We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our favorite.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Malar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Malar
Ranked #1,029 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Long Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not our favorite.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Good location, friendly and helpful staff, but very small stairs, rooms and shower. Ruined carpet and unfinished stairs, floors and walls. Way too expensive for an uncomfortable stay. Much cannot be changed, it is an old Paris building. But a lot could be improved.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    48
    30
    24
See reviews for
27
89
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

I found the hotel fine for my needs. Wanted to be near friends staying in Hotel Eiffel 7 nearby and this (€130) is under 1/2 the price of that. I negotiated b/f compris for no extra on booking. 4th floor and no lift (but I need the exercise!)
October so room warm but I could open the window to cool it. V small shower and room is just bed/wardrobe/desk & no floor space but I just slept & washed here. Quite clean. Location excellent - near metro shops Eiffel. Great selection of eateries nearby. Found the reception friendly. Wifi worked 24/7 and free. For Paris this was good value.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lord_Eaton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

My friend pick this place and we nearly roasted because it was so hot. the beds were small and the room was barely big enough for our two bags and us. Not to mention we had to carry these bags up very narrow stairs to the 3rd floor. Plus the street is very noise so if you have to stay there try to get a room away from the street and on a lower floor. did not feel safe because they never asked me for my ID or voucher when we checked in and the room doors and walls were very thin and flimsy. The wanted us to leave the plastic room key at the desk when we left... not used to that either.

this is not a place I will be staying while in paris in the future. good luck

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for our anniversary, rooms very small along with shower and toilet room but this hotel is ideally situated for walking to nearly all paris sites. This is really just a bed in a tiny room but what else do you need, we certainly did not intend spending our days in our hotel room. The room was clean and suited our needs . We used to enjoy sitting outside the bar at the end of the road and looking up at the eiffel tower. A very good but small budget hotel. Would certainly use again.

Room Tip: Believe all rooms are small but if we had had a choice would have asked for room looking out on to R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Looeterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

People at the recepcion was rude, service not good, you pay for internet and it is not working, location it is ok, but it is the only good thing to mention

Room Tip: go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location of this hotel is really nice. That's the best thing I can say about it. It was not a comfortable or pleasant stay. It's a great location and luckily we spent almost no time in our room, otherwise it would have been a very unpleasant stay. The staff was not friendly either, but that's Paris I suppose.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Amelie
Hotel Amelie
#721 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
#1,248 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Kensington
Hotel Kensington
#1,361 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,125 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#770 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Pavillon
Hotel Le Pavillon
#614 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malar

Property: Hotel Malar
Address: 29 Rue Malar, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,029 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Malar 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malar, historic Parisian charm with modern flairImagine a hotel overflowing with colors, at once bright, changing, elegant. Imagine a scenery creating joy and vitality, giving spaces a special energy. Think how nice it would be to bathe in the City of Light, staying in the heart of the prestigious 7th arrondissement, in the golden triangle between the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, the Musée d'Orsay, Champs-Elysees, Grand Palais.The Hotel Malar welcomes you in its 22 affordable and quiet rooms overlooking a bright and flowered courtyard. Free WiFi in all rooms, Internet terminal in the lobby, lounge with café bar.Our friendly team look forward making your stay comfortable and a most pleasant and inspired experience. The reception is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Malar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malar Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing