We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, trendy and modern!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #278 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, trendy and modern!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel!
The staff are very friendly and speak perfect English. The rooms are very modern with great air con, full black out curtains and an Apple Mac/television. It was a great location and they even have loads of umbrellas they let you borrow on a rainy day! The only draw back was the breakfast, which I don't think was worth the full price when you can get more at the nearby cafés for less. Overall we had a fantastic time though and have recommended this hotel to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    574
    126
    29
    15
See reviews for
122
764
101
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's a great spot, quiet but fairly central, well-served by cafes and restaurants, just around the corner from the lively, picturesque Place de la Sorbonne. Tiny room, yes, but good bed, bath, and linens, and the Mac a big plus. It served its main purpose very well. Staff were mostly helpful, though the person who greeted me on an early arrival wasn't. No welcome, no offer of a cup of coffee or a place to wash up after a night flight, which I've had at other places. Also recommended a restaurant that was closed, and advised against using the very convenient RER, which I never figured out. Unlike some small hotels, this is clearly not owner-operated. As for the "design" aspect, well, come back in three or four years and see if it's stood the test of time.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor across a courtyard from the office. Absolutely quiet and quite dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Based on previous trips to Paris, I was certain I wanted to stay in the left bank close to St Germaine des Pre area. The hotel was situated in the perfect location to suit my needs, was easy to get to and find. The staff were absolutely accommodating and provided excellent service. Would definitely recommend to future Paris patrons

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanishka411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location and it is generally quiet, although you can hear loud guests in the adjacent rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the computer system in the room and they took care of immediately after we let them know there was a problem. The rooms were renovated and clean.

Yes, the rooms are small, but it is Paris, get over it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricandKathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Design Hotel for 4 nights. We 'liked' the hotel on Facebook and were able to get a discounted rate with free breakfast included. The room was facing the Sorbonne University and we were on the fifth floor which was lovely and quiet. The room was small but everything was well laid out. The ensuite was very small and a larger person would struggle but we coped fine. Breakfast was a selection of breads and croissants, fresh juice and coffee, cereals, eggs, freshly made crepes and some meats and cheeses. It was a very nice start to the day. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and special mention to the cook who made us fresh crepes every day. The hotel recommended Place de la Contrescarpe which had great cafes and restaurants at a reasonable price. The hotel was 5 mins walk from Luxembourg train station. I would highly recommend this hotel for its great location, lovely staff and well designed rooms.

Room Tip: Use facebook to get a discounted rate and free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBelfast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a 24 hour layover in Paris between leaving Turkey and returning to the US. This hotel was the best I could find price & location-wise under such short notice. The location was great, we could literally walk anywhere in the city), the room and bathroom were clean, brightly decorated, the staff was helpful, the bed was very comfortable, I think there's an iMac in every guestroom. It was all we could ask for an overnight in Paris. Would definitely stay there or at one of their sister hotels again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the Sorbonne - beautiful architecture to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noname212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
471 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was an ideal location in which to stay for our two night break in Paris. It’s not cheap, granted, but it was really lovely. It’s very central and is literally minutes from the hop-on-hop-off bus stop, the Metro, shops, supermarkets, eating areas etc, and it right opposite the Sorbonne University. It’s a very different and interesting type of hotel and surrounds a lovely light-filled courtyard. We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist on arrival and both check-in and check-out were prompt and uncomplicated. We got a room on the 5th floor overlooking the courtyard. We’d heard that the rooms in Paris hotels were small, and this was no exception but it was quite charming. Compact is the word I suppose! Our bathroom was well stocked, including built-in hairdryer. Internet, and other information is available through the television set and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We had an excellent sleep on both nights. Our accommodation was on a room-only basis and we did take breakfast in the hotel on the morning of our departure. This was €13 per person. Not cheap either, but we wanted to try it out. You have to let the receptionist know in advance (i.e. the evening before) if you wish to have breakfast the following morning. Breakfast is in a charming little kitchen-type room and you can cook your own small crepes or eggs, whichever you choose to do. This is by means of an electrically heated griddle pan. There is fresh crusty bread and croissants brought to your table, along with some fruit. There are yogurts, cereal, ham, cheese and dried fruits from which to choose. It was an interesting experience to say the least. Seems the only tea that is served in Paris is Early Grey, and I dislike it intensely. It makes me feel like I am drinking a cup of perfume! Couldn’t wait to get home and have a proper cup of tea. There was only one negative aspect to our stay in this hotel - there were no tea or coffee making facilities in our room. This really is a must, and I’d even brought some tea bags and coffee. We don’t know if this is something that’s common across Paris or perhaps it was just in the Hotel Design. Having said that, we loved the hotel and would highly recommend it to anybody intending to visit Paris. Check-out is mid-day and they locked our bags away for us until we were ready to collect them before travelling to the airport in the early evening. We will definitely stay here when we come back to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#170 of 1,802 in Paris
983 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#339 of 1,802 in Paris
1,078 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#141 of 1,802 in Paris
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#176 of 1,802 in Paris
903 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,802 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#323 of 1,802 in Paris
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Property: Hotel Design Sorbonne
Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#256 Business Hotel in Paris
#312 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing