We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in a non-touristy area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austin's Arts et Metiers Hotel
Ranked #590 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location in a non-touristy area.”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel is right by Arts et Metier metro station and opposite the Arts et Metiers museum in the 3rd arondissament. We stayed for 4 nights and it is a good base from which to explore Paris. We could easily get to Hotel de Ville metro in less than 15 minutes or walk it in 20 minutes.

Our room was on the first floor on the front and was actually quiet, even on a Saturday night. The room was very small (typical for Paris) but clean and adequate. The air conditioning and free Wi-Fi were definite plus factors, as was the safe in the room (useful for documents and spare cash) and coffee/tea making facilities. There was also a lift to all floors, the alternative was a spiral staircase - common in older buildings!

The main downside is that breakfast is not normally included and was Euro10 per person - however, if you don't want to pay it there is a baker's on the next corner and also a Carrefour City within 2 minutes walk.

The hotel staff are pleasant and helpful and speak good English, but be aware that as a non- touristy part of Paris many of the local restaurants are closed on Sundays & Mondays, so eating out can be a bit of a challenge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vokon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    198
    39
    11
    0
See reviews for
44
173
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were pleased to have stayed here for four nights. The rooms were very clean and adequate and well serviced. And with 'free' WiFi in the room made it easy to communicate back home using 'facetime'.

The hotel only provides a continental breakfast, but this was more than adequate for us.

The location of the hotel made it easy for us to get to all the main tourist spots in Paris in the short time we had available.

We would certainly stay here again if ever we got back to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

For 200 euro per night, we expected something larger than 12 square metres.

While we were out, a tradesperson entered our room and carried out repairs on the room (without our knowledge). We returned to find the room covered in dry paint shavings and smelling like wet plaster.

Also, we we woken up by a fire alarm which went off twice in the early hours of the morning. Twice, upon taking the fire stairs (along with all other hotel guests) to reception, we were greeted by a flustered employee who didn't explain what was going on, even after the alarm was switched off. After a while all guests assumed nothing was wrong (apart from hotel staff not properly managing a malfunctioning alarm).

Been to Paris many times (and will go again) however we will certainly be avoiding this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Savvy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6montgolfier, Responsable relations clients at Austin's Arts et Metiers Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello,
First, we are sorry if you have not had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
You have booked a double room that is certified to accommodate 2 people with all the necessary conveniences for a pleasant stay, and in may and june it's the high season.
Regarding to the size of the room, it's like all the Parisian’s hotels.
As you well noticed we have begun works to beautify the hotel and we apologize for some dust left behind in your room, we immediately cleaned that because the room cleanliness is our main concern.
Regarding the alarm, it was triggered by a customer who smoked in the room, as a security measure, our rooms are equipped with smoke detectors.
I remain at your disposal for any further information.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.
Best regards
Muss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Austin's Hotel des Artes & Metiers during a time when they were renovating the reception and dining areas. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was plentiful. The room was small, but it met our needs. The hotel is very close to the Metro stop Republique and that makes it convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wbmohawk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen, België
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I spent the Easter weekend in the hotel. I came by Thalys and arrived at Gare Du Nord. I followed the advice from another Belgian and took the direct nr 4 metro line to "Reamur Sebastopol". Less than 5 minutes and very easy walk to the hotel. However, line nr 3 has a direct stop in front of the hotel: the stop is called as well "Arts en Metiers". The hotel was nice. Small, but comfortable and CLEAN room, including a convenient bathroom. Breakfast was simple; but very satisfying. Only thing that I did not like was the fact that there are hardly any nice restaurants near the hotel. There are some, but the neighbourhood is not as lively as I would have hoped for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeri110178060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

While this hotel isn't the highest quality hotel you could stay in, I think it's an amazing value. The rooms are fairly small and not updated. The linens are ok but not great and the beds aren't the most comfortable but the place is clean. Breakfast is provided in the rate and it is excellent. The best thing about this place is the location. It is literally around the corner from the metro, but in a nice quiet neighborhood. I would definitely stay here again. Try to get a room with a view of the street if you can. Those rooms look much bigger and brighter. We got a room that basically looked out onto another building and could probably have touched the other wall so our room was dark, but we were in Paris so who cares.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the street if you can. Those rooms look much bigger and brighter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielaFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights. We arrived very early because of our bus transfer to Paris, but to our big suprise our room was already available at 8 am! We were veary pleased with that. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and had a good bed. The only thing about the bed was that it was too small for us: our feet hang over the bed.(it's not made for the somehow 'larger' people)
Nice breakfast; just enough to start the day! Very nice and helpfull staff which also spoke english.
The hotel is in a very nice neighbourhood, just a couple steps away from the metro and within only 10 minutes walking from Place de la Republique and Le Marais. Overall we found this hotel very clean and nicely located, so I would really recommand this hotel if you're staying in Paris!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariskaa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Notre Dame / Marais
Le Relais du Marais
Le Relais du Marais
#380 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel de Roubaix
Hotel de Roubaix
#361 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jacques de Molay
Hotel Jacques de Molay
#643 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
#749 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Little Palace Hotel
Little Palace Hotel
#569 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin's Arts et Metiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Arts et Metiers Hotel

Property: Austin's Arts et Metiers Hotel
Address: 6 rue Montgolfier | 3rd Arr., 75003 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#284 Business Hotel in Paris
#459 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Austin's Arts et Metiers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated, the Austin's Arts et Métiers Hotel invites you to discover charming rooms equipped with all modern comforts:Soundproof rooms with air conditioning, direct telephone, bathroom with hairdryer, shaver points, bath or shower and WC, flat screen TV (Canal + and Satellite), international TV channels, courtesy tray with tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms , free WIFI (internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austin's Arts et Metiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austins Arts Et Metiers Paris
Austins Arts Et Metiers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing