We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Base for Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Soft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Soft
Ranked #639 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Base for Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. Pleasantly surprised that it was only a 5-10 minute from the main station after getting off the Eurostar. Reception staff were extremely helpful providing tips for dinner and attractions. The rooms were small but what we expected being Paris however the room was extremely clean and had an air-conditioning unit for the hot weather. TV also had a few English channels which was nice to wind down too after a day of exploring. Breakfast was more than enough to get you through the morning- toast, meat, cheese, cereal and pastries. All in all a very lovely hotel for an excellent price- highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LE0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    461
    125
    26
    9
See reviews for
139
569
61
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Six of us stayed here for the six nations game. The rooms and everything about this hotel is small. The service and helpfulness of the staff more than made up for it. Good location within walking distance of the Eurostar. The La Paella restaurant a couple of doors away has a great atmosphere and does great tapas and paella. Budget hotel, clean and simple - no complaints unless you are claustrophobic, thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a wonderful experience as the staff was warm and welcoming and worked with us as we arrived at 10:00 AM in the morning. They went out of there way to make our honeymoon over New Year's the best it could be and would highly recommend a stay at a great price. If you are traveling by train, its also a great location although it is slightly off the beaten path, but close to both major rail stations. .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend between 3rd - 7th Jan 2014, with my other half, fantastic little hotel, close to the Gare du Nord Train Station and other public transport links.

Rooms were really modern/clean and the hotel was really quiet.

Issue with room was it was hard to control heating in room, so was a little to hot sometimes in room. Would be good to have some kind of fan or air con in room, as it was a little uncomfortable sleeping at night. Lack of coffee/tea making facilities. Other then that room was perfect..

There has free wi-fi access across the hotel, which great for finding out local info.

Hotel staff were really friendly and more then happy to help....

Would definitely bear this hotel in mind for any future stay in Paris..

Room Tip: As far as getting to the major landmarks, I highly recommend, you speak to reception staff about Ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed there for almost a week in the late summer. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I wanted a shared cab to the airport on the day of depature and he managed to get one for me. Usually you have to book 1-2 days in advance. High quality, quiet bedroom and clean bathroom. The cosy room is very small though, basically a big bed and just enough space to move around. Maybe because we had big suitcases. It's close to Gare du Nord so quite convenient for travel but not necessarily a completely safe place. So be careful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Paris August 27th - 29th 2013. From the train station we had no idea where we where going, although we knew it wasn't far from the train station (around 10 min walk) so we wanted to walk it rather than get a taxi. We asked a few people for directions but not one person had heard of the hotel! then luckily we asked a taxi driver and told him the name of the street and he pointed us in the right direction. The hotel is down a small street on the left of the main street so keep your eyes peeled for a lilac sign! upon arrival the manager was very welcoming and upgraded us to a better room as he said "lovely couple, why not?" so this was a better start for us than wandering around for 40 minutes looking for the place.
the rooms are very small but all you need for a short city break, clean and very comfy beds!
we decided that we wanted to walk as much as we could to take in as much Paris as possible. Defiantly get a map (we got one from the hotel reception) and off we went. Please be warned the hotel is not in the best of areas, lots of big group/gangs hanging outside shops etc. I wouldn't advise a woman alone however saying that we experienced no trouble what so ever, barley even any looks off them, just a little scary if its not something your used to (when dark we decided not to risk it and got a taxi both nights) the walk to the river took us around 45 mins, when you reach the river is when you will experience the Paris you see on post cards. The bridges, buildings etc are all beautiful. From the river you can go to all the sights. We walked to them all! (we are crazy) we were told an hour and a half from the hotel to the Eiffel tower, well double that! we were knackered to say the least and our feet where killing us! any way when at the tower we saw that you could pay 15 euro to go on the water bus which went on a constant loop up and down the river. We wish we would have realised this sooner as its much much cheaper than taxis but ten times faster than walking! you can jump on jump off all day. I would defiantly advise a tourist to buy a ticket. We bought one just to get us home as a taxi would have been around 30 - 40 euro. Any way sorry for going on but a few things iv mentioned I wish Id of known myself before going, however I would defiantly stay there again for the price I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amberlou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in August 2013. We had booked a 'cosy' twin room, but upon arrival, the Hotel Manager Ahmed told us that he pleased to upgrade us for free to their best room, perhaps as a result of a cancellation. We were on the top floor of the hotel overlooking the typically Parisian Street which had fantastic views over the neighborhood. The room itself was clean although quite tired. Just one word of warning - do not pull back the sheets to inspect the mattress which was filthy! The 7 or 8 sheets did disguise it quite well though. Breakfast was fine with a wide selection - slightly disappointed with the fruit salad which appeared to be tinned fruit cocktail but other than that and the price which was perhaps a little expensive for what you got it couldn't be faulted. In terms of the location, it was less than a 10 minute walk to the Hotel from Le Gare du Nord...once you knew where you were going! I would definitely recommend printing some written directions off before you get there. We ended up having to get a taxi from the station (9 euros!) when we arrived because nobody seemed to know where the Hotel was despite me speaking french and having the full address. The Hotel was a great base to explore Paris as we were right near to the Metro which was fantastic once we had got the hang of it! The neighborhood itself surrounding the hotel was a bit rough and the street quite rowdy on the first night. You should be careful if you are young females on an evening as my friend and I were walking back from a restaurant 5 minutes away on the first night (only about 21;00) and we had a few guys approach us and start following us which was a little bit scary to say the least. Overall though I would recommend this Hotel especially if you are just using it as a base for a couple of days to explore. The price was very reasonable I don't think we could of got anything better for what we paid. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 734BJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Magenta 38 by HappyCulture
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#567 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Bastille
Hotel Paris Bastille
#722 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Jack's Hotel
Jack's Hotel
#475 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#187 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Hotel Vice Versa
#296 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soft

Property: Hotel Soft
Address: 52 B rue des Vinaigriers, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#399 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#402 Family Hotel in Paris
#428 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soft 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and inviting all at once, the new Hotel SOFT welcomes you just a few steps from Gare de l’Est, between Place de la Republique and Saint Martin Canal. We provide a centrally-located haven, in a quiet street.Our three promises: a “soft” atmosphere to welcome you warmly into our contemporary designed hotel, - a “soft” night : everything you need for a good night’s sleep (large bed, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi etc.) and a “soft” price (good value for money in Paris). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Soft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soft Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing