We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll definitely stay at Hotel Malar again”
Review of Hotel Malar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malar
Ranked #957 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Terrific location. Reasonable rates. This is a perfect, low budget (for Paris) place to stay. Pleasant staff. Comfortable accommodations. The size of the room was quite average for Paris. The biggest problem is that they have no elevator, so if you are on the 3rd floor its a challenge with heavy bags.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank my2cents999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel malar is a complete rip off and I would advise anyone against staying here. Not only are the rooms tiny and boiling hot, the shower (if you could call it that) did not have hot water our entire trip. We came back to the room midday to find the "manager" going through our belongings. I don't know what kind of establishment they are running here but it is certainly not worthy of €150 a night. Even the hotel next door seemed like a significant improvement to this dump hostel they are trying to pass off as a hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The location was perfect. To the Eiffel Tower it was like 10 min walking distance, 20 min for Louvre and 15 min for Arc de Triomphe. You can use the metro or the bus if you don't like to walk. The breakfast was average. As option you can do your breakfast at bakeries near by the hotel. The staff is very friendly. Room itself was average. Not to big but also not to small. It had everything you need it. It is a excellent choice to stay here if you are looking for a 2 star hotel with great location. Btw, there is a Starbucks at the corner of the street :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polyindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

In 2004 of March, I went to Paris over spring break for a seminar that was taking place with my university. We stayed here, and yes the rooms were tiny compared to our standards, but worth the location. We were busy constantly with the seminar but it enabled us to see the city like never before. We were able to go on the metro and rer for things we wanted to do.
Staff was extremely helpful to all students, and very accomadating us all. Granted I was on the fifth floor (4th by US standards) and ws up and down constantly. Even without the elevator we were all grateful for what we had back in the US.
Small rooms and bathrooms were/are the norm. We chose not to complain for we were told what to expect before coming. It is worth sacrificing big for something small.
Remember to explore the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. It is quaint and beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RollTideRollCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have heard many bad things about hotels in Paris: how they are tiny and bad and not at all what you would call a 'nice stay'. But my friend and I needed an average hotel for our three-night visit, and Hotel Malar was simply perfect! Some important notes, though: we had a room on the fourth floor, which meant a steep staircase, but it was no problem for two girls in their twenties. There were some sounds from the street in the morning, but it's a very quiet neighbourhood at nighttime, so we weren't too bothered by this. Also the room is not very big, but it was perfect for the two of us since we were only going to sleep there anyway! We didn't eat the breakfast so I don't know about that, but the staff was extremely nice and helpful and our room was tidied each day. Big plus for nice and fresh bathroom.

Room Tip: Oops! We stayed in November. The room temperature was perfect for this time of year, but I can imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regine0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Only advantage is, it is near to eiffal to walk around night time. Otherwise room is too conjusted & can hear noise of staircase or other room.
Good within the reach of Metro.
Service is good
Good for solo stay & not for couples

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Manu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is average at best. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was a walk-up since there is no elevator. Room was tiny with no a/c. You could not open two normal sized suitcases at the same time. There was no English channel on the tv and Wi-Fi was spotty. The one redeeming feature is the staff. They were friendly and helpful people with patience for older guests who need directions frequently.
Unlike a previous reviewer, we found several restaurants with top quality French food nearby on rue Saint Domenique. Many, many excellent pastry and sweet shops provided great alternatives to the $15.00 Malar breakfast.
If it weren't for the staff, we would rate this hotel at the lowest rank.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkdoyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Amelie
Hotel Amelie
#703 of 1,802 in Paris
278 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#903 of 1,802 in Paris
383 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Alma
Hotel de l'Alma
#1,244 of 1,802 in Paris
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Pavillon
Hotel Le Pavillon
#492 of 1,802 in Paris
238 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#793 of 1,802 in Paris
592 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,299 of 1,802 in Paris
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malar

Address: 29 rue Malar | 29 Rue Malar, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #957 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £79 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Malar 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malar, historic Parisian charm with modern flairImagine a hotel overflowing with colors, at once bright, changing, elegant. Imagine a scenery creating joy and vitality, giving spaces a special energy. Think how nice it would be to bathe in the City of Light, staying in the heart of the prestigious 7th arrondissement, in the golden triangle between the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, the Musée d'Orsay, Champs-Elysees, Grand Palais.The Hotel Malar welcomes you in its 22 affordable and quiet rooms overlooking a bright and flowered courtyard. Free WiFi in all rooms, Internet terminal in the lobby, lounge with café bar.Our friendly team look forward making your stay comfortable and a most pleasant and inspired experience. The reception is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Malar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malar Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing