We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Soft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Soft
Ranked #628 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in early May 2013. We had booked the hotel on-line, since it was near the Paris Nord railway station we were going to use to travel from Paris.

This hotel is rated as a 3-star and I think this is a stretch. The hotel is located on narrow one-way side street in a seedier part of Paris near the East railway station. When we arrived at the hotel at 11am, the door to the street was locked, a houskeeper saw us and let us in.

Good news was our room was ready, the bad news was our room was ready. Getting to the room was a challenge since the two of us, and our luggage would not fit in the small lift. We arrived at a small dark room on the 6th floor. it smelled quite nice, apparently they use the scent to mask the room's shortcomings.

The smaller room you can expect in Europe. The cracks in the wall, the permanent dirt stains on the chairs and the toilet seat you would not expect in a hotel anywhere. The bed was clean and reasonably comfortable. This was the room's only redeeming feature.

The bathroom had no tub, just a shower that you had to step up about a foot off the floor to get in. The floor was very slippery and would be unsafe for anyone with a mobility issue.

Since we were only in Paris for one night, and had prepaid the room, we stayed. When we came back by cab later at night, the driver insisted on driving us right to the hotel door rather than let us off at the corner. He said he wanted to make sure we made it into the building ok.

There is a nice continental breakfast provided for 12 Euro per person. We were comped one breakfast as a thanks for bringing a leaking plumbing situation to the attention of management.

Others have reviewed this hotel and found it to be ok. We did not. The Hotel Soft must have better rooms available that the one offered to us. We suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had a very small room with poor plumbing and no bathtub. Some reviewers refer to larger and / or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsoft, Gérant at Hotel Soft, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Dear Roy,

Thank you for the time taken to share your experience at our hotel.

We are glad you appreciated the breakfast and the quality of your bed. We are sorry you had those issues at the time. Since a few months, we have set a daily survey of all the reviews and we have solved most of the problems. Regarding the room size, we have three different one available, from 12 to 18 sqm, according to our clients' budget.

We would like to host you once more to be able to propose you a perfect experience this time.

Amir Pirbay, director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    465
    126
    27
    9
See reviews for
140
574
61
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Hotel Soft from 24th-28th March 2013. The hotel was lovely and in a great location for accessing the Gare de L'est and Gare du Nord to get about. I took around 10mins to walk from the hotel. The staff were really friendly and asked us how are day had been on return to the hotel every evening. The rooms are quite small but nicely furnished and ours had a tv, ipod dock and a decent sized bathroom with shower. The cleaners came in daily and made the beds etc and the bathroom was cleaned everyday. We were on the 2nd floor and didn't really have a great view from the room but that was the only downside I would say. We didn't do the breakfast option at this hotel as 12euros seemed a little steep and there are so many cafés and patisseries that you spoiled for choice anyway. There was also a handy supermarket just up the road called Marche Franprix. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I have returned to this hotel on two ocassions as it's simple, comfortable, friendly and I particularly like it's location. The normal nightly rates are possibly a little on the pricey side - but this is Paris after all. You can usually find a discounted rate for the hotel too if you shop around, and it can then become good value. I love the area - Canal st Martin is heaving with independent restaurants and wine bars. It's also a great place to people watch - I feel like it's a great slice of 'real Paris' and isn't full of tourists. It's also a really well connected area, being 5mins walk to Gare du l'est and 10mins walk to Gare du Nord. We didn't have breakfast during our stay (spoilt for choice on local cafes!) so I can't pass comment on that, but the staff we're friendly and very helpful and the beds were comfy. The cosy rooms really are quite small, but this is very common in Paris - I've stayed in hotels here for twice the price with no more space. All in all, a good stay. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieG-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed at Soft Hotel in Paris for 2 nights in May 2013. Firstly, it is in a great location close to main metro station Gare du Nord and Gare du L'est. This allows you to access all areas of Paris with ease. We arrived at 10:30am after an early flight, and were pleased to find that our room was already ready so we were able to check in straight away. The hotel and rooms are compact, but modern and clean. The complementary wifi in rooms is a great addition as well.

The breakfast is a great way to start the day- a continental buffet breakfast is provided. There is plenty of breakfast to prepare you for the day.The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, and provided a fantastic service. Overall Hotel Soft was a great base for a short break in Paris and I would deifnitely recommend it to anyone wanting a conveniently located

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I had already chosen this hotel, like everyone says as it was close to Gard du Nord and it looked pretty funky in the pictures. Then booking the Eurostar tickets, it was also a partner hotel so it worked out cheaper to book through Eurostar

15 mins from Gard du Nord, quiet area and safe. All staff were very pleasant, welcoming and friendly. Room as usual in European cities when you are not paying a fortune but compact, but absolutely fine, decoration is modern

Only downside is the hot water, if you want a deep hot bath just after peak 'bath time' then you may be disappointed

Choice of 3 metro station nearby, master the Metro and it is great and cheap for getting around.

No coffee tea in rooms but 5 mins from the brilliant pastry shop.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boomer-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

A lot has been said about the close proximity of the railway stations to the hotel which is spot on. I have to mention the Metro system which, personally, i think is brilliant it so quick and easy. Hotel Soft is located in a lovely street, with beautiful architecture around it, the Parisian buildings are really pleasing to the eye.

We arrived at the hotel after a hellish 3 Hour transfer ( paris shuttle ), nothing to do with the Hotel. we were met at the Hotel by the Manager Ahmed, what a really genuinely nice fellow, nothing was too much trouble, his English was superb, and he seemed so proud of the city and the Hotel. as mentioned we arrived late on (8pm instead of 5pm) so we thought booking a table would be out of the window.

Ahmed booked us in to a nearby restaurant at short notice... very good choice as well. which was within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.

We were in room 502, the room is on the top floor to the front of the hotel, rooms are not particularly large, as space in Paris is at a premium.
The room was great, king / queen size bed, spotless room, bed linen, and towels and the room was lovely and warm. It also had a nice clean fresh smell too.

The bed was extremely comfortable, i have problems sleeping through at home due to shift work and body clock, but i slept through here, very very very comfortable........oh and did i mention it was comfortable. Ha.

There was some building work outside but, to be honest, not a great distraction and nothing to be concerned about, after all we were up early..ish to tour.

We didn't take up the option for breakfast, as we like to get out and about, Breakfast is readily available anywhere really, most doing coffee /tea, Croissant, Orange juice etc.

The whole hotel was Comfortable ( oops that word again) and quiet, never really heard other guests.

I must also mention, the Hotel and Ahmed in particular, did reply promptly to emails we sent, as it was my birthday, my wife had made contact to order some Champagne, but the "Brand" she chose, the hotel could only get the special variety, which was 200 + euros, Ahmed was aware that this was extremely expensive and emailed to confirm that he thought this was expensive and recommended another brand, which was great.

you wouldn't be disappointed with your stay, we stayed as a couple for 3 nights, and would definitely stay here again no question, as long as we could have the same room Ahmed! Please.

Other staff members were also very helpful and polite their English was excellent also.

The restaurant recommended was Les Enfants Perdus, really nice atmosphere and the food excellent.

TOP TIP

If you are going to the Moulin Rouge, take your credit card. If you booked the dinner / show you should receive a 1/2 bottle of champers each, to re order 30 euros half bottle / 60 euros full bottle. the cheapest bottle of wine is 75 euros!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guydavies7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just got back from Hotel Soft where I stayed for two nights. I would highly recommend it to all my friends and family! The hotel is 5/10 minutes from both Gare du Nord and Gare de lest which was really good when getting off the Eurostar and getting the metro around the city. I found the staff very friendly and happy to help which was great. The rooms were clean and tidy and great for the price paid. We had the buffet breakfast both mornings which consisted off the basics but was very enjoyable. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Bastille
Hotel Paris Bastille
#672 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#539 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Magenta 38 by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#192 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Hotel Vice Versa
#303 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Gobelins
Jack's Hotel
Jack's Hotel
#457 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soft

Property: Hotel Soft
Address: 52 B rue des Vinaigriers, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#398 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#401 Family Hotel in Paris
#428 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soft 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and inviting all at once, the new Hotel SOFT welcomes you just a few steps from Gare de l’Est, between Place de la Republique and Saint Martin Canal. We provide a centrally-located haven, in a quiet street.Our three promises: a “soft” atmosphere to welcome you warmly into our contemporary designed hotel, - a “soft” night : everything you need for a good night’s sleep (large bed, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi etc.) and a “soft” price (good value for money in Paris). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Soft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soft Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing