We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location, but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Ranked #658 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great staff and location, but some issues”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We arrived in the evening on a Saturday so I was already leery as to whether they would have given our room away in the busy summer, but was pleased to find that the room was still reserved. Paris was experiencing a heat wave so first, I'll say in the hotel's favor that the room was well air conditioned throughout our four day stay, which would have been a bummer if it had not. Now the bad. We had reserved a triple room and the pictures on the website showed three twin beds or a double and a twin, but what we ended up with was two twins and a pull out sofa bed which was not the best for our pretty tall thirteen year old. We asked to be switched several times but were not accommodated. However, we encountered a very friendly and helpful day staff at the front desk, who made every effort to try and assist, ultimately reducing the rate for our room, which is all he could do since the hotel was fully booked. His name is Marco and I can honestly say he was one of the most helpful hotel staff we came across on our two week travels through three countries, the last stop being in France at the Hotel Cujas Pantheon. He was quick to recommend restaurants and always had an excellent attitude. By contrast, the night staff was not as fluent in English but unlike my last visit to Paris, at least he was polite and seemed to appreciate my efforts to communicate in French, whereas the last time we were in Paris, whenever I spoke in French, I was answered in broken English and less than friendly response. In any regard, overall the location was excellent, just a five minute walk from the RER Luxumbourg stop which was convenient in our arrival from CDG airport, a short 5 minute walk to the hotel and the RER station even had an escalator up which was great to get our luggage up to the street level. Not so lucky on our return, no escalator down, which I was told is also the case at the next nearest RER stop at St. Germain, so I had to carry my wife and son's luggage down the stairs, not a big deal but worth knowing. The total for three of us was about 25 euro to CDG by train, pretty sure it would have been close to double that to take a cab. It was also worth checking the schedule and waiting for the express train to the airport which was less crowded getting on because it doesn't stop at all the stops. I would also warn travelers when coming from CDG airport to not sit in the middle of the train car because it got fuller and fuller as we got closer into Paris and was a close call getting our luggage off at the Luxumbourg RER stop. So sit as close as possible to the exit as possible. All in all, the hotel was well located to the trains, metro and many restaurants and cafes, the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame, Seine river cruise... There is a supermarket within 10 minutes or less walk and worth stocking up on water and essentials rather than getting ripped off elsewhere and near the popular attractions. Also around the block from the hotel is a nice outdoor cafe where one can have a creme brulet and cheese platter for a reasonable cost compared with excessive costs at many other locations we explored. Exit the hotel and turn right on Cujas, walk up to St. Michele and turn right, walk half block to the corner and turn right and you'll see the outdoor cafe half way down the block, sorry can't recall the name of it. Creme brulet was 5.5 euros whereas it was 11 at most other cafes we checked and I'm not even a big fan of it! If looking for a fabulous restaurant in Paris, it's worth making the trek to the right bank to La Poule au Pot, best meal in Paris both this time and our last visit ten years ago. It's a little pricey but well worth it. The hotel was also pricey for a "two star" rated hotel, but I agree with others who rate it closer to a three star, although the elevator was small. I am rating the "value" as 4 because of the location and air con, otherwise might be lower. For Paris, it was good, but in the United States, it would be way overpriced for what it is. In addition, cabs don't seem to be familiar with the street Cujas, so bring one of their cards when you go out in case you decide you are too tired to walk back and will make it easier getting back without an inflated cab fare. Enjoy and bon voyage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a pull out sofa if you are three traveling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    269
    80
    13
    5
See reviews for
87
176
83
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The gentlemen who staffed the desk were so helpful and accommodating, we appreciated their advice and help (along with their English skills) so very much! The staff in the breakfast room and housekeeping also helped with their concern when a member of our party was ill, again, much appreciated.

This is a basic hotel that provides very well the services it advertises, (including air-conditioning that was a great relief.) It is true that by American standards, the rooms are tiny, but from what I had read before travel, this is more the norm for Paris. I will say our tiny room was very clean, the beds very comfortable, and it was far more quiet than the majority of American hotels I have stayed in (we did not face the street.)

The very best attribute is the great staff and excellent location. As other reviewers have noted, it is close to Metro and bus stops, cafes, and not far from Luxembourg Gardens. It was also close to stops for two different lines of the OpenTours hop-on, hop-off tour bus, which we loved for the nice overview of Paris (ours was a short trip this time!)

We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Don't know where they got the photos of the hotel! It had wonderfully helpful people at the desk who spoke English, and were very solicitous of me and two granddaughters - but the rooms were SO basic! Wasn't a problem as the location is great - two metro stops quite near - the room was clean. But you'd think they could at least hang a cheap picture on the wall. We had three beds - and that was it! Oh, there was a TV up high on the wall. The view from the window was of other rooms about six feet away. Talk about a teensy shower - this was a new low! But the people were delightful and I was so grateful for their accurate advice on everything. But don't expect luxury! Because of Tripadvisor info we did not eat there, so I cannot address that. But it was just fine.

Room Tip: We had no view from our room, but perhaps that is because we requested three beds. There was only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great hotel in the latin quarter - close to everything via transport or just get walking! Friendly staff, rooms were clean and tidy. Good air cond and wifi. We stayed in a front street room and it really wasn't that loud at all. Didn't have the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to cafe's, shopping, RER/Metro lines, and so much more. It was the perfect location for exploring all that Paris has to offer. The reception staff is very helpful and pleasant, especially Ann. She is a true asset to this hotel. She was very helpful in recommending cafe's, tips for the bus, RER/Metro and what days are best to see the top attractions. All of the reception staff speak English. The rooms were small (as expected for Paris) yet very clean and quiet. The first night we had a room facing the street and you could hear the street noise, especially the street cleaning crew early in the morning. We asked to be moved to an interior courtyard room and Ann was more than happy to accommodate us. The interior rooms are very quiet. The hotel offers breakfast for 10 Euros however there are several cafe's and bakeries within a 5 minute walk. We did have breakfast in the hotel on the morning of our departure and it was very good. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for an interior courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel which is in a beautiful area of Paris close to many restaurants, main attractions and transport. The rooms were clean and tidy, but very small (as expected). The staff were helpful and informative.

On arrival the receptionist advised that everyone should make an effort to learn french before visiting. However with some very basic french I managed quite well.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Wonderful hotel, perfect location. The staff is very nice, hotel clean and quiet. The location was central to everything we wanted to see and do. The metro is just steps away. We were able to walk to the Luxembourg station and go straight to the Charles De Gaulle airport. We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel but there are many options within less than a five minute walk. Would stay again, but double check the hotel's website for better deals.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#560 of 1,800 in Paris
715 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#358 of 1,800 in Paris
1,096 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#283 of 1,800 in Paris
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#891 of 1,800 in Paris
416 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,188 of 1,800 in Paris
256 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#141 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cujas Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cujas Pantheon

Property: Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Address: 18 rue Cujas, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in Paris
#395 Family Hotel in Paris
#519 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cujas Pantheon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cujas Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cujas Pantheon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing