We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located. Deco is amazing. Nice service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel le Notre Dame
Ranked #250 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very well located. Deco is amazing. Nice service.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was there for a couple of days and really enjoyed my stay. The area is vibrant and being so close to Notre Dame is amazing. Nice service for sure and the design of the hotel made by Christian Lacroix is stunning. Rooms are small but very cosy.

Also I needed to iron a few stuff and asked to the reception desk for an iron board and its iron. For such a pricey hotel the iron board should look good. It was smashed and the fabric was torn apart. Not a deal breaker but if I was a manager in that hotel I would be ashamed!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on Notre Dame must be noisy! (mine was on the other side... the backyard is not ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simorar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Franck S,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
It was nice to meet you.
We are deligheted to notice you took advantage of the situation and the romantic atmosphere as well as our services. Thank you for your explanation about the iron board and the iron. We will follow your advice and make necessary.
See you soon in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    299
    98
    13
    12
See reviews for
108
548
59
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel has a quirky, bohemian atmosphere with exotic and sultry colours and unconventional decor. It is very atmospheric and our double room was nicely appointed with a fabulous view over the Seine towards the close by Notre Dame. There is a subway station within 10 meters that links direct to Gard Du Nord so was very convenient for the Eurostar connection.

We didn't take any meals in the hotel as the picturesque backstreets around the hotel provide so much choice that we didn't feel the need. The staff, however, were charming and very helpful.

This was a perfect choice for a romantic getaway location that had plenty to do and see close by and also provided a convenient base for explorations further afield.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simorar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello Martin W,
Thanks for your review about our hotel.
We were delighted to meet you !
We are happy that you seem to love the romantic design signed by Christian Lacroix !
And yes with the latin quarter around, you can easily take your lunch or have dinner around !
See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Quick summary: typically small room in a renovated building, but clean and comfortable. Excellent location for seeing Paris, restaurants, shops. Some rooms have great view of Notre Dame and the Seine.

My review is based on what I expect of a good price/value room in an expensive city. This is not the Ritz, but it is a comfortable stay in a very good location.

My husband and I stayed in room 25 for 5 nights. The twin beds are pushed together to make a king, but very comfortable. The "courtyard view" is of the hotel's HVAC, but made for a quiet room. Also: the HVAC works very well -- responsive and quiet. The river-view rooms have gorgeous view of Notre Dame and the islands, but may be a little noisier.

The bathroom is larger than I often find in similar older, renovated hotels, with a good tub/shower, sink, and counter area for toiletries.

The amenities include robe/slippers, very good sized in-room safe.

Free wifi works very well.

Tiny closet with 3 small drawers. Plan on working out of your suitcase for some items.

Excellent location for sightseeing, metro access, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Excellent housekeeping.

Friendly, professional, helpful service that speaks English well.

Nice sunny lounge and breakfast area on the first (one up from ground) floor with a view of Notre Dame and the islands. Formule breakfast of 3 good bread/pastries, hot beverage, and juice, was 10 euro.

On arrival, we tried the RER train from Charles de Gaulle airport instead of the usual expensive taxi or driver. This worked out very well, as the RER station is right across from the hotel. If you have tons of luggage, this may be not be best option, but it worked well for us.

But to give the clearest picture, there are some things to consider:

1. The lobby is up a steep slight of stairs, no elevator until you get to that level - not possible for those with mobility issues. You may be able to call for help with luggage with an intercom.

2. Only one key card per room (and that runs the power in the room -- increasingly common.) Okay, but what if the two people are doing different things that day, and in the room at different times? The hotel could not accommodate us with a duplicate.

3. The room is more cramped than it should be. You cannot sit at the desk unless you sit on the bed -- no room for a desk chair, even though there is a chair and a hassock in the room. Re-think room 25.

4. I love Christian LaCroix for clothing and costumes he's done lately for the arts, but the loud mix of designs is not attractive. It looks like a talented person was shown a warehouse of remnants and asked to do his best. Any of the staff could have done a better job. (black/white tile print AND florals AND pony print AND paving stone print in the rug AND a portrait??!!??)

5. As usual in recent design trends, the duvet is too warm, and there are no towel bars in the bathroom for used towels. We removed the duvet from its cover, and used the cover as a top sheet rather than crank up the AC. The used towels were tossed "wherever" or on the backs of chairs.

6. I know Paris is expensive, but I'd still check other places for price/value. The price wasn't too bad, but it encourages you to keep looking. But again, great location!

Room Tip: Courtyard view if you want quiet; river/quai side if you want a great view of Notre Dame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simorar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Mme_X

Thanks a lot for your well argumented review.
We were delighted to meet you.
Yes our situation is perfect to dive in the romantic atmosphere of the Notre Dame surrounding and the left bank of Seine and its docks. You can take advantage from the Historical sites (Notre Dame, île de la Cité, Le Louvre) as well as the lively streets and places of Quartier Latin and Saint-Germain.
Christian Lacroix made a incredible artistic work with our ancient building structure and the result is of course as arty as the other works of the designer. But of course it cannot please the whole public !
We hope to see you again in France!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are wrapping up our last night the Hotel le Notre Dame and we have had a great stay! The hotel is in a very good location for us being first timers to Paris- our room has a view of Notre Dame, its walking distance to Luxembourg Gardens, Saint Germain, the Marais, both islands, and lots more. Everyone has been so helpful. They got us our museum tickets, booked our shuttle to the airport, gave directions and restaurant recommendations and have been very friendly over all. They all speak English, which is nice since our French is lacking. They even remembered my husband's drink order at the little bar. Room is a very good size and it nicely updated. We had an awesome stay!

A couple things to know:
Area is very busy- right in the Latin Quarter so it can be quite noisy, but its fun
No shower in our room- bath tub only
Views on the Quai Saint-Michel side are amazing!
Breakfast is somewhat limited, which is no biggie with how much there is around
Complimentary Wi-Fi with great speed and reliability
Lift is very small so expect to make a couple trips if you have a ton of luggage (like we did)
Very friendly staff!

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room on the front of the hotel, the Quai Saint-Michel side to get a view of Notre Dame
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Src25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simorar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Src25,
Thank you for your review.
It was nice to meet you during your stay amongst us !
We are very pleased that you were satisfied by our services.
It's great if you took advantage of your stay in our boutique-hotel and our perfect situation to discover Paris. Yes, the whole historic city is at your feet in Le Notre Dame Hotel ! You can explore by foot Latin Quarter, île de la Cité as well as le Louvre, Saint-Germain, etc. In a few minutes by foot you are in all the mythic places of Paris !
See you very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at Le Notre Dame in mid-June. The view was great, we had a corner room on the 3rd floor, looking at both the Seine and Notre Dame. The location was extremely convenient to the metro, as well as many attractions, and, of course, Notre Dame! The staff was very accommodating and professional and luckily spoke better English than I did French. The room was small, as was the bathroom, but immaculately clean with plenty of pillows and towels and cozy bathrobes. The decor was not to my taste but fun in its own way. My only problem with the hotel was the traffic noise. Cars, trucks, scooters and emergency vehicles provided a steady stream of noise all night and we could clearly hear people walking by talking loudly into the early hours. If you're used to traffic noise at home it probably wouldn't bother you, but we live in a very quiet place so had a sleepless night. I felt the room was somewhat overpriced, although you are paying for the location and view.

Room Tip: Maybe a top floor room would have less traffic noise; 3rd floor was very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishbera2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simorar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear fishberg 2011,
Thanks so much for your review.
yes that's true that there are many attractions around.
Historical sites like Notre -Dame, Le Louvre, les Tuileries, l'île de la Cité, la Sainte Chapelle are to discover very easily by foot.
And only in a few minutes you can explore the famous café and restaurants of Quartier Latin.
Because of our exceptional situation, the surroundings are lively and can be a little noisy in springtime and summertime.
But be assured that we do make special efforts to reduce its effets on your nights with double glazed windows etc.
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you want to have a view of the Seine and of Notre Dame, this is the place. Location is really great - very close to metro and across the rive from Notre Dame. Tons of restaurants and shops all around as well. The hotel staff - especially Julie - were great too. Very nice and helpful. However the rooms were kind of odd. VERY funky decor - like rock'n'roll paris in the 60's or something. That was actually fun, but the rooms were TEENY TINY and the bathrooms were as well. You either get a tub OR a shower, not both, and the shower sprays all over the bathroom and floods the floor so it's just really cumbersome when you're trying to not get everything wet! It started to get really muggy when we were there and we turned on the A/C, but it barely worked. There are also no fridges in the rooms, which i wished we had. But there is an elevator luckily so we didn't have to drag our bags up the 5 super steep windy flights of stairs. Top floor rooms are the smallest, but the quietist. The room doors SLAM shut and the walls are thin, so we had to move to the top floor. Once we did that, it was pretty quiet. Overall a cute hotel, but the breakfast was very minimal for the 10 euro. Not sure we'd stay here again because we just thought the room wasn't that great for the price.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the quietest but the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simorar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello ESC3,
Thank you for your nice review about our hotel.
We are sorry to understand that noone warned you about the special design of our rooms and the unique and romantic atmosphere of our more than four centuries old boutique hotel !
Yes our « funky » or « rock'n roll » design is also very inspired by the french baroque period and signed by the legendary french designer Christian Lacroix.
But, indeed, we choose a renovation that preserved the historical original building adn, by the way, its « cachet ».
So, in our eccentric structure, it was a true challenge to respect standards of 3*** NL Hotel without distorting the building.
That's the reason why each room is different and is arranged in a different way, dealing with the originality of the building, and why shower in the bathrooms are « italian » ones.
So, yes, you have to be careful when you take a shower because the deluge can arrive easily.
We hope you found, like we do, a special charm to our boutique-hotel ! See you soon in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife wanted dinner in Paris for her 60th birthday, so we opted for a hotel in a good poistion and which had good reviews. We like the Latin Quartile too. Overall a little bit pricey but you are in Paris and in the end it balanced up as very much the right place to stay, so just ticked the box value for money. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simorar, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Keith C,
We were delighted to meet you !
You made a good choice when you booked in Le Notre Dame Hotel !
Our hotel suits very well to honey moon trip, wedding anniversary, birthday presents and so on.
Because of our perfect location in historical part of Paris and because of the romantic atmosphere of our boutique hotel.
And the, all Paris is at your feet !
See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,801 in Paris
1,218 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#247 of 1,801 in Paris
672 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#191 of 1,801 in Paris
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
#323 of 1,801 in Paris
897 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#595 of 1,801 in Paris
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Notre Dame

Property: Hotel le Notre Dame
Address: 1 quai Saint-Michel | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in Paris
#171 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#180 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Notre Dame 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Notre Dame Paris
Le Notre Dame Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing