We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but...”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #271 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but...”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014. The location was fantastic and the receptionists were polite and helpful. Unfortunately we could not get wifi in our rooms for our entire stay as they were having problems with it. For the price we paid I would expect the hotel to have this as a priority and get it fixed within 1 or 2 days max. Only other thing I can recommend is to have some rubber stoppers between the 2 sliding wardrobe doors as the bang can be very loud and heard from other rooms. Would have given 4 stars if not for the lack of urgency to have the wifi repaired

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your previous feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay very much.
Nevertheless we are sorry for the WIFI that was not working in your room. It's true that we had a disagreement but our technician could not fixed it as soon as we wanted to. Our team take care about every problem very seriously. We hope this disagreement won't prevent you to come to the hotel next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    261
    36
    17
    2
See reviews for
105
320
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

During my recent trip to London, my aunt treated a friend and I to two nights in Paris. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the view from our room was magical! Breakfast was excellent! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaigeDonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your previous feedback. We would be glad to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days at the end of April for my birthday, as soon as we arrived the staff member at reception was quick to check us in & upgraded our room as it was my birthday! The hotel is decorated beautifully & is very welcoming. All members of staff on the reception were very helpful & friendly! Our room was spacious with a comfy big bed & a view of the street, the bathroom had a good shower too! Housekeepers came everyday & did a good job. I can't comment on breakfast as we chose to go out instead. The hotel is in a good location for many shops & restaurants, a cinema & also Montparnasse tower, it is also a couple of minutes walk from 2/3 metro stops. I would recommend this hotel to anybody as it's in a great area, beautiful & clean and staff were extremely helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki2194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your very positive comment about our staff and the hotel. This is always a pleasure to see our work rewarded by good comments.
We hope to see you again in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Le Royal for 3 nights whilst celebrating our wedding anniversary. We had a front facing room on the sixth floor, the room was very compact but well laid out and comfortable. The hotel is small and the staff are very helpful and friendly, there was complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge area and we made use of this when we returned to the hotel each evening. We travelled to Paris on the Eurostar and the connection from Gare du Nord was very simple as the hotel is situated on the same metro line. There is a choice of two metro stations close by and we found this the perfect location for strolling (lots of bars and restaurants close by) or as a starting point for exploring the city. Breakfast is continental and relatively basic but that suited us perfectly. I would recommend this hotel for a short break in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our hotel.
We hope to see you again when you'll come back in Paris. Don't forget to check-out our promotional rates in our websites :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradworthy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Le Royal is a lovely hotel in the Montparnasse area.When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a deluxe room, the man on reception was very helpful and spoke good English. When we got to our room we found a large room with a lovely bathroom,we had been told that the rooms in hotels in Paris were small this one was not.The breakfast was a self service continental breakfast which was nice and easy.The hotel had free wifi.The only downside was that they was no coffee facilities in the room but there was a free coffee machine downstairs. we would definitely stay here again if we were in Paris.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 13 which overlooked Boulevard Raspail which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for this feedback about the hotel. It's always a pleasure to read people's comments after their stay so we can improve our services if needed. We are glad to see that you liked your upgrade into one of our Deluxe Room. This is something we usually do, when our hotel has enough rooms available we do upgrade them. This will be a pleasure to have you again in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at Le Royal to celebrate my 60th birthday, travelling by Eurostar. The hotel was very comfortable, not at all cramped, and although the room overlooked the boulevard, there was no appreciable traffic noise. Staff were courteous and helpful and speak good English, and service was excellent. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Paris, close to Vavin Metro station (Line4), and if you are a walker, you can be at Notre Dame in about half an hour. The hotel offers a brochure of suggested restaurants within easy reach, which was useful (would recommend Aux Deux Oliviers at 22 rue Vaugirard, just the other side of the Jardin du Luxembourg, near the Senat building, and there is also a good selection of restaurants close to the hotel). We bought metro tickets at the Gare du Nord on arrival - the queue was not particularly long. There is a pharmacy just up the road from the hotel. I found other reviewers' comments helpful in making my choice, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your positive feedback about the Hotel and the district. We are glad to read you liked it very much. Don't hesitate to reach us next time if you want to come back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great little hotel near to two different Metro stations so very convenient for tourists. In fact it's only walking distance from Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter. We had a room on the 4th floor on the street side, near the lift. Neither of those things were an issue. The bathroom was clean and spacious and toiletries were replenished daily. The fridge was in fact a mini bar but it had room for us to store butter and cheese for our packed lunches. The area had loads of restaurants and bars and there is a supermarket just around the corner. Breakfast was fine, nothing exciting but enough choice and a nice coffee machine. Wifi was free and always available. Everything was kept well stocked and we didn't experience the delays and service issues mentioned by other posters. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouassini h, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your previous feedback. It's good to see you enjoyed the hotel and the district.
Don't forget to check-out our promotional rates on Deluxe rooms in our website most of them are facing to Boulevard Raspail and you can have very attractive rates coming this summer.
We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#257 of 1,801 in Paris
1,804 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#69 of 1,801 in Paris
790 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#367 of 1,801 in Paris
788 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Property: Hotel Le Royal
Address: 212 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#291 Family Hotel in Paris
#334 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Royal - Rive gauche" hotel is located in the heart of Paris, nearby the Luxembourg garden, the Saint-Germain quarter and at less than ten minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station. The> hotel offers you a new way of enjoying welcome and hospitality in Paris It is a charming hotel that combines contemporary interior and neo-classic style, with an unique and distinctive atmosphere. The common places welcome the customers in a dimension where comfort, restful ambience and service begin now. The rooms are decorated with a contemporary style, bright and stimulating colors. The good quality bedding with mattress toppers, double glazing sounds proof, flatscreen TV, safety box, minibars and amenities : comfort is essential at "Le Royal - Rive gauche" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing