We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Classics Hotel Bastille
Ranked #651 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel during a weekend visit to Paris. Great hotel, clean, great location, perfect!! Only complaint would be the rude lady who works in the breakfast room..apart from that all the other staff were just lovely and very helpful. Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donegal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    291
    85
    9
    11
See reviews for
86
268
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My mom and I just spent 4 days in Paris and we wanted a hotel that was close to the Metro and budget friendly. Classics was clean and the staff was very helpful. Our room was fine for 2 of us and we loved how big the bathroom was. Definitely a rare sight in Europe. The breakfast buffet was delicious and a huge money saver. As coffee drinkers we loved that they had drip coffee available in addition to espresso. It was definitely a European breakfast; cheese, meat slices, croissants, fruit, etc, but my mom and I love that type of breakfast. We had a great stay at Classics and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyaway1987AAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I traveled to Paris in February with a school group. Our budget was tight. We needed a clean, safe, reasonably comfortable hotel at a price we could afford. Bonus points for proximity to major sights. This hotel fit the bill ... the rooms are small but immaculate. The breakfast buffet was a major convenience and a cost-saver -- the sunroom where it is served is light-fllled and pleasant ... I'll bet it's even nicer in Spring/Summer/Fall. My room looked out onto the inner courtyard, and I heard no street noise. It is steps away from the Charonne metro stop, providing ready access to all the major sights. The neighborhood is safe (even becoming a bit trendy), studded with interesting restaurants. While there were a few places that needed a bit of TLC ... mostly in the hallways ... there was nothing that made it less than comfortable and worth the price. Highly recommend for those traveling to Paris on a budget.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard rooms are so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zularaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Yes, it really was impossibly small. If you are a medium-size-large person (maybe 200 lbs or so and not tall) getting in and out of the tiny, square shower was a tight squeeze with elbows hitting the walls, etc. That being said, the hotel is small and comfortable. We booked two triples, which provided two lovely beds together and one fold-out type bed, which was not so comfortable and quite noisy. But, here's the good news! The room was quite large and came with TWO, yes two, bathrooms! Breakfast was adequate with fresh croissants and nice breads, cold meats and cheese, yogurt, or cereal. Here's the kicker... Yes, the hotel is close to the Metro stop, but fairly far away from most tourist destinations, and not on a major Metro line, requiring 2-3 line changes for each trip, which takes a lot of time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Bastille, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Vera,

First, we thank you for your comments. We know the showers are small but we have also rooms equipped with bathtub
It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the breakfast.
The hotel is not really in the center but in a quiet part of Paris and with the metro line 9, there is a direct access to the Champs Elysées, the Eiffel Tower and the big department stores.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards;

Fabienne Quéméner
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I visited Paris for the first time. We were very pleased with our accommodations. The room was spacious to us and the wifi was fast too. The entire staff was very helpful. We will definitely stay at Classics Hotel Bastille the next time we are in Paris.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Spyderchic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed her with my cousin in a twin room for four night, both in our early 20s in Jan 2013. Room was lovely ans spacious and very clean...Bathroom was massive. Room was cleaned each day and beds changed during our stay. Rooms also had a tv for when you want a bit of chill time in between sight seeing. Breakfast was included and lovely continental style buffet. Two minute walk from the Bus Stop which bring you into the center of Paris for 2euro. It also was 1min from the metro line. The staff were so friendly and reception offered everything we forgot, from toothbrushes to Razors. Hotel was very quiet at night, even though it was full at breakfast. Would recommend it to anyone and any age group travelling to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alisonpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, just a minute away from Charonne metro station and the main attractions were a short distance away. The area appeared safe and we had breakfast most mornings from the two bakerys on the road, both were amazing.
The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, the room was small but manageable but the shower was a bit ridiculous, my 6'2 partner struggled to get in and I kept banging my arms on the sides when washing my hair (not good if you are claustrophobic as your face is almost pressed up against the screen) another issue was the room smelt heavily of smoke masked by air freshener it would soon go if you opened the window for a while but this seemed to be on a daily basis... strange. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the black out curtains worked a treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Bodsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Bastille, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear guest,

First we thank you for your comments. it is a pleasure to learn that you appreciated the hotel and the area.
We know that the size of the showers can be a problem for some of our clients. but if you had informed the front desk, maybe it was possible to give you a non smokking room with a bath tub

We hope to welcome you back.

Best regards

Fabienne Quéméner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
BLC Design Hotel
BLC Design Hotel
#656 of 1,800 in Paris
616 reviews
Hotel Selva Paris
#1,282 of 1,800 in Paris
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#494 of 1,800 in Paris
608 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Nadaud Hotel
Nadaud Hotel
#607 of 1,800 in Paris
271 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
#997 of 1,800 in Paris
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classics Hotel Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classics Hotel Bastille

Property: Classics Hotel Bastille
Address: 131 rue de Charonne | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Classics Hotel Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classics Hotel Bastille is a small charming 3 stars hotel with 35 contemporary-styled rooms. It is perfectly located between Place de la Bastille, Place de la Nation and the Pere Lachaise cemetery. The Marais and the Louvre Museum are only at a few bus stops. At the Metro stop Charonne, 100 meters from the hotel, you can reach the mains touristic places of Paris like the Department Stores, Champs-Elysees Avenue and Eiffel Tower. The rooms have all been renovated and offer the modern comfort of a 3 stars hotel (free internet wireless, LCD TV 82 cm, safety deposit box, hair drier). One single room is equipped for guests with reduced mobility. Buffet breakfast is served below the veranda. If you wish, in summer time, you can enjoy it in our garden. A private and paying garage is available on request (not accessible for 4X4). All the staff will make a pleasure to help you during your stay. Just ask us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Classics Hotel Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classics Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing