We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just no”
Review of Hostel Blue Planet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Blue Planet
Ranked #134 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just no”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Bad:
-terrible smell
-terrible smell because of insecticides for cockroach extermination
-no fresh sheets
-shower was disgusting
-everywhere was cramped
-no WiFi and internet costs
-only electrical plug was on the wall up by the celing
-light flickered, a lot.
-only one key per room for everyone
Good:
-got one stale piece of chocolate bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    69
    64
    161
See reviews for
11
14
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this with my two girlfriends for a weekend in Paris. We are all studying abroad and didn't want to spend a ton of money on a hostel because we knew spending money in Paris would be a lot. BIG mistake. The location is good, literally next door to Gare du Nord, so seemingly positive. They didn't even have our reservation on file, so they put us in our own 3-person room, which was nice, but really disconcerting that they had no record of us. Now to the rooms, the beds ARE THE WORST. You would be just as well sleeping on the floor. The mattresses are disgusting and essentially paper thin, so you can really feel those metal bars of the bed frame underneath you. There was hair still on the pillowcase of the bed I slept on, and all of the duvets were so nasty that we uses them as cushion for under our mattress, to ease the discomfort of the metal bars. Essentially we used our clothes as blankets, and it got freezing at night. They have lock out hours, which also really sucks. We got abruptly and hostilely woken up by someone at the hostel because we slept through our alarms and were shouted at to leave the hostel. The next day we decided to see what breakfast was like, another BIG mistake. Breakfast was people lined up to put coins in a coffee machine for coffee and in a vending machine for disgusting meat pies, or something to that nature. Paris is a city where it really is worth it to shell out for a nicer hostel. None of us really slept at all in this hell hole, and we are currently euro-tripping on our spring break and cannot believe we ever stayed in a place as horrible as Hostel Blue Planet. Spare yourselves.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Terrible. Dirty sheets, only one toilet per floor, only one key per room (!), no wi-fi, seedy area, horrible horrible place. You can get decent hostels in nicer places in Paris for the same money. Don't go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M- D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piran, Bohinj, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Its not so expencive, the rooms are for 4 or more persons, but if you are traveling as a couple they will give u alone in one roome. staff is friendly, rooms are clean, exept the bathrooms are so-so. Its located near metro, so u can get very fest were ever u want.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

the prize for that location was amazing!!!
but:
*you need your own blankets // bed sheets (there are blankets, but without the sheets over them)
*there ARE bugs (most of them are small)
*breakfast was the same bread withb chocolate EVERY MORNING
*you might have real MUSHROOMS in your shower (we had)
*the toilet is not clean
*the colours of the walls are awful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Let me start off by warning you on many reasons why you should not stay here. There is not a single thing i enjoyed about this hostel and it will ruin your Paris trip entirely. Here is a list of the terrible things that took place:
1) Upon arriving, a group of 4 people came up to us and warned us not to stay at the hostel. We were waiting to check in and had pre-booked so there was no chance of pulling out but this made us scared. We saw her crying at reception to get her money back for the rest of her booking because of a major bug problem in their room and they wanted to find a new place. Took them forever to give it back even when they said they'd call the police.
2) 5 levels and no elevator...not fun.
3) No sanitary bins for toilets so very disgusting smells and no sink to wash your hands in.
4) The pipe in our room broke and we told reception, the man came up and said "no, no it's fine", chucked a towel toward it and left...IT WAS A LEAKING PIPE!
5) They would kick everyone out of their rooms from 11am - 3:30pm everyday for cleaning and maintenance. This was ridiculous. No time to sleep in and if you wanted to go back and get something there was no chance of it.
6) The included breakfast is horrible. 2 tokens for 2 vending machines: one filled with the same thing in each ring (chocolate croissants - the kind you buy at the supermarket in bulk packs for $2) and the other was a coffee machine. Blegh.
7) The girl staying in our room said her bag had been tampered with during when cleaning took place so that's a bit dodgy...
8) Staff were very rude and unaccomodating. Came home one night at midnight and it's 24/7 reception. Rang the bell so many times before 20 mins later staff comes down from the hostel rooms followed by a girl staying in the hostel...and they looked pretty out of it. I came in and told him how disappointed i was and he got mad at me. I was pretty shocked. Made me perceive French people as the stereotype.
9) Only get one key card per room. So had to wake up people when coming back into the room at night.
10) Walls were super thin, could hear everything other people were listening to or when talking.
11) Curtain rod fell on us when we opened the window and even the cleaners didn't fix it they just left it there so we had to put up with it for our stay.

There is not one thing i liked about this hostel. It is horrible and not worth the money. I recommend paying an extra 10EUR/night more just to stay somewhere not like this place.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, you don't get to pick where you are. Luckily we didn't get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheUnknownnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCELONA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I visited around 20 countries and always stayed at hostels. Blue Planet is, without not doubt, the worst place I've never been! My mattress was on the floor. Outside was -5 degrees but not heater in the room. In our room I saw 3 cockroaches and the bed sheet were dirty and full of unknown fluids....
Also the staff was very rude. As an example of the annoying situations, the staff asked me to pay the 3 nights before even show me the room.

Really, if you go to Paris spend 3 euros more per night and go to another place.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LENYBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,142 of 1,801 in Paris
288 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,265 of 1,801 in Paris
74 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#1,457 of 1,801 in Paris
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#962 of 1,801 in Paris
215 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,289 of 1,801 in Paris
286 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#515 of 1,801 in Paris
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blue Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blue Planet

Property: Hostel Blue Planet
Address: 5 rue Hector Malot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Blue Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Blue Planet Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing