We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Original Paris
Ranked #167 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night in room 202. Right on the main road which I was slightly concerned, for the noise...I shouldn't of been, the glazing of the windows is brilliant and we couldn't hear a thing. The staff where very friendly and its in a great area near some fantastic bars and restaurants. I just wished we could of stayed longer. Not sure why other guests have moaned...some people just like to moan!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olliegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you so much for your great comment and super rating! :)
Thanks also for the mention of the great insulation of our windows. We do have sometimes this point coming up as a concern before arrival and we're glad to have yet another testimony in that regard :)
It was a pleasure having you here, we fully understand about being too short and this is indeed a point that will need further attention....so we hope this was just an Au Revoir!
We had to laugh at your point about others moaning....what can we say.... :)
Take good care and all the best from the O Team in the meantime.
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great hotel and great location with a Metro stop 1 minute away and nice friendly staff, continental breakfast is ok but an option of poached or scrabbled eggs etc for breakfast would be a nice change.

Room Tip: all rooms are different themes as you can see on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your great rating and for sharing your experience at the Hotel. Great that our location and staff service did please you. We well noted your point in regards to the breakfast and the extra options for eggs, thank you for that :)
It was great having you here and we hope you had a safe return home.
Take good care and all the best for the Original staff.
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here for three nights and I had mixed feelings about the experience. First, it's just as cute as it is in pictures, but small. Two people and luggage wont fit in the elevator so probably not a great idea if you plan on showing up with more than a suitcase and carry-on. Secondly, the layout in the room is a bit funky. There's no outlets in the bathroom, but several next to the bed -- given I iron and curl my hair, this meant I had no place to set a hot implement and had to hold it until it cooled down.

Third, the front desk staff is very helpful. They all speak English and were happy to make restaurant suggestions and call us a cab no matter what time day or night. Unfortunately, not all seem to know the area very well. Example: We asked for a cab to a restaurant and asked if it was close. The night clerk said no, and then it ended up being five blocks away.

Also, this location is at the edge of the Bastille and is a little rough around the edges. I never felt unsafe when we were staying here, but the aesthetic outside leaves something to be desired. Also, it's not exactly tourist-friendly. We went to a really cute restaurant named Grazi down the street and and were treated rudely by the waitstaff who didn't seem to want to deal with our rudimentary attempts at French (side note: the pizza there is great and the guys at the bar speak fluent English so don't let that stop you from going. The same with the Merci down the street-- cafe staff is amazing and the food and shopping is excellent.)

Overall, I would stay here again -- just know it's not nearly as close to all the major tourist attractions as it would seem and that it's not the place to be if you're trying to grab an early morning bite to eat or late night snack. Also, props to the daytime staff for their level of energy and knowledge of Paris -- they care about ensuring you have a great experience and it shows.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello,
And thank you for having taken the time to write down your experience amongst us and for sharing these few points with us so it can in the end be taken up for improvement.
Thanks for the little mention of the staff and their energy :) that's us alright!
We will also ensure the correct data is given by anyone at the front desk, this is obviously no an option, and our night staff are usually pretty accurate in terms of conciergery business as they ofetn do such things but the point is being taken up.
In regards to the area we are located in, we can only understand your view and respect it. We have had so far very positive reviews in that regard from just about all of our guests, you have probably seen them on that very page on TripAdvisor. Sorry to hear that there are still these french grumpy waiters around....this specy is close to extinct we hope :) That said, this is indeed another point that the Hotel cannot necesarily handle....the best we do know how to hanlde is to propose you good, cute and safe adresses to try and on that note, we do know quite a few :)
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel Original is a beautiful small hotel in the Marais district, just steps from the Bastille metro stop. My room, inspired by the Hans Christian Anderson "Snow Queen" fairy tale, was lovely with white furniture, whimsical sparkling light fixtures, a faux fur bedspread, and silver quilted headboard. The shower and bathroom were sleek in design and comfortable. The toilet area is private, but the sink and shower area are open to the room. The staff was courteous and very helpful in guiding us to our various destinations. We did not opt for the breakfast offered by the hotel and instead shopped for fresh croissants at local patisseries and enjoyed them with our coffee at a nearby cafe. On weekends, just a block from the hotel, there is a wonderful outdoor market, offering produce, cheese, bread, meats, scarves and more.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard have small balconies but can also be located near the stairs, so you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A. O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello!
Thank you so much for your great comment and for sharing it with all.
Well, your description of the room and our location is spot on :) Approved! We are glad you did enjoy your Whimsical atmosphere and our service overall. It was our pleasure really having you here amongst us for your parisian trip and we hope you had a safe return to reality... :)
We hope to have news from you soon and you have a really Big Hello from all os us! Till next time then....
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed recently at this hotel. It is very centrally located in the Bastille area and right next to the metro. The hotel is very quirkily decorated and modern. Each room has its own theme and decoration – ours was called the Crystal room (you are given a description of your room themes and details of its designer – which we thought was a nice touch). Some of the decoration is over the top but we were quite pleased with our room. We stayed on the third floor and we had a room that was at the back of the building that seemed to be quieter. Initially we were offered one on the first floor which seems to be noisier. Our room had a spacious shower (we had what was called an executive room) and toilet and its size was respectable given Parisian standards for hotels of this size. It had all the mod cons including an excellent free wifi which was much appreciated. The room was impeccably clean and was maintained very well throughout the stay.
We had breakfast on two occasions in the hotel at a cost of 12 euros each. I would say that the breakfast is average for its cost especially as provisions are not replenished readily, but whatever is offered is of high quality. There is also an honesty bar that provides coffee throughout the day. The staff is polite, informative and very welcoming.
The room rates are not cheap especially if you are staying in an Executive room, but given Parisian standards they are reasonable. The hotel is new and is maintained very well so it is god value for money. We would highly recommend the hotel for its convenience and facilities.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back of the building as they seem to e quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your Original experience and thank you for the good rating. It was a pleasure having you here at the Hotel for your parisian trip. Great that our Quirky atmosphere did please you overall. Indeed we do give a little card to each of our guest to present the room they are given, and sometimes it is quite a surprise :) The Crystal room is one of the most liked one...no need to wonder why.... and glad you enjoyed it too!
We hope you had a safe return home to reality and we do hope to hear back from you and why not come back for further and quirkier adventures at the Original.
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this hotel only a day before and we found the rate quite steep (but Paris is an expensive city anyway). This hotel is in a very good location, close to the Metro and to some nice cafes. We stayed in the Cheshire cat room for a night. The room is not big but it included nice touches here and there. It has all the comfort you would want and expect. It's a plus that I like the Cheshire cat. Thing is we brought a car and the hotel had no parking. We had to look for a parking place that was close enough to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your review and your good rating. Great that you enjoyed your rooms and its special features and great that our location was up to your expectations as well :) Indeed the Alice in Wonderland...or Cheshire room is well liked. Surprinsing that you find it small as it is our biggest, about 27 Square meters, but indeed room size in Paris is not in the largest :)
Regarding the parking, yes as you saw the Hotel does not have its own parking, as most hotels here, but we do have a couple public parkings five minutes away from the Hotel. We hope you had a good return home and you have a big Hello from all the staff here.
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I found Hotel Original through Jetsetter.com. I had many hotels to choose from that were equally intriguing. I have a friend who lives in Paris half the year. I gave her the list of hotels. She said Hotel Original was situated in the best location. She was correct! We arrived VERY early in the am. We dropped off our bags and went exploring. They were kind enough to let us into our room at 10am instead of 2pm. We had so much fun that morning, we didn't get back to the hotel until 11am. Once we arrived, we were escorted to our room. The guy who took care of our bags was very kind and available for any information we might need about places to go, restaurants, etc..We had a nap and later that evening, we asked Fabion for restaurant recommendations, plus we gave him a list of restaurants we wanted to go to. He booked the reservations but my advise.....DO IT BEFORE YOU GET HERE!!!! We missed out on a lot of amazing places because we didn't do it before we arrived. Our mistake. Anything we needed, Fabion and his staff were there for us. They made us feel welcome and were always accommodating. It's a boutique hotel for a certain kind of traveler. If you are looking for space, you are not going to get it. If you are looking for a very cool hotel in the BEST location, then Hotel Original is for you. Not necessarily for younger kids. Better for adults.

Room Tip: We stayed in the gold room. It is small and the shower has no door. You need to be very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kissjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hello! :)
So great to hear from you and thank you so much for the great comment you have left us. It was indeed a good choice you made :) We hope you had a safe return to reality.
You are welcome for the early check in, when we can we do! and for the service as well, this is why we are here after all :)
"Very cool Hotel in the best location".... Now that is a statement! :) and we thank you again for this.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you here again and this time why not in an entirely different atmosphere....just as Original not to be worried :)
Take good care.
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Seven Hotel Paris
#301 of 1,804 in Paris
1,209 reviews
Idol Hotel
#71 of 1,804 in Paris
433 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#121 of 1,804 in Paris
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#128 of 1,804 in Paris
645 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#79 of 1,804 in Paris
249 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#413 of 1,804 in Paris
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Original Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Original Paris

Address: 8 boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#102 Business Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#160 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £120 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Original Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Original Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyon Mulhouse Hotel
Lyon Mulhouse Paris
Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing