We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Garance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garance
Ranked #1,183 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights and the room was very cozy. We liked that the mattress was firm and the showerhead was powerful. They also had madeleines in the room with the tea/coffee, which were very tasty and a nice touch. The hotel is very close to Les Gobelins and the Pantheon. All in all, good stay and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinokaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    59
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
44
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I took a group of 6 sixth year pupils to visit Paris for three nights. I had stayed in this hotel before the renovations and chose to go back because of the great location, quite lively but not noisy, with cafes etc on the door stop and yards from Les Gobelins metro station. I could not believe the transformation of the hotel. It is now comfortable, modern with a lovely bathroom and fittings. We had a balcony (6th floor) and a kettle with madeleines brought every day. The pupils loved the free wifi in the lounge and the fact that they could meet up there and chat and watch T V. The bedrooms also had wall mounted flat screen TVs. The staff were also amazing - friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back. Maybe without pupils the next time. I have been to Paris many many times but really love this area and hotel.

Room Tip: We liked room 63. It was on the top floor with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I first went to this hotel more than twenty years ago when it was called Acacias Gobelins. It became Carofftel and now, completely renovated, Garance. Besides being within easy reach - on foot as well as by public transport - of most major Paris landmarks, we soon felt very much at home in room 32, which became, as time went by, "our" room. There have been many changes, culminating in the thorough renovations which we have just witnessed. Throughout, especially at the difficult times when workmen were everywhere, one thing never changed : the unfailing efficiency,friendliness, availability and sheer good humour of all the staff. We always feel that we are being "looked after", and very well too. The tone had been set by Christine Caroff ; the new management has carried on seamlessly. The smiling presence of Sophia, the courtesy of all the front desk staff, the cordiality of monsieur Portalier make everyone welcome. We really feel that we go to "our home in Paris " ! I recommend strongly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almjgae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belém Pará Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel Garance is the former hotel Carofftel, where I'm staying in Paris since 1999. I've always been very fond of this hotel and the considerate service of Mrs Christine Caroff. Now all retired and with new administration is even better. Excellent cost benefit. Strongly recommend!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Avenue Gobelins are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaPA-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great clean renovated room with lovely design, brand new equipment and a small balcon. Sufficient spacious for three persons, comfortable beds. Spacious bathroom with great design. Great air condition. Good isolation from the road, you dont hear traffic noice. Every day cleaning. Staff spoke English and they were very helpful and friendly, specially Sophia. Thanks. Nice hotel, i will recommend but it is quite expensive.The location is away from the centre. You must travel about 15 minutes with the bus or 10 minutes with the metro to acess the major sights of Paris and tourist sites. The hotel is under rennovation now at the 1st floor and after at the entrance. The noise of the workmens and the drills starts before 9 in the morning. If you want to sleep more... forget it. For this reason they kindly propose a discount, one night free from the four nights of my reservation. Thanks for this. The wi-fi did not work well and it is every time unstasble. You must forget that you will have wi-fi. Breakfast available but expencive. We do not try it. At this price the hotel is a little more overestimated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theokal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#681 of 1,801 in Paris
667 reviews
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#504 of 1,801 in Paris
466 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Hotel Saint-Marcel
Hotel Saint-Marcel
#1,106 of 1,801 in Paris
98 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,214 of 1,801 in Paris
218 reviews
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
#954 of 1,801 in Paris
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garance

Property: Hotel Garance
Address: 18 avenue des Gobelins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,183 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garance 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Garance is a new design hotel conveniently located near the historic Latin quarter. This comfortable hotel boasts a chic, elegant decor with different relaxing shades of greys offset with red graphic lines for a vibrant touch. All our rooms have been individually decorated with guests comfort in mind and include top quality bedding, air conditioning and complimentary internet access for a very homely feel. Our dedicated staff will do their utmost to meet your every needs and help make your stay in Paris a very relaxing and comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carofftel Gobelins Paris
Carofftel Gobelins Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing