We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unwelcome Reception”
Review of Hotel du Roi Rene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Roi Rene
Ranked #1,620 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
malta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“unwelcome Reception”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

few things i can say where its not my style to write against but you need to take care of this hotel. it s true that i didnt make reservation before but i called him 3 days before where i asked if there is a room for 2 available. .he told , ' yes i have and will book it for you and you pay me in cash. i will give it to you at 58/night '. when i arrive in Paris and go staight there. He told ne, i cant find you on my reservation. .and if you want to stay here, its 150 euro per night.. what a SHAMe. .it s like a garage.. and wants that money. Really shame on this particular hotel. Take care if you going to book here. .rubbish in the real sense of word..

Room Tip: think twice coz it s not worth it. .. for few minutes away.. book near Notredam at 60euro/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    44
    42
    31
    65
See reviews for
26
81
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as it was in a good location. We knew it was budget but, the room was not clean. The reception area smelt very unpleasant. The hotel was undergoing renovations BUT no excuse for makeshift curtain poles, exposed wiring in rooms. I definitely did not want to eat there!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excitedtraveller305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We arrived & no reception person was there & cleaner could not speak English. When we checked in the rooms were freezing & extremely small - we had booked a triple - with no room for our suitcases. Mattress was uncomfortable and I felt lie I was rolling off to one side. Newly renovated bath room had over-bath tub shower screen at wrong end of bath so shoer flooded the room which had no drain on the floor. Fridge didn't work. Staff were not very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel for a concert on 21-23 august. The hotel is in a fantastic area of Paris next to a beautiful little park and was greeted by a man who ran the hotel who was very friendly, with good English and he was very helpful in directing us into the centre of Paris when we asked him. Our room was extremely clean, with a working tv, a few toiletries and nice big French windows, however it would of been nice to have a little kettle, a few tea bags and better pillows. On our 2nd day we were pleasantly surprised to see our room door wide open and was met with a very polite friendly lady who was cleaning our room which we thought was great seen as we were only staying for 2 nights. I would without a doubt recommend this hotel if youre visiting Paris, the staff are fantastic, very friendly and polite with good English, i will most definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissArr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Eurostar package - a very good deal.
Room and bath both small and basic, but cleaned every day. Quiet room overlooking the yard and a good mattress allowing proper sleep after long days spent sightseeing. Breakfast charged extra 6 euros pp, not had it there though as preferred a boulangerie nearby.
Very friendly reception staff, speaking good English. Reception/front door closing at 12 p.m. not sure what happens later, as managed to arrive before midnight. A key to the front door provided. Vending machine in lobby. HSBC branch and a cash machine on the opposite corner.

Nice area, less busy than typical tourist spots, but close to metro stations and bus stops. Arc de Triomphe, Montmartre and Moulin Rouge all within walking distance. A nice park just behind the opposite church. A good boulangerie-patisserie almost opposite the hotel, offering tasty continental breakfasts, lunches and a great variety of pastry/sweets. Many shops, cafes, bars and restaurants around, mostly French cuisine, but few other available too.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsi_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Me and my family were at this hotel for 3 nights, may 2013. When you walk into it the reception area frightens you with the old furniture and atmosphere, but when you go upstairs to your rooms everything is OK. The rooms are newly renovated, clean, the bathrooms are great, a little tight, but at least new and comfy. The cleaning lady comes everyday. The service is good, if you want new sheets or towels or blanket - they give it. The breakfast is the same every morning, but after all it's a city budget hotel. The situation of the hotel is good - the neighborhood is interesting, with charming streets, in walking distance to the Mouline Rouge and Sacre Cuere. The metro is two streets away. There are two big supermarkets near the hotel, good prices. Overall, the hotel is good for a city visit.

Room Tip: Lower floors for wi-fi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VenyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

On a tight budget this is by all means a good if not great choice, and I don't usually get disappointed with hotels, because I'm not that demanding. However, a few negative remarks. You have to pay like 20-25 USD för a couple of days use of WiFi. As it turned out, it didn't work on my room, so I had to get down to the messy lobby to use it. Also, my room had no closet, just a rod on wheels with hangers. There were enough spots in the ceiling to make the room lit up, but there was no such thing as a reading lamp, and instad of a bedside table there was an old rickety chair.
The hotel is obviously under reconstruction, so it might be a good idea to wait until the standard has improved (the bathroom was topnotch). I liked the surroundings a lot, and all in all I was comfortable with the not untypical parisian threadbare charm of the whole place, including the dumbwaiter-for-giants sized elevator that always stopped between the floors.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smike9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gofen
#1,637 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,572 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,377 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,537 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de la Felicite
Hotel de la Felicite
#1,521 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,597 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Roi Rene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Roi Rene

Property: Hotel du Roi Rene
Address: 72 Pl du Docteur Felix Lobligeois, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,620 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Roi Rene 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Roi Rene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Roi Rene Hotel
Du Roi Rene Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing