We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hostel Blue Planet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Blue Planet
Ranked #134 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed in this hostel alone for 2 nights, with very warm weather. Though there is no airconditioning, sleeping in the heath was fine as long as the window was open. My bed was not clean and the space in small, but that is why it is so cheap, so I was fine with it. Yes there is only one shower and toilet per floor in the hall, however I did not experience any problem with that and never had to wait too long. You need to pay way too much for wifi, so I suggest looking for a hotspot in the city. I loved my stay here in Paris! I met really great people here in this hostel and the location is amazing. Not even a 5 minute walk to station Gare de Lyon and the subway was very close to bring you everywhere in the city. I did not use the breakfast option, but I heard it wasn't great. Also I only slept here, so if you want to spend actual time in the hostel I would not recommend this one as the common area was a bit quiet. However all taken together I would definitely stay here again, it is quite cheap for Paris, there are other amazing people staying here and the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manonvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    69
    64
    161
See reviews for
11
14
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I think this is about all the good things I can say about this hostel. The cleaning is not his strongest point, but I believe a part is also because of the guests. The breakfast is cheap and unhealthy. The guests were the strongest point, I've met nice people

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teodora_Mihaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

It's cheap and close to the train station. Beds are ok. That's about it for the positives guys...

One bathroom and one shower per floor for 6 rooms of 4 or more people... So it's a decent line up every morning. And there is no sinks in the bathroom so instead, you have to do your business, and then walk back to your room to wash your hands in a random "sink room".

Another thing that sucked was in our room of 4 guys there was only ONE outlet to charge your phone/laptop. That wasn't fun.

They also charge €3 for an hour of Wi-Fi. Got to make your money somehow eh!? But charging travellers, who are on a budget, for trying to connect back home isn't right.

And last but not least, they kick you out of the hostel from 11:30-3:00PM so they can clean. You can't even sit inside. So hopefully you have a plan for something to do. Or else you are in for a surprise.

I try my best no to be too snobby when it comes to reviewing hostels. Literally if it has a bed, a shower, and a place to relax, I'm satisfied. But it's hard to look past the cons of this place.

But hey, if you are looking for a cheap place to crash a couple nights this place will do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 night. The rooms and bathrooms were really dark and dirty. If you are an adventurer with low budget it may be not a problem. Because you should consider that this hostel has a central location in Paris. Note: there is no internet connection and cold water.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelifensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

-staff lie complsively
- laugh at you
-one key per room
-breakfast from ending machine
-sperm stained sheets
-have to pay extra for sheets and towels
-have to pay for wifi (that is only available 7:30am- 7:30pm)
- not pay on card despite it saying you can
- showers are smelly, dirty and blocked
-shared between around 25 people
- broken bed not solved
-not cleaned
-hot rooms
-5 floors no lift


The list is never ending! I cannot stress enough how much you shoud not stay here! I cannot believe they are still in business!

Room Tip: dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

First I want to point the location is great, really close to the subway that can take you anywhere. The neighborhood is good, and there are nice restaurantes around. But the hostel is not good at all, the breakfast comes from a machine that give you coffe and a madalaine. The bathroom is outside and shared, there are separated rooms, one door for the shower and another door for the toillet. They give only one key for each room, so you have to ask people to open to door for you all the time. There was only one outlet in the room, so I couldnt charge it when I wanted cause there was other people using. But it could be worse tho.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the rooms close to the stairs. You will be bothered by the noise of people coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

1 - Dirty. 2 - ONE key each room (had to share keys w people didn´t know, and couldn´t enter my room). 3 - ONE plug each room. - For charging it, I had to go to the reception. A thin and unfriendly guy that is there at night charged it. I had to go outside for an hour. When I got back he didn´t charge it and said: "come back in an hour". The second time he charged it and DIDNT WANT TO GIVE MY ADAPTOR BACK (wrote blue planet in the whole adaptor).

IF YOU WANT TO HAVE A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE, THEN GO THERE!

Room Tip: DON´T GO. There is no elevator, I had a room at the 5th floor. Just one DIRTY bathroom and toilette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aedjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,141 of 1,801 in Paris
288 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,271 of 1,801 in Paris
74 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#1,456 of 1,801 in Paris
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#962 of 1,801 in Paris
217 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,283 of 1,801 in Paris
286 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#517 of 1,801 in Paris
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blue Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blue Planet

Property: Hostel Blue Planet
Address: 5 rue Hector Malot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Blue Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Blue Planet Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing