We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, rooms terribly small”
Review of Hotel Eugenie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eugenie
Ranked #1,129 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The hotel is very nicely located, near the metro, good location with lots of (turistic) restaurants and bars. Our room was on the top floor (4th floor) and awfully small. There was just place for a (small) bed, table, closet, minibar, very little (walking) space left. Specially the bathroom was kind of a problem as you only could stand up right on a few places. Before going to the toilet, you first had to duck. Standing before the mirror, you could only see your stomach.
We tried to change rooms, but they said there was nothing more available.
Friends of us stayed on the third floor and they had a leak, there was water coming through their ceiling.
Some other rooms should be better, but we don't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

This hotel is located in a convenient Left Bank central location. Steps from Boulevard St. MIchael and Ste Germaine...Near the Metro, and close to major bus routes you will actually spend most of your trip walking since it is less than 5 minutes to Ile de Cite, Ile Ste Louis, the Luxemborg Gardens. An easy walk to The Louvre, Museed'Orsay, and L'Orangerie.
Many places to eat in the immediate area......many different cuisines and price points.
Only 28 rooms on 4 floors, the Hotel was a great place for our group of 10 women. We felt safe coming and going, early and late. The Staff were charming, always willing to help us figure out our route, making reservations when necessary and giving us great advice.
Clean, comfortable rooms, met our needs...the breakfast room is utilitarian, but the coffee and croissants excellent, and we were allowed to use the room in the evening for an impromptu nosh session.
I am not only planning to return, but I have already recommended the Hotel Eugenie to friends who will be traveling to Paris in the fall.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PARIS052010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We had stayed in Montmartre for our last visit, and our hotel was a nightmare. I was afraid of what would be behind the door here, but the room was great! The location is unbelievable, and the french doors that opened onto the rue de St. Andre des Artes was not to be beat. The room was small and unpretentious, but clean and the bed was great. The bathroom all new and great water pressure. We ended up stranded under the ash cloud and the staff were wonderful--we could stay in our room with no problems. They helped us in a pinch and I will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vreezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

It's a small hotel and i reallt liked to stay at it. I chosed it because of the location: really near of the Notre Dame. I paid 165 euros per night without breakfast in a triple room. It's a honest hotel, rooms small but clean and well appointed, the
bathroom was new, brand new, spacious by European standards. Our
room was overlooking the street, which was quite busy, day and night, but the windows were sound proof, so we have not heard anything and slept quietly. The reception was very friendly, courteous and polite, gave us welcome and we feel
much welcomed.
The region has many cafes, bars, bistros and a Monoprix nearby
convenient for last minute shopping.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quindim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

This is a hotel I keep returning to year in year out due to its excellent location, wonderful and friendly staff, good value for money and always clean rooms. The staff are unchanged over the years ensuring a warm welcome every time I return and the location means I am walking distance from great shopping in St Germain (5 mins), many of the main sites such as Notre Dame (5mins), Chatelet (7mins), Le Marais (10-15mins) which is great for nightlife but there is nightlife the minute you walk out the door as it is located in the Heart of the Latin Quarter and offers many bars, cafes & restaurants within minutes. Odeon is not even 5mins away and is a mecca for cinephiles and there is a wonderful local food market on the rue de Seine only a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetravel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Great location, it is suited in an excellent location, easy to access to many attraction sites. The hotel room was quite small but well presented and tiny. There should be an increased lighting in the corridor areas. However the price was reasonable. This hotel would be great for those who travel with a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Random thoughts on the Hotel Eugenie, from just having spent a week there:
- Clean, well-appointed room, with a small refrigerator, TV, firm bed, and nicely updated bathroom.
- Efficient, albeit not particularly friendly or helpful, service. (Was likely the fewest words I've ever exchanged upon checking into and out of a hotel.)
- Excellent location - you can walk to anything, and have a huge assortment of cafes, pubs, and restaurants ride outside your door. Caveat: if you're not planning to stay out partying until 2:00 each morning, you may find the street noise (even with windows closed) a little much. Earplugs are a big help. (God, I'm getting old.)
- Reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmarchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Residence des Arts
Hotel Residence des Arts
#729 of 1,805 in Paris
253 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#520 of 1,805 in Paris
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#251 of 1,805 in Paris
825 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#249 of 1,805 in Paris
918 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#748 of 1,805 in Paris
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eugenie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eugenie

Address: 31 rue Saint Andre des Arts, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,129 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £97 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eugenie 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eugenie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eugenie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing