We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service before & during stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #282 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I originally booked this hotel for a January trip but had to postpone and even though my reservation was supposed to be non-refundable, they were extremely gracious by allowing me to use the entire credit towards my rescheduled visit.

I was warmly greeted on arrival and every staff member I came into contact with was friendly, even the late night clerk. The room was small but typical of central Paris and very clean and stylish. Bathroom was very small with a miniature sink and shower but the water pressure was great. I had a great view of the Sorbonne across the street. The mac computer/TV is great if you don't travel with a laptop.

The only negative was that 1 day I needed to return to the room at 3pm to do some work and my room hadn't been cleaned. By the time I left the room again, the housekeeper had left for the day. Not really a big deal for me but may be for others.

They offer half price breakfast on your first morning which I took advantage of & it was above average in quality and choice. They had mini frying pans where you could cook your own eggs and also had an attendant use the same pans to make crepes as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelnyc60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with nicely furnished rooms. Rooms are kind of small but from what I understand is par for the course.

Didn't like the breakfast and internet was very slow but service was good and room was very clean albeit small.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fazlul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Design de la Sorbonne. We got an upgraded room on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the Sorbonne. The windows opened wide, allowing for fresh air and a clearer view of the tarp-covered Pantheon (under construction). Noise was not a problem at all, and the curtains completely blocked the sun, allowing for a good night's sleep. Be aware that the elevator is small--it holds 2-3 with no luggage, so be ready for a tight squeeze or to climb the stairs to your room.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and all spoke great English. We got to the hotel almost 4 hours early and they will willing and able to accommodate an early check in (we did give them previous notice that we would be arriving early, but did not expect that they would be able to get us into a room so quickly).

We booked through Facebook and therefore got a good rate with breakfast included. The breakfast was wonderful. You could either have food cooked to order or select from a small buffet. We had crepes, cereal, cheese, meats, yogurt, baked goods, and eggs available every morning.

The room, and especially the bathroom, was tiny. However, it was clean, very modern and well appointed with a desktop computer/TV (and free wi-fi for laptops). Our bed was comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room nice and cool. And the water pressure in the shower was excellent; however, the shower knob placement was less than ideal, as I consistently accidentally knocked it to scalding hot every time I lathered up. That said, a great bonus was that the shower was COMPLETELY enclosed rather than a half glass wall. The toilet was situated in a small niche that would be a tight squeeze for larger people, but it worked fine for us. The bathroom did have a bit of a mildew-like smell, but it went away if you left the bathroom door open when not in use.

The hotel location was wonderful for us--right around the corner from Luxembourg Gardens and the Pantheon and a 10-15 minute walk to Notre Dame. The 5th can be quite touristy, but the hotel is tucked away a bit in a non-touristy space. There are restaurants, shops, and a number of metro stations within easy walking distance.

I would give this hotel 4.5 stars if possible, but the small room size (fairly common in France from what I understand) keeps it from being a 5. All in all, I'd definitely recommend this hotel without reservations.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 53. It was small, but it had a wonderful view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We greatly enjoyed this place right across alley from Sorbonne and within a short walk of countless restaurants, Luxembourg Gardens, Pantheon, Notre Dame, etc. Kind and helpful service. Excellent breakfast. Rooms were small but well appointed--the two adjoining rooms worked out well for our family of four. Also liked the art in the halls--nice touch. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFour2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great concept and great staff but Poor results. paid extra for a larger room but was shocked with the size. barely had room to move. The bathroom was too small to close the door. The design and availability of the i-machine is cool but at this price range I have stayed in better places.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zalthawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent lication near the Sorbonne and Luxembourg RER. Deluxe room was fine although not very big. Breakfast was better than in many small hotels but one is expected to fry ones own eggs. Friendly and helpful front desk.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank touringuy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and the location was perfect. We felt safe walking around at night. Room and bathroom are very small, but you don't spend much time in the room. Walking distance to Notre Dame, Luxembourg gardens, and the Louvre. Metro stations very close. There are tons of shops and restaurants around!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Wabbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#475 of 1,805 in Paris
601 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#72 of 1,805 in Paris
1,211 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#228 of 1,805 in Paris
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#185 of 1,805 in Paris
970 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#592 of 1,805 in Paris
535 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#263 of 1,805 in Paris
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £93 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing