We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good Wifi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Ranked #544 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, good Wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Location very good between République and Oberkampf metro stations. WIFI worked very well in our room. There are also proper food stores nearby and very good "Boulangerie Leroy" at address "23 boulevard Voltaire".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prix_d_Amerique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    186
    54
    9
    5
See reviews for
57
151
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a great hotel for the traveler that wants a reasonably priced, centrally located place to stay in Paris. This is a great "place to sleep" and store your items in a friendly and comfortable hotel. There is a metro station a 2 minute walk from the hotel, lots of cool restaurants and bakeries in the neighborhood, and it is only ~20 mins to walk to the Notre Dame (a much shorter metro ride).
The staff are friendly, many rooms have an en suite bathroom, and are clean and adequate. Since this is a city hotel, there can be some noise at night from traffic while trying to sleep. Earplugs can be a good idea for those bothered by traffic noises.
In all, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank greengobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect! The location is well served with the metro and there are many restaurant in the area ("La Crepitante" if you want a very good crepe)!
The rooms are small but clean, and the owner is a very kind woman (also for Italian guests, she speaks very well Italian!).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DomenicoM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

this is a nice little hotel that is very well located. Rooms are typically small european size but everything is very clean and folks at the front desk are nice and helpful. the prices are reasonable. there are a few different metros fairly close. We were able to walk with our luggage easily from the metro.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank halsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked this hotel for our first week in Paris and after touring the south of France ended up booking later in the month for our last two days in Paris becasue we liked it so much. The rooms are small and basic but clean, with nicely redone bathrooms and truly accommodating staff. The hotel is located just steps from the Metro station, Republic Square and any number of restaraunts and cafes. The hotel does face a busy street and there is traffic noise, but that is all part of being in the heart of Paris. Breakfast served at the hotel is a little pricier than what you see within the surrounding blocks, however you may want to note that it is also much more generous, for the extra euro and a half, we felt that it was quite good value. Would we be book again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lowest floor possible, the lift seemed problematic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank breathingtheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on our first trip to Paris. I picked this hotel based on the combination of good price and pretty good TA reviews. There was both good and bad.
PROS
Location: a block and a half from metro stop serviced by 5 different lines. Very easy to get around from here.
Price: very reasonable
Clean: nothing fancy here (far from it) but at least it was fairly clean
CONS
Location: this one cuts both ways. Convenient location but BUSY and VERY NOISY. No a/c (common for European hotels) so we had to sleep with windows open. Street noise was horrible (our room was on 3rd floor). We bought earplugs after 1st night which helped a little bit.
No WiFi: hotel advertises free wifi. Worked less than 10% of the time and even then it was a very weak signal and slow speed. When I told them the first night that I couldn't get online I got mixed responses. One guy said "oh it's been like that for several days" but another said "oh that's odd...someone else was just using it fine." For trying to stay connected with our 3 kids at home and look things up about Paris, not having WiFi was a BIG disappointment-especially since it is an advertised feature.
Quirky and odd: I enjoy staying in independent hotels and not always in a chain: one normally finds places full of charm and character that way. This property just felt a little weird to me. Hallways were only lit by the exit signs (a little creepy for my tastes). Shower only had a handheld shower-no place for it to hang on the wall-you had to hold it the whole time-definitely not how I'm accustomed to showering. You have to turn your key in at the front desk every time you leave the property and wait to ask for it back when you return. Odd.
OVERALL it's really a mixed bag. Definitely would look at other options if I had it to do over again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jnmrk97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Okay, to start I think I need to point out a few things, as a lot of tourists on here have reviewed this hotel while simultaneously considering that 1) it is in Paris, 2) it is French, and 3) things do not cost the same as they did in the 70s.

Firstly, the objective information. It is cheap. Seriously. It is in a great location - right by Republique station with excellent connections to Hotel de Ville, Louvre, Rive Gauche, Concorde, Champs Elysees etc. It is also the nice side of Republique (you come out the station, walk by the beautiful Crowne Plaza, and the whole walk is like 2 minutes. It is basic - it has everything you need, not everything you want. It is also a budget independent hotel - so no luxuries, basic beds, non-brand standard everything etc. It is in Paris - so it will be busy outside, even at night, it will be hot in summer, the staircase is (typically for Paris) incredibly narrow and hallways are dark and frankly uninviting. The staff are French - so they will be incredibly helpful and friendly, as long as you keep on the right side of them, probably, and don't insult their culture.

Now my personal experience. I though this was absolutely fantastic as a hotel in Paris. It is simple, but comfortable. My room was cosy, but definitely bigger than many you will find in Paris (the city's buildings are from the 17th and 18th centuries, and amazingly weren't designed to be hotels, come along!). I slept fine and was comfortable in the room. The receptionists were really really helpful and friendly whenever I was coming and going, and I felt the hotel was safe. The location is really very good, no matter what you're doing in the city, and for the price it is exceptional for Paris.

There are better places you can stay if you plan ahead, but at medium to short notice this place is great. And in a notoriously, painfully expensive city such as Paris, this place deserves some real credit. I would recommend it to friends and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank uncledavey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Ibis Styles Paris Republique
Ibis Styles Paris Republique
#1,162 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
#600 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Bastille Opera
Ibis Bastille Opera
#809 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
BEST WESTERN Saint Martin Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique

Property: Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Address: 14 rue Rampon, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Grand Hotel De L'Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear travellers, The IBIS Paris Avenue de la République hotel, ex Grand Hôtel de l'Avenue, has been renovated from the top to the bottom during the last spring, and reopened the 01st of June 2015. Thanks to his very convenient location, you'll be able to move anywhere in Paris from the Republique Square (2 min. walking along the Avenue de la République). Indeed, at the metro station "Republique" you'll find 5 metro lines, which are the lines 3, 5, 8, 9 & 11. (and more bus lines, specifically the line 20 that goes to Gare de Lyon station, and the line 96 which goes to Montparnasse station.) This nice and quiet area offers every facilities : market, supermarket, bakery, pharmacy, parking lot nearby, laundry, and many bars and restaurants. All our rooms are non-smoking double rooms (max. occupancy 2 people), with air conditionning and free wifi access. For any further informations, do not hesitate to contact, day and night, our polyglot team (except french, we speak English, spanish, russian, portugese, italian, serbian..), which would be pleased to help you. Well, we let you finalize your departure and wish you already a nice trip ! Looking forward to welcoming you, The IBIS Paris Avenue de la République staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing