We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Woodstock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstock Hostel
Ranked #56 of 187 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 12 March 2007

It was dusty, dirty, and a flea infested cat had access to all of the rooms. The front desk employees have a computer at the desk, and were messaging and emailing the entire time. Clients were definitely not their main priority. The kitchen looked as if it had not been cleaned in a very long time. They permitted exreme alcohol use and the loud, obnoxious behaviors of some of the veryyy young guests would go as late as 3am. I KNOW that they did not ask all of the guests for ID. I was sitting at a table and watched 3 young guys check in WITHOUT ID. I also was very uncomfortable with no lockers and no means to secure my belongings. I will never go again and I do not recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AmericanTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2007

I was really worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews but it really is fine, especially for such a reasonable price. We stayed in a dorm on the top floor which meant it was pretty quiet. Didn't brave the showers. The breakfast is great considering it is free! Don't be too quick to reject this hostel- the location's fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank voyages888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

Stayed for a long weekend in October. We were given a room off the courtyard which proved to be small and unclean. Bathroom facilites are also very basic and in need of a good clean, the earlier you get up (quite easy as we were woken up by the hostel plumbing!) the hotter the shower! The staff, especially the woman, behind the counter were rude and generally unhelpful. Despite notices saying noise would be kept to a minimum after 10:30pm, staff made no effort to ensure this happened, and as a result we spent 3 nights listening to loud bragging Americans and Australians. On the plus side, the hostel is in a great location for exploring Paris, and the breakfast (if you can find space to eat it) is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pinky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

I will never come back to this hostel, ever!!
so my boybriend and i went to paris for 5 days and we stayed at this hostel. the price is too expensive for the bad quality of the hostel, so I guess it was because of the area.
we stayed at a bedroom for ourselves (thank god!!), because people were drunk and ------ up. it was really noisy (the floor was made of wood and you could hear everything. the curfew ------, but it was really good then because at two everybody went to sleep and i could finally have a little bit of peace.
the showers where totally awful! there was weird stuff on the floor( I recomed to take sandals to take the shower, its nasty).
well what can i say about the room, it was smelly, noisy, and it looked so dirty. the bed is really uncomfortable. i did go to breakfast, i wasn´t interested...
well, and then the stuff where nice but a little bit..i don´t know...careless when it comes to security (you have to leave the key of your room in the hostel, and somebody else could take it (they are like on a wooden box).
well, some people might think that i´m a little bit picky, but I just want to advice people who are not looking for party and alcohol the whole time: for the price of this hostel you can have a palace in belgium etc. next time i go to paris, i will be staying in a 2 stars hotel or so (prices are similar and quality cannot be compared)

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank leyretas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Australia
12
Reviewed 1 June 2006

This place is great if you are travelling by yourself ! Staff and Guests are friendly.

Courtyard was great for chilling after a day of sightseeing ! Ended up drinking late into the night with many fellow guests.

Showers were a little cold on level 2 - Hot showers on ground floor and level 3.

Beds and rooms were small and basic - exactly what you need to sleep !

Would stay there again !

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2006

I stayed with a friend 2 nights at Woodstock. We had wandered in with no reservations and they put us in a room with about 10 beds. I have to say that we had a fantastic time there. It wasn't so much the lodging but the people there were great-both guests and staff. I haven't hosteled a ton but we ended up drinking there one night with about 6 other people and had a blast! Also, after wandering Paris with little in the way of French speaking skills, it was good to come back at night to an enclave of english speaking folks. One thing that was bad, if you care, they didn't supply sheets for the beds we were on and the beds were a little funky. I didn't care but a chick might (I also did not have sheets). Of the time in Europe, the Woodstock and Paris were the highlight (to my surprise).

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheeBobbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 21 September 2004

Me and my chill friend stayed here for like a while. It was pretty chill hostel. I had nightmares though because our floor felt like it was going to collapse, because it was an old building and stuff. But I loved it besides that. The showers were also pretty chill and clean and stuff. I met a lot of chill people. If you wanna chill place to stay go to Woodstock. It was chill.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#40 of 187 in Paris
532 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#34 of 187 in Paris
239 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Beautiful Belleville Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 Ducks Hostel
#22 of 187 in Paris
346 reviews
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#23 of 187 in Paris
464 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#12 of 187 in Paris
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Hostel

Address: 48 rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 187 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £26 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock is known for its cosiness as well as for its party atmosphere, and is the ideal place to meet other backpackers and to make lifelong friends. Watch out though, once you’re here, you might never want to leave… Woodstock is much more than a hostel, it’s a way of life. Here we know your name and you will know ours.Nowhere else in Paris will you find so much at such an unbeatable price… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Woodstock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing