We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Original”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Original Paris
Ranked #117 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
columbus ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's Original”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Boutique hotel with very interesting decorating, located about a minute from a metro stop. Our room was on the fourth floor, on the backside of the building, across from the elevator. Despite being across from the elevator, we never heard a sound. Every night we had a peaceful sleep. Our room was called a quad, family room. It was decorated in an Alice in Wonderland theme. It had four beds, one queen size bed and two twins for our children. The room and bathroom was small for four people, but it worked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This part of the city has many restaurants, cafes and two times a week an open air market around the corner from the hotel. The only downside staying here was walking to the Batobus (water taxi service). The closest stop was 25 minutes away. After a day of sightseeing the walk seemed long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. I could see where street side could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello,
Thanks for having shared your Original experience and for the good rating you have just given us overall. We were glad to have you all in one of our Alice in Wonderland room and great that you did enjoy it. Great also to hear you had peaceful nights...our double paned windows do the trick in most cases we could say :)
Indeed we are pretty much center and there are quite a few good addresses in terms of cafés, restaurants and shops in our surroundings. We are just about 5 minutes walk from the lovely Place des Vosges and about 15 minutes walk from the Seine river and its great views :) We do understand about the long walk...and that remain the best way to enjoy Paris and all its attractive features....Looks like you enjoyed a lot overall :)
A big Hello to all of you and we hope there will be a next time :)
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    234
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
112
411
69
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our stay at the hotel was the second part of our stay in Paris, the first in the Montparnasse area. We knew the neighborhood has a lot of action on a busy street in advance as were our other hotels. But it was just too loud at night, all night long. Our room was on the 2nd floor on the street side. Could also hear everyone coming up and down the stairs.

Of 14 days in France, it was the most uncomfortable bed and experience. After the first night, we asked to moved to a different room but we informed it was not possible. There are a lot of other hotels in the area that would be better to book.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the street side. if nothing else, leave hotel and find elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for having taken the time to write these points of inconvenience about your stay amongst us. We do understand and we are actually sorry that your stay could not be a pleasant one, this is obviously a disappointment for both you and us. The noise and bedding being appararently at fault. We are not going to explain away nor find excuses....no, we just invite you and all of our readers to go thru all the many reviews from just about all of our guests commenting on quite the opposite. So indeed it does come to us as a surprise.
We will leave it as one of our guest puts it....in his comment just before yours.
We hope you had a safe return home.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night in room 202. Right on the main road which I was slightly concerned, for the noise...I shouldn't of been, the glazing of the windows is brilliant and we couldn't hear a thing. The staff where very friendly and its in a great area near some fantastic bars and restaurants. I just wished we could of stayed longer. Not sure why other guests have moaned...some people just like to moan!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for your great comment and super rating! :)
Thanks also for the mention of the great insulation of our windows. We do have sometimes this point coming up as a concern before arrival and we're glad to have yet another testimony in that regard :)
It was a pleasure having you here, we fully understand about being too short and this is indeed a point that will need further attention....so we hope this was just an Au Revoir!
We had to laugh at your point about others moaning....what can we say.... :)
Take good care and all the best from the O Team in the meantime.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great hotel and great location with a Metro stop 1 minute away and nice friendly staff, continental breakfast is ok but an option of poached or scrabbled eggs etc for breakfast would be a nice change.

Room Tip: all rooms are different themes as you can see on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your great rating and for sharing your experience at the Hotel. Great that our location and staff service did please you. We well noted your point in regards to the breakfast and the extra options for eggs, thank you for that :)
It was great having you here and we hope you had a safe return home.
Take good care and all the best for the Original staff.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here for three nights and I had mixed feelings about the experience. First, it's just as cute as it is in pictures, but small. Two people and luggage wont fit in the elevator so probably not a great idea if you plan on showing up with more than a suitcase and carry-on. Secondly, the layout in the room is a bit funky. There's no outlets in the bathroom, but several next to the bed -- given I iron and curl my hair, this meant I had no place to set a hot implement and had to hold it until it cooled down.

Third, the front desk staff is very helpful. They all speak English and were happy to make restaurant suggestions and call us a cab no matter what time day or night. Unfortunately, not all seem to know the area very well. Example: We asked for a cab to a restaurant and asked if it was close. The night clerk said no, and then it ended up being five blocks away.

Also, this location is at the edge of the Bastille and is a little rough around the edges. I never felt unsafe when we were staying here, but the aesthetic outside leaves something to be desired. Also, it's not exactly tourist-friendly. We went to a really cute restaurant named Grazi down the street and and were treated rudely by the waitstaff who didn't seem to want to deal with our rudimentary attempts at French (side note: the pizza there is great and the guys at the bar speak fluent English so don't let that stop you from going. The same with the Merci down the street-- cafe staff is amazing and the food and shopping is excellent.)

Overall, I would stay here again -- just know it's not nearly as close to all the major tourist attractions as it would seem and that it's not the place to be if you're trying to grab an early morning bite to eat or late night snack. Also, props to the daytime staff for their level of energy and knowledge of Paris -- they care about ensuring you have a great experience and it shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skrecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello,
And thank you for having taken the time to write down your experience amongst us and for sharing these few points with us so it can in the end be taken up for improvement.
Thanks for the little mention of the staff and their energy :) that's us alright!
We will also ensure the correct data is given by anyone at the front desk, this is obviously no an option, and our night staff are usually pretty accurate in terms of conciergery business as they ofetn do such things but the point is being taken up.
In regards to the area we are located in, we can only understand your view and respect it. We have had so far very positive reviews in that regard from just about all of our guests, you have probably seen them on that very page on TripAdvisor. Sorry to hear that there are still these french grumpy waiters around....this specy is close to extinct we hope :) That said, this is indeed another point that the Hotel cannot necesarily handle....the best we do know how to hanlde is to propose you good, cute and safe adresses to try and on that note, we do know quite a few :)
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel Original is a beautiful small hotel in the Marais district, just steps from the Bastille metro stop. My room, inspired by the Hans Christian Anderson "Snow Queen" fairy tale, was lovely with white furniture, whimsical sparkling light fixtures, a faux fur bedspread, and silver quilted headboard. The shower and bathroom were sleek in design and comfortable. The toilet area is private, but the sink and shower area are open to the room. The staff was courteous and very helpful in guiding us to our various destinations. We did not opt for the breakfast offered by the hotel and instead shopped for fresh croissants at local patisseries and enjoyed them with our coffee at a nearby cafe. On weekends, just a block from the hotel, there is a wonderful outdoor market, offering produce, cheese, bread, meats, scarves and more.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard have small balconies but can also be located near the stairs, so you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A. O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hello!
Thank you so much for your great comment and for sharing it with all.
Well, your description of the room and our location is spot on :) Approved! We are glad you did enjoy your Whimsical atmosphere and our service overall. It was our pleasure really having you here amongst us for your parisian trip and we hope you had a safe return to reality... :)
We hope to have news from you soon and you have a really Big Hello from all os us! Till next time then....
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed recently at this hotel. It is very centrally located in the Bastille area and right next to the metro. The hotel is very quirkily decorated and modern. Each room has its own theme and decoration – ours was called the Crystal room (you are given a description of your room themes and details of its designer – which we thought was a nice touch). Some of the decoration is over the top but we were quite pleased with our room. We stayed on the third floor and we had a room that was at the back of the building that seemed to be quieter. Initially we were offered one on the first floor which seems to be noisier. Our room had a spacious shower (we had what was called an executive room) and toilet and its size was respectable given Parisian standards for hotels of this size. It had all the mod cons including an excellent free wifi which was much appreciated. The room was impeccably clean and was maintained very well throughout the stay.
We had breakfast on two occasions in the hotel at a cost of 12 euros each. I would say that the breakfast is average for its cost especially as provisions are not replenished readily, but whatever is offered is of high quality. There is also an honesty bar that provides coffee throughout the day. The staff is polite, informative and very welcoming.
The room rates are not cheap especially if you are staying in an Executive room, but given Parisian standards they are reasonable. The hotel is new and is maintained very well so it is god value for money. We would highly recommend the hotel for its convenience and facilities.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back of the building as they seem to e quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your Original experience and thank you for the good rating. It was a pleasure having you here at the Hotel for your parisian trip. Great that our Quirky atmosphere did please you overall. Indeed we do give a little card to each of our guest to present the room they are given, and sometimes it is quite a surprise :) The Crystal room is one of the most liked one...no need to wonder why.... and glad you enjoyed it too!
We hope you had a safe return home to reality and we do hope to hear back from you and why not come back for further and quirkier adventures at the Original.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#106 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#47 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#38 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Georgette
#83 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#40 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#8 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Original Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Original Paris

Property: Hotel Original Paris
Address: 8 boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#91 Family Hotel in Paris
#103 Business Hotel in Paris
#161 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Original Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Original Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyon Mulhouse Hotel
Lyon Mulhouse Paris
Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing