We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but be prepared to haggle a bit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de France Invalides
Ranked #538 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I went to Paris for a mini honeymoon and stayed here. Overall, the hotel is friendly, clean, and small as is normal. It is about 5 minutes walk to the metro and 15 more minutes walk to the base of the Eiffel Tower. One good thing about the hotel is the breakfast buffet, which we paid as a part of our room. It is mostly continental with a pretty good selection. Also, you can make your own omelet on an electric stove (very easy) and they have a limited selection of vegetables for that purpose. Another practicality we enjoyed was the wireless, which was reliable in our room.

The two star off is for the hard-sell that I did not enjoy. I had booked a superior room with view of the Dome of the Invalides. When we arrived, instead of giving us a room, the staff insisted on showing us five different rooms, with varying sizes and views, with the least attractive one at the end - that been the room reserved for us. They then suggested to my new wife that we should get a better room since this is our honeymoon. I don't know if this is the normal practice, but it was difficult for me as a new husband to say no and not upgrade. And that was not all. The room reserved for us did not have a view of the dome because the tree in front of the window completed blocked the view of the Dome. When there is wind, you can see the dome's light shining through between the shuffling leafs, but otherwise you can't see the Dome at all. When I pointed this out to the staff, they simply insisted that there was a view of the dome. I know that in the U.S., people go to court to fight about obstructed view when a neighbor's tree or fence block a particularly good view, so I don't believe view of the Dome completely obstructed by trees can be called a view of the Dome. Anyway, I ended up haggling with them and paid for an upgrade at a price less than they originally offered. So I guess my advice is to haggle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was my parents' and my last stop on a 19-day tour through France. I never saw my parents' room that they were happy with, but I had a single room, which was adequate though typically small (by American standards). It could have been cleaned slightly better but nothing to keep me from recommending it. In addition to being in a good location--near everything but not too crowded--their they bent over backward to help us with a variety of needs, and their breakfast was simply the best buffet out of seven hotels/inns throughout France and it was included in the price, I believe. My room looked onto a little courtyard and the windows opened, so there was light and fresh air but noise from traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_WNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its staff. From check-in to check-out, they are dedicated to making your stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast is lovely and, if you dare, you've got the opportunity of frying your own egg.

Obviously, the rooms are on the small side, which sometimes means clambering over beds to get to other parts of the room but I suppose it's no big deal since the room is small anyway. You're in part of the room; you're in all parts of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeMan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent six nights at the Hotel de France Invalides and very much enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel is excellent -- nearly across the street from Invalides, a short walk to the Eiffel Tower, and within a few blocks of a metro station. The rooms were small, as was to be expected, but clean. The front desk staff were helpful and multi-lingual. We enjoyed the breakfast downstairs, with a variety of breads, cheeses, etc. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Wonderful small hotel in a quiet but perfect location. Close to transportation and many lovely cafes. Room was a bit small, but adequate, and the extremely comfortable bed certainly made up for the lack of space. Would recommend this hotel to anyone searching for a hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the Champs Elysee, but also within walking distance of the Eiffel Tower and the Orsay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christianne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The location is convenient; five blocks from the Eiffel Tower, across the street from the Invalides Hotel. Most helpful to us, it was one block from the metro.

There was nothing special, but at the same time nothing at all to complain about. The staff was extremely responsive to all of our concerns.

The only problem was that there was much late-night noise from the restaurant kitchen. We were on the 5th floor, but we were there in hot weather and the windows had to stay opened.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilawing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here in mid-June with our 2 teenage daughters (got 2 double rooms). The Hotel is clean and well-run. Good wifi connection. The rooms vary; one of ours had a nice balcony with a view of Les Invalides and a good-sized bathroom; the other was not as nice, but still clean and adequate for our needs (how much time do you spend in the room, anyway?). This part of town is surprisingly quiet at night, so we could sleep with the windows open.

The thing that really made this a great place to stay was the staff. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly, charming, helpful, and efficient (and had a good sense of humor). He scheduled an early morning cab pickup, placed wake up calls for us, and helped us carry out our bags. It was 5 star service in a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viewspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#793 of 1,803 in Paris
594 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#95 of 1,803 in Paris
597 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#349 of 1,803 in Paris
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
#861 of 1,803 in Paris
391 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#166 of 1,803 in Paris
1,410 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Empereur
Hotel de l'Empereur
#396 of 1,803 in Paris
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Invalides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Invalides

Address: 102 boulevard de la Tour Maubourg, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#628 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £97 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France Invalides 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de France Invalides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Invalides Paris
De France Invalides Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing