We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“False Advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Classics Hotel Bastille
Ranked #670 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
197 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We checked in and had to sit in the room for an hour while they re-keyed the door. They advertise air conditioning... it was a fan. The bed was two horrible twins pushed together, they don't stay that way. It is incredibly loud in the room from the street. The breakfast was supposed to be included, they charged us €12 each for each day at checkout.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRockTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Bastille, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,
We are very sorry to learn that you had a disappointing experience.
But please note we never mention that we have air conditionning only that there is a fan in the rooms It is not our interest to provide false informations
Breakfast is sometines included in the price sometimes not but this information is mentioned on the booking. and at the check-in
We hope to welcoming you back
Best regards.
Fabienne Quéméner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    286
    84
    9
    11
See reviews for
81
264
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleyben, France
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

When I booked this hotel for 3 says, I was astounded by the price, but even more astounded once I had checked in. The hotel is as basic as it gets. No frills. The reception staff were extremely rude, except for the gentleman who checked us out on the last day. The superior room was TINY. No space for two people. The shows had to have been the smallest shower in the world.
We had a back facing room which was awful in the morning when the birds woke up at 4am. A wall of greenery and their nests made for a very difficult nights sleep.
The location of the hotel was good. Off a side street and in the great location of Bastille. Walking distance to Notre Dame, and other great sites.
On advice, don't stay here, there are far better hotels in Montparnasse area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Bastille, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments; We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay..
Most of our clients like hearing the songs of the birds. They do not feel they are in the heart of Paris.!
Best regards.

Fabienne Quéméner
Assistante de direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Upon our arrival the indifferent desk clerk simply handed us our room key, pointed in the direction of the elevator and that was it, She did not provide us with any information about our room or the services provided by the hotel. For example, she did not tell us that we needed to insert our key card into a little slot to activate the lights in the room. My son pulled a cord in the bathroom thinking it was a light but it turned out to be a heater, which stayed on for more than 15 minutes before turning itself off. The room was unbearably hot before the heater incident, so we opened the window. Our room faced the street, which was noisy, and the air was not fresh due to the cars and smokers going by. Of course, there was no A/C, but a card in the room said fans were available upon request. When we requested a fan we were told that there were only two for the hotel and they were being used, but, they would take one of those and give it to us. The fan they brought to us was so loud, it clanged and rattled as if it were retrieved from the garbage can. Speaking of garbage cans, I think that is where the hotel gets their sheets from. My bed had stains and my son's bed sheet had a giant tear in it. The table in the room had a broken leg and looked like it would fall over any second. The bathroom sink did not drain, and the hotel is very stingy with toilet paper (several remnants salvaged from other rooms in place of a whole fresh roll). After going out for food, we asked the front desk clerk if there was a vending machine, she shook her head no and looked away, making us feel like she didnt want to be bothered, Upon returning to our room, we looked at the hotel information sheet again and noted there were complimentary beverages available for guests, but we were not given this information. The TV did not work. Now, I did not go on vacation to watch TV, but on our day of arrival the taxi's were on strike and it would have been nice to follow up with the news to check on the status of the strike. The only nice thing about this hotel was the lovely outdoor area in the back, near where breakfast is served. The food is generic, nothing special. The beds were hard as hell, like sleeping on a plastic box. Do yourself a favor, stay somewhere else. One more thing, I was able to reset the safe password after creating my own password, by using 0000 (while my belongings were locked in the safe) so dont leave your belongings in there, or else they will be someone else"s belongings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClassicsHotel, Responsable réception at Classics Hotel Bastille, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment.. We are very sorry to learn that you had a disappointing experience
but it does not reflect our usual level of service
Be assured that we do feel very concerned about your feedback and accept all our apologies.
Fabienne Quéméner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
249 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here for 9 days in April, and my friend and I were thrilled with the location and quality of service- especially for the great price. We had a room with 2 twin beds that was more than adequate for storing our belongings and sleeping, which is all we wanted. The shower was extremely small, but there was tons of hot water and good water pressure. The room was clean.

The location of this hotel was even better than we could have hoped. Close to the metro, plenty of things within walking distance, and far enough removed from the "touristy" areas of Paris that we could just wander around and enjoy small local cafes. Location was safe.

The staff were also wonderfully pleasant and very helpful: answering questions before our trip via email, putting up with my less-than-stellar attempts to speak French, and helping us secure travel to/from CDG.

Staying here is excellent quality for the money you spend- of course it could be a bigger room, but I'd rather spend my money on experiencing Paris than on the place where I sleep. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just back from a three day trip to Paris. We stayed in the Classics and found it to be clean, safe, quiet and well-located, close to the metro and lots of reasonably priced restaurants. The continental style breakfast was good quality and plentiful with great variety. We had a room overlooking the interior courtyard and wouldn't have known we were in the heart of the city, it was so quiet. Just birdsong in the mornings from the sparrows nesting in the creeper. Only drawback was that the room tended to be quite warm at night although we did have a fan, which helped.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holmsie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel during a weekend visit to Paris. Great hotel, clean, great location, perfect!! Only complaint would be the rude lady who works in the breakfast room..apart from that all the other staff were just lovely and very helpful. Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donegal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My mom and I just spent 4 days in Paris and we wanted a hotel that was close to the Metro and budget friendly. Classics was clean and the staff was very helpful. Our room was fine for 2 of us and we loved how big the bathroom was. Definitely a rare sight in Europe. The breakfast buffet was delicious and a huge money saver. As coffee drinkers we loved that they had drip coffee available in addition to espresso. It was definitely a European breakfast; cheese, meat slices, croissants, fruit, etc, but my mom and I love that type of breakfast. We had a great stay at Classics and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyaway1987AAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Selva Paris
#1,286 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
République
BLC Design Hotel
BLC Design Hotel
#646 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#160 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#453 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classics Hotel Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classics Hotel Bastille

Property: Classics Hotel Bastille
Address: 131 rue de Charonne | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #670 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Classics Hotel Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classics Hotel Bastille is a small charming 3 stars hotel with 35 contemporary-styled rooms. It is perfectly located between Place de la Bastille, Place de la Nation and the Pere Lachaise cemetery. The Marais and the Louvre Museum are only at a few bus stops. At the Metro stop Charonne, 100 meters from the hotel, you can reach the mains touristic places of Paris like the Department Stores, Champs-Elysees Avenue and Eiffel Tower. The rooms have all been renovated and offer the modern comfort of a 3 stars hotel (free internet wireless, LCD TV 82 cm, safety deposit box, hair drier). One single room is equipped for guests with reduced mobility. Buffet breakfast is served below the veranda. If you wish, in summer time, you can enjoy it in our garden. A private and paying garage is available on request (not accessible for 4X4). All the staff will make a pleasure to help you during your stay. Just ask us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classics Hotel Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classics Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing