We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in an lovely area.”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #242 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bradworthy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in an lovely area.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Le Royal is a lovely hotel in the Montparnasse area.When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a deluxe room, the man on reception was very helpful and spoke good English. When we got to our room we found a large room with a lovely bathroom,we had been told that the rooms in hotels in Paris were small this one was not.The breakfast was a self service continental breakfast which was nice and easy.The hotel had free wifi.The only downside was that they was no coffee facilities in the room but there was a free coffee machine downstairs. we would definitely stay here again if we were in Paris.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 13 which overlooked Boulevard Raspail which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for this feedback about the hotel. It's always a pleasure to read people's comments after their stay so we can improve our services if needed. We are glad to see that you liked your upgrade into one of our Deluxe Room. This is something we usually do, when our hotel has enough rooms available we do upgrade them. This will be a pleasure to have you again in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    260
    36
    17
    2
See reviews for
105
320
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at Le Royal to celebrate my 60th birthday, travelling by Eurostar. The hotel was very comfortable, not at all cramped, and although the room overlooked the boulevard, there was no appreciable traffic noise. Staff were courteous and helpful and speak good English, and service was excellent. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Paris, close to Vavin Metro station (Line4), and if you are a walker, you can be at Notre Dame in about half an hour. The hotel offers a brochure of suggested restaurants within easy reach, which was useful (would recommend Aux Deux Oliviers at 22 rue Vaugirard, just the other side of the Jardin du Luxembourg, near the Senat building, and there is also a good selection of restaurants close to the hotel). We bought metro tickets at the Gare du Nord on arrival - the queue was not particularly long. There is a pharmacy just up the road from the hotel. I found other reviewers' comments helpful in making my choice, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your positive feedback about the Hotel and the district. We are glad to read you liked it very much. Don't hesitate to reach us next time if you want to come back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great little hotel near to two different Metro stations so very convenient for tourists. In fact it's only walking distance from Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter. We had a room on the 4th floor on the street side, near the lift. Neither of those things were an issue. The bathroom was clean and spacious and toiletries were replenished daily. The fridge was in fact a mini bar but it had room for us to store butter and cheese for our packed lunches. The area had loads of restaurants and bars and there is a supermarket just around the corner. Breakfast was fine, nothing exciting but enough choice and a nice coffee machine. Wifi was free and always available. Everything was kept well stocked and we didn't experience the delays and service issues mentioned by other posters. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your previous feedback. It's good to see you enjoyed the hotel and the district.
Don't forget to check-out our promotional rates on Deluxe rooms in our website most of them are facing to Boulevard Raspail and you can have very attractive rates coming this summer.
We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston,UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a Boutique of retro charm at the heart of the left bank. Nice breakfast, snug and stylish rooms and good noise insulation. Try for a front room overlooking Blvd. Raspail for a true taste of Rive Gauche. If walking, 35 mins from Notre Dame and 45- 50 mins from Eiffel Tower .
A hotel that punches above its weight in a stunning quintessentially Parisian location.

Room Tip: Go for a front room. Not as noisy as you would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

We see that you truly appreciated your stay in Le Royal.
Thank you again for your good feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visited Paris and stayed at this hotel, very busy although not noisy, nice furnishings and rooms lovely bathroom,decent breakfast. Went to Disneneyland for a day while we were here by train.would recommend this hotel and stay here again if visiting Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oftentravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your very lovely feedback concerning our hotel.
This will be with pleasure we will have you back for your future stay. Don't forget to check out our promotional rates in our website!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely old building, we had a twin room for my daughters 21st birthday, the breakfast buffet was plentiful, couches in the lounge reception to sit and read, lovely furnishings, when I went luckily there was a computer to use in the reception.
All in all lovely clean hotel, the desk staff all spoke english and were very helpful.
As with all over paris there are metros stations all close by.

Room Tip: We stayed in room overlooking the main street, the noise wasn't an issue but if you want quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley_ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sirs,


Thank you very much for your very positive feedback, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope we'll see you again very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over Easter at the Hotel Le Royal. This is our third trip to Paris, third hotel, so here are my thoughts..
Positives:
- Largest room we have had in Paris (Remember they are all fairly small, but that is the charm of Paris)
- Fridge in room
- Free tea and coffee in reception all day
- Free breakfast
- Lovely chap work works behind reception, we arrived early and there was no trouble in looking after us, allowing us to check in early
- great location, near metro, both line 4 and line 6
- lovely little restaurants around
- little supermarket around the corner, handy is you want to pick up a few things
- nicely decorated hotel
- clean rooms
Negatives
- breakfast was a bit hit and miss, very busy and some days items were out and others not, so you have to ask for something which proved to be quite difficult as staff were very hard to find in the breakfast room. To get round this we got to breakfast at 7:30 and that was fine, but if you leave it for another 30 minutes it will be busy and they are not the quickest to clear tables
- I found the lady working on reception to be quite rude. on the occasion I asked for the hot water to be topped up for a cup of tea as it was cold she was quite rude and it appeared to be a big ask for some fresh hot water

I would stay here again, the best hotel we have stayed at in Paris. I would just have breakfast early everyday, which gives you more time out and about to be honest so works well.

A mix of cultures staying which was nice.

Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for you good feedback about our hotel we are pleased to read that you liked the hotel and would come back again.
We are deeply sorry you didn't like the service for breakfast, nevertheless we improved it a few months ago and are still working on it. More products are available in our buffet than it was before.
We try to improve our service as much as we can everyday even if the hotel is fully booked.
We hope to see you very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#261 of 1,801 in Paris
1,803 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#370 of 1,801 in Paris
788 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#69 of 1,801 in Paris
790 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
#587 of 1,801 in Paris
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Property: Hotel Le Royal
Address: 212 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#291 Family Hotel in Paris
#334 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Royal - Rive gauche" hotel is located in the heart of Paris, nearby the Luxembourg garden, the Saint-Germain quarter and at less than ten minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station. The> hotel offers you a new way of enjoying welcome and hospitality in Paris It is a charming hotel that combines contemporary interior and neo-classic style, with an unique and distinctive atmosphere. The common places welcome the customers in a dimension where comfort, restful ambience and service begin now. The rooms are decorated with a contemporary style, bright and stimulating colors. The good quality bedding with mattress toppers, double glazing sounds proof, flatscreen TV, safety box, minibars and amenities : comfort is essential at "Le Royal - Rive gauche" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing