We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'Big Birthday' Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #271 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A 'Big Birthday' Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at Le Royal to celebrate my 60th birthday, travelling by Eurostar. The hotel was very comfortable, not at all cramped, and although the room overlooked the boulevard, there was no appreciable traffic noise. Staff were courteous and helpful and speak good English, and service was excellent. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Paris, close to Vavin Metro station (Line4), and if you are a walker, you can be at Notre Dame in about half an hour. The hotel offers a brochure of suggested restaurants within easy reach, which was useful (would recommend Aux Deux Oliviers at 22 rue Vaugirard, just the other side of the Jardin du Luxembourg, near the Senat building, and there is also a good selection of restaurants close to the hotel). We bought metro tickets at the Gare du Nord on arrival - the queue was not particularly long. There is a pharmacy just up the road from the hotel. I found other reviewers' comments helpful in making my choice, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your positive feedback about the Hotel and the district. We are glad to read you liked it very much. Don't hesitate to reach us next time if you want to come back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    255
    35
    17
    2
See reviews for
101
313
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great little hotel near to two different Metro stations so very convenient for tourists. In fact it's only walking distance from Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter. We had a room on the 4th floor on the street side, near the lift. Neither of those things were an issue. The bathroom was clean and spacious and toiletries were replenished daily. The fridge was in fact a mini bar but it had room for us to store butter and cheese for our packed lunches. The area had loads of restaurants and bars and there is a supermarket just around the corner. Breakfast was fine, nothing exciting but enough choice and a nice coffee machine. Wifi was free and always available. Everything was kept well stocked and we didn't experience the delays and service issues mentioned by other posters. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your previous feedback. It's good to see you enjoyed the hotel and the district.
Don't forget to check-out our promotional rates on Deluxe rooms in our website most of them are facing to Boulevard Raspail and you can have very attractive rates coming this summer.
We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston,UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a Boutique of retro charm at the heart of the left bank. Nice breakfast, snug and stylish rooms and good noise insulation. Try for a front room overlooking Blvd. Raspail for a true taste of Rive Gauche. If walking, 35 mins from Notre Dame and 45- 50 mins from Eiffel Tower .
A hotel that punches above its weight in a stunning quintessentially Parisian location.

Room Tip: Go for a front room. Not as noisy as you would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

We see that you truly appreciated your stay in Le Royal.
Thank you again for your good feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visited Paris and stayed at this hotel, very busy although not noisy, nice furnishings and rooms lovely bathroom,decent breakfast. Went to Disneneyland for a day while we were here by train.would recommend this hotel and stay here again if visiting Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oftentravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your very lovely feedback concerning our hotel.
This will be with pleasure we will have you back for your future stay. Don't forget to check out our promotional rates in our website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely old building, we had a twin room for my daughters 21st birthday, the breakfast buffet was plentiful, couches in the lounge reception to sit and read, lovely furnishings, when I went luckily there was a computer to use in the reception.
All in all lovely clean hotel, the desk staff all spoke english and were very helpful.
As with all over paris there are metros stations all close by.

Room Tip: We stayed in room overlooking the main street, the noise wasn't an issue but if you want quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley_ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sirs,


Thank you very much for your very positive feedback, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope we'll see you again very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over Easter at the Hotel Le Royal. This is our third trip to Paris, third hotel, so here are my thoughts..
Positives:
- Largest room we have had in Paris (Remember they are all fairly small, but that is the charm of Paris)
- Fridge in room
- Free tea and coffee in reception all day
- Free breakfast
- Lovely chap work works behind reception, we arrived early and there was no trouble in looking after us, allowing us to check in early
- great location, near metro, both line 4 and line 6
- lovely little restaurants around
- little supermarket around the corner, handy is you want to pick up a few things
- nicely decorated hotel
- clean rooms
Negatives
- breakfast was a bit hit and miss, very busy and some days items were out and others not, so you have to ask for something which proved to be quite difficult as staff were very hard to find in the breakfast room. To get round this we got to breakfast at 7:30 and that was fine, but if you leave it for another 30 minutes it will be busy and they are not the quickest to clear tables
- I found the lady working on reception to be quite rude. on the occasion I asked for the hot water to be topped up for a cup of tea as it was cold she was quite rude and it appeared to be a big ask for some fresh hot water

I would stay here again, the best hotel we have stayed at in Paris. I would just have breakfast early everyday, which gives you more time out and about to be honest so works well.

A mix of cultures staying which was nice.

Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for you good feedback about our hotel we are pleased to read that you liked the hotel and would come back again.
We are deeply sorry you didn't like the service for breakfast, nevertheless we improved it a few months ago and are still working on it. More products are available in our buffet than it was before.
We try to improve our service as much as we can everyday even if the hotel is fully booked.
We hope to see you very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a nice trip to Paris with my partner! we couldn't ask for anything better! the rooms were very clean, smart and have everything you need! couldn't believe how nice and spacious the bathroom was! would stay again! very happy for a 3 star. The only negative i would state is breakfast. Its nice quality food, however service is very slow during busy times, having to wait for clean plates and tables to be cleared, maybe they could do with an extra pair of hands during breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sirs,


First of all thank you very much for your positive feedback about our hotel. We are glad to see you had a nice stay.
Nevertheless you said our service for breakfast was pretty slow and we are deeply sorry for this inconvenience. We hope this won't prevent you not to come back next time. we hope to see you again very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#270 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#361 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Property: Hotel Le Royal
Address: 212 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#217 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#292 Family Hotel in Paris
#334 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Royal - Rive gauche" hotel is located in the heart of Paris, nearby the Luxembourg garden, the Saint-Germain quarter and at less than ten minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station. The << Royal - Rive gauche>> hotel offers you a new way of enjoying welcome and hospitality in Paris It is a charming hotel that combines contemporary interior and neo-classic style, with an unique and distinctive atmosphere. The common places welcome the customers in a dimension where comfort, restful ambience and service begin now. The rooms are decorated with a contemporary style, bright and stimulating colors. The good quality bedding with mattress toppers, double glazing sounds proof, flatscreen TV, safety box, minibars and amenities : comfort is essential at "Le Royal - Rive gauche" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing