We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #281 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“LOVED this hotel!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was an ideal location in which to stay for our two night break in Paris. It’s not cheap, granted, but it was really lovely. It’s very central and is literally minutes from the hop-on-hop-off bus stop, the Metro, shops, supermarkets, eating areas etc, and it right opposite the Sorbonne University. It’s a very different and interesting type of hotel and surrounds a lovely light-filled courtyard. We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist on arrival and both check-in and check-out were prompt and uncomplicated. We got a room on the 5th floor overlooking the courtyard. We’d heard that the rooms in Paris hotels were small, and this was no exception but it was quite charming. Compact is the word I suppose! Our bathroom was well stocked, including built-in hairdryer. Internet, and other information is available through the television set and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We had an excellent sleep on both nights. Our accommodation was on a room-only basis and we did take breakfast in the hotel on the morning of our departure. This was €13 per person. Not cheap either, but we wanted to try it out. You have to let the receptionist know in advance (i.e. the evening before) if you wish to have breakfast the following morning. Breakfast is in a charming little kitchen-type room and you can cook your own small crepes or eggs, whichever you choose to do. This is by means of an electrically heated griddle pan. There is fresh crusty bread and croissants brought to your table, along with some fruit. There are yogurts, cereal, ham, cheese and dried fruits from which to choose. It was an interesting experience to say the least. Seems the only tea that is served in Paris is Early Grey, and I dislike it intensely. It makes me feel like I am drinking a cup of perfume! Couldn’t wait to get home and have a proper cup of tea. There was only one negative aspect to our stay in this hotel - there were no tea or coffee making facilities in our room. This really is a must, and I’d even brought some tea bags and coffee. We don’t know if this is something that’s common across Paris or perhaps it was just in the Hotel Design. Having said that, we loved the hotel and would highly recommend it to anybody intending to visit Paris. Check-out is mid-day and they locked our bags away for us until we were ready to collect them before travelling to the airport in the early evening. We will definitely stay here when we come back to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    582
    129
    29
    15
See reviews for
126
774
103
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Paris between business trips. Having only 2 days we wanted a hotel that was easily accessible to metro and good walking areas. This hotel filled the bill. 3 minutes to Luxembourg gardens. Minutes to the metro, Latin Quarter, anywhere you want to go. It is a safe area, fresh markets are just minutes away. The rooms are a typical European room. The internet was complimentary and never went out. Air conditioning worked quite well. We did not have the breakfast but there were many guests that did partake. We will stay here again, next time in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Directly opposite the Sorbonne. 5-10 mins to Notre Dame and then can walk up past Louvre to Champs Élysées, Arc de Triomphe and then Eiffel Tower. Then jump on the train for the few stops home. Ate breakfast at hotel one morning and was good but very easy to get coffee and croissant in the square just 2 mins down the road. Definitely recommend the hotel. We had a superior room - very little free space but comfy bed and nice bathroom. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: Ask for superior room. I think they have a slightly bigger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed at Hotel Design de la Sorbonne last month for 6 nights. When I arrived at the hotel I was told that the hotel was upgrading me from a single room to a double room at no extra charge because I was staying for 6 nights. I found that all the employees of this hotel (breakfast room, front desk, cleaning staff) were very kind and helpful. The hotel is very stylish, clean and in a great location. Most of the main attractions of Paris are within walking distance of the hotel. And the beautiful Sorbonne University is just outside the front door of the hotel. Carlotta informed me that I needed to book my transportation to the airport early in the week in order to ensure that I had a ride. And she went ahead and took care of booking a taxi for me. If I ever return to Paris I will definitely stay at this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Second floor on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeb1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a lovely time in this hotel. The staff treated us like acquaintances rather than "guests"-meaning they were respectful of the fact that we were guests, but were happy to point us to places and events we might not have seen or done without their help. The hotel chain (there are five) has a helpful blog which I would recommend even if you stay elsewhere. The property itself is gorgeous, combining modern and art nouveau elements seamlessly and artfully into a lovely fusion of old and new. Will definitely stay here again when in Paris; the location (2 blocks from the Luxembourg Gardens) cannot be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamoroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 night in September. Our room on the first floor was small, but decorated very tastefully. The bathroom was also small, but very typical of Paris hotels. Everything was clean and we did not have any complaints. The staff was friendly and the hotel is in an excellent location. They offered us breakfast at 50% off the fist day. I read on the information provided on the computer in the room that they had continental breakfast or buffet. We wanted the continental breakfast and did not eat any of the buffet but were still charged for the buffet unfortunately. Otherwise, this hotel is great and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Brought my mum to this hotel - for her 1st ever trip to Paris & we loved it. The staff were so helpful especially Elie and Francois who we tended to get on the front desk during our stay - they couldn't do enough for you. The location of the hotel was fabulous & I would definitely stay in this area again - from the Pantheon at the top of the street to the jardin de Luxembourg at the bottom and Notre Dame within a 10-15 min walk couldn't have asked for more.
The room itself was beautifully decorated, and cleaned each day we were there - wifi was a bonus - only negative with the mac (which is a great idea) is that the volume on ours kept going up and down - the voice disappearing for anything up to half an hour at a time. But we were only in the hotel to sleep really! Our airport shuttle was organised at the front desk with no problems.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#177 of 1,800 in Paris
996 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#356 of 1,800 in Paris
1,096 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#145 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#84 of 1,800 in Paris
1,154 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#302 of 1,800 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#209 of 1,800 in Paris
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Property: Hotel Design Sorbonne
Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#256 Business Hotel in Paris
#312 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing