We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOSTEL EVER”
Review of Hostel Blue Planet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Blue Planet
Ranked #143 of 190 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 29 June 2014

1 - Dirty. 2 - ONE key each room (had to share keys w people didn´t know, and couldn´t enter my room). 3 - ONE plug each room. - For charging it, I had to go to the reception. A thin and unfriendly guy that is there at night charged it. I had to go outside for an hour. When I got back he didn´t charge it and said: "come back in an hour". The second time he charged it and DIDNT WANT TO GIVE MY ADAPTOR BACK (wrote blue planet in the whole adaptor).

IF YOU WANT TO HAVE A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE, THEN GO THERE!

Room Tip: DON´T GO. There is no elevator, I had a room at the 5th floor. Just one DIRTY bathroom and toilette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aedjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hostel is terrible. They do not change the sheets or clean the bathrooms. The one outlet thing is ridiculous and the wifi was down when I was a guest, so I couldn't even pay for wifi if I wanted.
On a positive note, the hostel is located close to Bastille which is where a lot of Paris nightlife is!
I would not recommend staying here, but it could be worse

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My boyfriend was devoured by bedbugs. He had 71 bites on one leg, 46 on another... We didn't even bother counting the ones on his torso, arms and neck.
The receptionist gave us money back for that night (only for him though not me) but would not give us refund for the next night (obviously we did not want to stay there again!)
On a tight budget, we were forced to stay there, another sleepless night for boyfriend. He was in so much discomfort. The bites formed massive welts on his entire body.
We asked the man at reception if they had a first aid kit for bites. They didn't. We asked for money to buy something for bites. They refused. We asked to get manager's number to ask them. They wouldn't give the number to us.

After about 15 minuted of arguing with reception staff, he gave up and gave my boyfriend a refund for the night before so he could go buy cream to soothe the bites. He was VERY ungracious about it though. "This just isn't my day then, is it?"
Um hello? We just came to Paris for a week and two days in my boyfriend is covered in bites.
This ruined the whole holiday. He could not relax or achieve relief for the whole time. It has been 10 days since it happend and he STILL has a fever.

On top of this experience, there is no lift so we had to haul the suitcases up four flights on narrow windy stairs. The toilet and shower is shared with the WHOLE floor. And you have to share your room key with the strangers in your dorm so if you go out at night and come home late you have to knock on the door and wake up the other dorm mates to be let in.

One more thing... We were locked out of the hostel one night because the front desk was unmanned and had to stand out there for 20 minutes. The next night we could hear a group of girls yelling to be let in because the same thing happened to them.

DO NOT GO HERE. It is not worth it! If you want cleanliness and value go to St Christopher near Gare Du Nord.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There was one outlet per room and one key per room. There was also only one shower and one toilet per FLOOR. The single outlet and single shower and toilet was too much. The people at reception were crabby and unhelpful. The breakfast was a machine croissant and machine coffee, and they didn't allow alcohol on the premise. The wifi was also very expensive, 1 euro for 15 minutes.

The key situation was very difficult. While the room key was left at reception when everyone left, if someone came in after the key had been give out, they had to knock on the door to be let in. The walls were very thin, and you could hear every door on the floor open and shut, but the worst part was when someone got back late at night and had to bang on their own door to have a roommate let them in, because there was only one key. When you left the room to take a shower you had to make sure that someone would either be in the room to let you back in or take the key with you. A HUGE pain.

The one positive was that it was next to Gare de Leyon, making it easy to travel by metro. I also can't complain about the cleanliness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaethuaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Bad:
-terrible smell
-terrible smell because of insecticides for cockroach extermination
-no fresh sheets
-shower was disgusting
-everywhere was cramped
-no WiFi and internet costs
-only electrical plug was on the wall up by the celing
-light flickered, a lot.
-only one key per room for everyone
Good:
-got one stale piece of chocolate bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this with my two girlfriends for a weekend in Paris. We are all studying abroad and didn't want to spend a ton of money on a hostel because we knew spending money in Paris would be a lot. BIG mistake. The location is good, literally next door to Gare du Nord, so seemingly positive. They didn't even have our reservation on file, so they put us in our own 3-person room, which was nice, but really disconcerting that they had no record of us. Now to the rooms, the beds ARE THE WORST. You would be just as well sleeping on the floor. The mattresses are disgusting and essentially paper thin, so you can really feel those metal bars of the bed frame underneath you. There was hair still on the pillowcase of the bed I slept on, and all of the duvets were so nasty that we uses them as cushion for under our mattress, to ease the discomfort of the metal bars. Essentially we used our clothes as blankets, and it got freezing at night. They have lock out hours, which also really sucks. We got abruptly and hostilely woken up by someone at the hostel because we slept through our alarms and were shouted at to leave the hostel. The next day we decided to see what breakfast was like, another BIG mistake. Breakfast was people lined up to put coins in a coffee machine for coffee and in a vending machine for disgusting meat pies, or something to that nature. Paris is a city where it really is worth it to shell out for a nicer hostel. None of us really slept at all in this hell hole, and we are currently euro-tripping on our spring break and cannot believe we ever stayed in a place as horrible as Hostel Blue Planet. Spare yourselves.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Terrible. Dirty sheets, only one toilet per floor, only one key per room (!), no wi-fi, seedy area, horrible horrible place. You can get decent hostels in nicer places in Paris for the same money. Don't go.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M- D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Diderot
Montparnasse
Enjoy Hostel
Enjoy Hostel
#35 of 190 in Paris
59 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#13 of 190 in Paris
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#23 of 190 in Paris
464 reviews
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#40 of 190 in Paris
535 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blue Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blue Planet

Address: 5 rue Hector Malot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 190 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £25 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostel Blue Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Blue Planet Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing