We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drab, but okay for one night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodstock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstock Hostel
Ranked #53 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Drab, but okay for one night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, since we were just spending the weekend in Paris before moving on to Spain, however the one night was completely barable. I probably wouldn't have like to stay more than two or three nights, since the atmosphere was kind of tense feeling, although the staff were nice enough, it just felt kind of like a purgatory, very simple rooms, basic bed, a sink in the room, which I find useful, although others may not like. Room had a safe, which was useful for passports, electrics, etc. Breakfast was quite basic, cerial, bread and butter, juice as well I think. The hostel is closed for a few hours during the day, so even if you're staying there, you can't get in. Overall, fine for a night, but I doubt I'd consider staying for more than two days...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dllr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    88
    81
    35
    30
See reviews for
5
33
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

It seems like word quirky has been used a lot, so I'll try and refrain from beating that dead horse. But this hostel is awesome. Really easy to meet people. The staff is super friendly and helpful. (A girl I had met there had trouble falling asleep in her room because a guy was snoring really loudly, and they let her change rooms without any problem.) They have a cat!! The entire thing has a hippy kind of vibe, and it's really cool. And the location is really, really good. Yes, they do kick you out from 11 to 2, but eh, go site seeing! I had no problems with stealing, and quite frankly, I am rather surprised reading the comments after staying there that people seem to believe it's a huge problem. Definitely would recommend this hostel, particularly for solo travelers and because it's definitely a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie A, Gérant at Woodstock Hostel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your experience at the Woodstock Hostel. We hope to see you soon in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

First time travellers, myself and 3 of my pals came across Woodstock Hostel online. We liked the price and the layed back approach they promoted. We were thrilled to be welcomed by a very friendly women (that thankfully spoke good English). The payment was easy and hassle free, something that came as a relief to us in the big city of Paris. The room was cosy and warm. The beds were suprisingly very comfortable! Being a 'no curfew' hostel, people came as they pleased, sometimes in the early hours (including us) so therefore sleep could potentially be disturbed. The docor was ace! Very quirky and youthful, lots of green which went down well with us gals. The breakfast was good, the smell of coffee woke us up each morning :-). There were safes in the rooms which we all used and relied on. The kitchen was a good size, with a fridge, microwave and hob, no oven however. On the most part, our food was left untouched, something the Hostel can not help anyway. Metro was very close also, score!
Somewhere I would free visit fo sho! Perfect for four female young travellers. Although keep your wits about ya, the area holds no illusion and is a top notch example of the 'real' Paris, something that came as quite refreshing amongst me and my friends.

Room Tip: higher floors, less noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked there for only 2 nites and we stayed 8 days
The rooms were not very big but very clean the people who stayed were a bit messy but the hostel can not do anything about it. Showers and Kitchen were very clean and well equiped
I was a little bit concerened about the stealing in fact it was the opposite for me i lost my Iphone and wallet they found them and return with no xtra charge to my next destination
the staff were just great
breakfast was great of course it s free !

yes i recommand this place for sur just great value

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My friend and I booked a private double room here for a weekend in December because the rates were pretty good. Good thing too, because the rooms seemed kind of small. The place has a great feel to it with the hand-painted murals, funky decorations, and spiral staircase. Breakfast was average: cereal, croissants, and beverages. The staff were good, we didn't associate with them too much but we never expected over-the-top friendliness anyways. My friend and I weren't traveling with many valuables, so I can't offer much opinion on the security of your belongings. What really makes the place though is the great location; You can get to a metro station (Anvers) and the Sacre-Coeur within 5 minutes. The neighbourhood is pretty central but peaceful enough so you aren't bumping shoulders into people.

Verdict: Cute place for a short stay with a great location, lacking on extra amenities and space.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

What everyone says is true.
My stuff was stolen too,
They kick you out, I was sick and asleep and she came and woke me up by touching me and telling me I had to leave!

The breakfast is nice, just an average breakfast. There was a lovely lady who worked there but all the rest of the staff was snooty and rude
DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eeeeeeefff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked the hostel with no major expectations and was pleasantly surprised. Clean rooms. Clean toilet and shower. Heating on so the room was cosy. Very comfy beds. Breakfast was perfect. Location is the key. 10min walk from Moulin Rouge,5 min walk from Anvers metro station. Shops and restaurants just around the corner. Paid 108 euro for 2 nights 2 people in a twin room. Staff is great....always helpfull. Will def come back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#10 of 155 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#33 of 155 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Enjoy Hostel
Enjoy Hostel
#38 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#35 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#17 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Hostel

Property: Woodstock Hostel
Address: 48 rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock is known for its cosiness as well as for its party atmosphere, and is the ideal place to meet other backpackers and to make lifelong friends. Watch out though, once you’re here, you might never want to leave… Woodstock is much more than a hostel, it’s a way of life. Here we know your name and you will know ours.Nowhere else in Paris will you find so much at such an unbeatable price… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Woodstock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing