We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST HOSTEL I'VE EVER STAYED AT”
Review of Friend's Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friend's Hostel
Ranked #129 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WORST HOSTEL I'VE EVER STAYED AT”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Friend's Hostel is the dirtiest, sketchiest, rudest, grimiest, and worst hostel I've ever stayed at. I have been traveling through Europe for two months and by far this is the worst decision I've ever made booking this hostel. There are very shady people hanging out in the lobby just staring and watching you go up to your room, and infested with BED BUGS!!!! We checked into our room and FIRST there was a person staying in our room that was not supposed to be there, then we checked for bed bugs and found them everywhere...along with cigarette butts that were on some of the beds, stains on the sheets, and dirt and grime all over the floor. Tried getting our money back for the hostel to stay at a new place, and night clerk promised our money and told us to come back in the morning to talk to the manager. Made him sign a paper and took videos of the bed bugs for proof. So after walking through Paris at 2am we found a new place, came back in the morning and the manager refused to give us our money back. After arguing for about twenty minutes, we got half of our money back. They said it was our fault the bugs were in the room and it was clean before so there is no way there were bed bugs. After showing them the video of the bugs they still refused to fully refund us. As I was arguing A BED IN INFESTED WITH BUGS was brought down from a maintenance worker and as I proceed to tell the clerk how could it possibly be our fault after that bed was brought down AND I told him to go onto trip advisor and read ALL they negative reviews which was 94%, and hopefully this makes 95%. It is not a safe place. Tons of gypsies also hang out in front of the place as well as in the hostel. AND after reading this review and you still want to stay here...just know there are no outlets in the rooms and you have to go to the common room with 5 plugs and 3 tables for the WHOLE hostel. Worst experience ever. DO NOT STAY HERE! We are college students and had the mindset of, "it's cheap, who cares." I am warning you now..... It matters. Just pay a little extra for a different place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    29
    63
    57
    195
See reviews for
15
27
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It is cheap and near the metro, there are the only two nice things. Whereas the rooms are small, overcrowded and dirty. I left some cookies in my backpack only to discover that some rats ate them during night! It has no wc in the room alsoif you book for ensuite ones. The room in which you are supposed to eat your lunch is in a courtyard outside and in winter is absolutely cold.

Room Tip: Never go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orso1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My friend and i stayed here for 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm with own shower. The hostel was cleaned daily and never seemed dirty at any times. Service was pretty standard. The location was swell. Right next to the metro and generally close to everything. Lots of opportunities to get a feel of the real and non touristic Paris. Cheap places to eat and shop around, we found lots of great second hand shops.
What really bothered me though, was the fact that there was no real common room, hence making socializing very difficult.
Stay here if you like the location and can speak spanish as everyone there did speak better spanish than english.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilieNoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Bed bugs, bed bugs and one more time BED BUGS!! It was the worst hostel ever, never stay in there, it is really better to pay more, than being bitten by insects, rooms are small dirty, doggy, scuzzy and ugly. AVOID IT!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

First off the hostel is in a very unsafe area with drug dealers outside the door and groups of suspicious men standing around watching you, it is very threatening!! To the point my friend and I moved to a hotel as we felt so unsafe!
Secondly, when we got to our room we were in a vey unstable triple bunk and we had no main light in the room just a light above the sink. We had a little friend in our room too! A little mouse!
On top of that it was really noisey!!! And there was only 2 toilets (one which had sick on the floor) and one unclean looking shower! We had heat in the room however it was a radiator that trickled all night.
All in all, it was horrific and unsafe.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brackenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichy, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

absolutely terrible! Rooms are small, ugly and old but the worst part is the filthiness! It was incredibly dirty. The room, the bedsheets and the shower smelled awfully! It is in a rather dangerous neighborhood, beds ere very uncomfortable, the heating didn't work well and wi-fi didn't work at all. The only good part is that it was literally across the street from a metro station. DO NOT EVER STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed in a dorm with 13 beds, the room was just like a garage. The room was dirty, and you probably won't like to see mice running around in the room. And the free wifi just provided in day time when everyone is out of the hostel and charge you when you are back in the hostel! That's not really "FREE". Think twice even 5 times before you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsiang-Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#895 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#897 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#11 of 160 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 160 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#13 of 160 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friend's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friend's Hostel

Property: Friend's Hostel
Address: 122 boulevard de la Chapelle | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Friend`s Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing