful, they kept answering my silly questions and always with a nice smile in their face. The best thing is that when i got lost they did help me to get back, thank you guys!!!
The location is perfect, 1min walk from Jules Joffrin metro station. Is close to everything and really minutes walking to the montmartre and the moulin rouge.
I will defo be back to Paris one day and hope to stay here again.
Thank you all for everything.

Room Tip: Get a private bathroom, is always cleaner and the shared one is not really on the way, plus try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Le Regent Hostel
#12 of 185 in Paris
1,032 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 185 in Paris
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arty Paris
#13 of 185 in Paris
633 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#11 of 185 in Paris
781 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montclair Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montclair Hostel

Address: 62 rue Ramey, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £18 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the 18th district, in a typical parisian neighborhood, Le Montclair Hostel has everything you need to enjoy your stay; snack bar, laundry, lobby, fusebol, wifi... Few steps away from the subway station Jules Joffrin, enjoy the authentic Paris, sit in a nice coffee and walk 10 minutes to the Sacré-Coeur. Le Montclair Hostel provides beds in mixed dormitories or private, double, triple rooms. Ideal for couple, family or friends willing to share a perfect moment together. A breakfast will be served every morning and the friendly staff will be glad to answer any of your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Montclair Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montclair Montmartre Hotel
Montclair Montmartre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing