We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Paris Nord 18eme
Ranked #1,036 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It takes 40 minutes on foot then Metro to central Paris and proved difficult to find at first due to a complex road system. We learned later that buses 153 and 302 ran from Gare du Nord/Porte La Chapelle and stopped fairly close to the hotel although 302 only runs until about 8pm. The neighbourhood was multicultural but not particularly threatening, or maybe we were just oblivious to the dangers! We ate in central Paris on two nights, but as local cafes did not look appetising ate deli in our room on one night brought from the wonderful food shops in Le Marais. The room was large and well equipped for the price in Paris, but despite recent refurbishment was already dilapidated with a chewed up carpet and burned table.
Service was mediocre; the request for a taxi was not met on time despite the request for 5 additional euros booking fee. No soap was provided in the room despite two requests. The room was not made up until past 5 in the afternoon and only after a call to reception. The carpet was not vacuumed during our three day stay. The gratis massage provided on a |Thursday was a pleasant interlude.

In summary; you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fairly similar; although close to very major roads there is little traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

OK, the hotel is not situated in the most beautiful part of Paris and with the Boulevard Périphérique itself, plus the exit for Porte de la Chappelle dominating the surrounding area, it is never going to be. The construction work to extend Metro Line 12 and to build a new tram line didn't help either.
Having read the recent reviews I must admit to having experienced some trepidation about the perils of walking from the Metro to the hotel but our experience was that some of the reports are simply untrue, whilst for others we could have just been lucky.
First the untruths. The walk from the Metro involves crossing several roads, BUT, contrary to what is written by several reviewers, all can be crossed using traffic light controlled zebra crossings (you just have to follow the walking route suggested on the hotel's website. Second whilst, as I have said, the area is not beautiful, it is certainly not filthy, run down and decaying, it is just like many less afffluent suburbs of Paris, and many other cities.
Now the luck. We (6 adults and 2 teenagers) must have walked to and from the hotel from the metro, and vice versa, on about a dozen occasions at different times of the day and up to about 2100 hours in the evening (although not, I admit, late at night). On those walks we did not recognise any prostitutes, any gangs, any drug dealers, any shabby looking swag men (whatever they may be), nor any drunks (although my friend and I had had quite a heavy lunch one day!). All we actually saw were a whole bunch of ordinary people of many races and colours going about their daily business as you would in any mixed society in any big city suburb.
As far as the hotel was concerned it was exactly what you would expect from a newish 3 star Accor Group property - modern, clean, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, good shower. Breakfast, at first sight, seemed a bit disorganised but when you got the hang of it it was fine and certainly plentiful. I have given the hotel a very good overall rating because that is exactly what it was in relation to what it sets out to be as a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Hotel worthy of its 4 star rating. Nice big rooms seperate bathroom and toilet as per all the other reviews. Breakfast is poor though, how hard is it to put out a bowl for the cereal and not just an over sized cup. Hot drinks machine always failing.

The hotel is accessed from the Metro right left past the prostitutes, past all the dodgy gangs, across a 3 lane bypass with no crossing, past the stench of the sewer, past the drug dealer in the car, keep going past the the homeless under the bypass. The hotel has an intercom on for access at all times (I wonder why?)

Room Tip: Would use Novotel again just not this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roblfc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickycurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

The room stank of cigarettes and the hotel wouldn't move us even though we specifically asked for non smoking room. The area was what I would think Afghanistan would look like. Filthy, run down and decaying with some really dodgy people! The room was falling to bits and the linen was filthy. I have nothing positive to say about this hotel. If I could give it minus points I would. Stay away at all costs!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CXR7LRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The room were big and clean, the receptionist were very helpful. The only problem was the location. Although the hotel is 5 minute walk to the metro, there were many shabby looking swag men around. It was very scary especially during night so we had to take a taxi every night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finestradifronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Rooms are spacious and comfortable, suitable for staying with your family. However the location is a problem. Altough it is close to the metro station, it is not a secure place. It is so scary to walk the distance between the hotel and the metro station, especially if late. I don't recommend this hotel because of its location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Novotel Paris 17
Novotel Paris 17
#505 of 1,802 in Paris
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,533 of 1,802 in Paris
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Paris Nord 18eme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Paris Nord 18eme

Address: 1 impasse Marteau, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#458 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Paris Nord 18eme 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 187 inviting 30 m² suites. Enjoy our free unlimited Suitebox service, including hardwired high speed internet, calls to landlines within France, video and music on demand, multimedia area with chat, music, photos and more. 200 m from the metro, 2 km from Montmartre and the centre of Paris. 15 km from Roissy CDG Airport. 24 hr services including Boutique Gourmande refreshments, fitness area, business corner. Bar, free massages on Thursdays, paying parking. Accessible facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Suites Paris Nord 18eme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Paris La Chapelle Hotel Paris
Accor Paris La Chapelle
Suitehotel Porte De La Chapelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing