We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful suburb, well set up hostel”
Review of Le Regent Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Regent Hostel
Ranked #12 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Alice on the staff was super helpful. the well worn wooden spiral staircase is gorgeous. en suite in our 4 bed dorm.

after doing one tourist attraction each morning we browsed our suburb in the afternoon. as well as sacre coeur and the sidewalk artist section, there's brilliant chocolate and other arty shops down the hill around Rue de matyrs

Room Tip: if you like it quieter in the evenings get a higher level room eg our fourth floor was great
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia-Manager, Manager at Le Regent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your nice comment! Our main goal is to make our guests happy and enjoy Paris Thank you for Alice, she was happy to read that she participated actively to it. We hope that you come back soon !!!

Best Regards,
Laëtitia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
There are newer reviews for Le Regent Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hostel was wonderful. The lady behind the counter was helpful, and spoke 3 languages! The staff was extremely professional. Especially understanding when we complained that we couldn't find the place because -get this- there are 2 streets called Rochechouart right next to each other!! One is rue and one is boulevard, but they overlap so if you take the wrong one you are screwed.The unfortunate aspect about the place, that you have to be prepared for, is that you can not check in till 4pm!! Which is most of the day! The upside is that they let you store your bags and I don't know if she was allowed to but she told us we could have the free breakfast and hang out in the nice lounge area until we checked in. But if you had a long flight don't expect to be able to take a nap or shower till the day is almost over. the upsides are that the breakfast is the best I've had in Europe. The room is 20-30 euro to share in October! So I'm glad they stepped up this perk. The staff cleaned all of the breakfast dishes and every part of the hostel to perfection. Our room was only 4 beds with a shower inside which was really nice, with a view of the street and a charming Montmartre plaza. The area is wonderful! Right next to the white "heart" church on a hilltop with a view of the city, and in a beautiful fun part of Paris. But be prepared to walk. The underground metro is a mile away, and the streets are easy to get lost in. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia-Manager, Manager at Le Regent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. As you might have understood our aim is to make our guest happy to stay with us and make their stay unforgettable.

For your next stay, please note that you can ask is you may have a shower if your room is not ready before 4.00 pm. We have sharing showers on the floor and we allowed our guests when they arrive from a short or long trip to have a shower.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon.

Regards,
Laëtitia,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hostel was pretty good, very good location and view.
Of course it's a hostel and not a hotel, so some commodities aren't there.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Clean rooms, free wi-fi :) You can find some free maps on the reception desk. There are guitars to be borrowed for music lovers :D

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

First of all, I always feel like laughing when I read reviews about hoStels full of complaints as they were addressed towards 5 stars hotels!!! Said so, I would say that Regent Hostel was great! Cozy and crowded, yet quiet when it comes to sleep, tidy enough, and perfectly located. We had a twin room with shared bathroom, which was decently clean. However, the best thing surely was the amazing view from our room, right in front of the Sacre Coeur! We knew the hostel had some rooms overlooking the cathedral, yet we did not book any as they were more expensive than our budget. Thus, when we entered our room and found out it enjoyed a breath-taking view, we couldn't be happier! To sum up, an excellent unexpensive accomodation for a wonderful stay in Paris!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cececca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very close to Sacre-cour and two metro stations. Rooms are quite small, but if you are going to be in room just for the night, it doesn't matter. We were able to keep our luggage in locker room pre and post checkout. That was a HUGE relief! Breakfast is simple and nice. Free wi-fi, foosball table, books, maps etc. And a very happening place.

Room Tip: We were 4 and chose a room for 4. Turned out to be perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iturhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the moment I arrived early morning at Anvers metro (literally metres from Le Regent), everything fell into place. My room had been upgraded for no extra cost, I was able to leave my backpack in a secure, key-carded room until official check in time (4pm - only a downside if your immediate plan was to fall unconscious upon arrival, in which case ... why are you in Paris?) and the staff were friendly and helpful.

I'm going to list the great things about this hostel and it's location:

It's in the heart of Gare du Nord, with Moulin Rouge an easy walk down the Boulevard plus there is an excellent supermarket on the same side of the street just after the music shop. It's nice to have the option, and like most European supermarkets it's licenced, so every manner of spirit, beer and wine is available for a fraction of the usual bar price if you're on a budget.

The hostel has a LIFT!! yes, right in the foyer ... admittedly, it'll only fit a couple of people (or one person and their pack), but again - how cool is that? I was on the 4th floor - there are 5 - and just that little extra ease was appreciated!

The rooms are ENSUITE with a bath and it's a regular sized bathroom like you'd expect in your own home (unless you're Donald Trump, in which case you'd be clearly disappointed, but whatever ...)

The view of the Boulevard was lovely, the windows are large and let in plenty of light, but are also double curtained so you can maintain some sort of darkness in daylight hours if you want it! I also found my room to be quiet, though I did have a heavy night out and slept like a log. For all I know, there may have been a brass band playing next door ...

Breakfast is all you can eat, provided that you're into bread and croissants. They also provide unlimited tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juice + the usual toppings such as honey, butter et al ... all very pleasant and there wasn't anything I ate that I didn't go back for seconds (or mayhap, thirds)

Checkout is at 11am (very civilized!) and breakfast runs from 7:30 til 10am ... again, ticking all the boxes there.

And to top it all off, you are allowed to keep your pack/luggage in another dedicated and secure room until you wish to pick it up later that day (or evening - the deadline is midnight.) Given that I was leaving Paris at 9:30pm, this was a godsend. I realise that it is not uncommon, but neither is it guaranteed - very helpful!

ADDITIONAL: There are free public toilet facilities next to the Anvers metro exit (those cool modern ones that wash and disinfect the entire room after every visit - really!) and when you've just arrived by whatever mode of transport, to have time to sort yourself out in a free facility/freshen up etc is never ever overrated, especially in Paris ... be aware that there is a twenty minute time limit and for the love of all that's holy, WAIT until the door closes again after the last user and the cleaning cycle goes through it's motions ... this will only take several minutes and I can only imagine what it would be like to be trapped inside while every surface is sprayed with water and disinfectant - even the floor is cleaned every time, so the worst germophobes can safely use these facilities without coming out in some self-righteous, paranoid rash ...)

There is probably more to say, but really, I can't recommend it highly enough ... oh, and it wasn't expensive, either.

I'll be back!

Room Tip: Facing the boulevard would be a good plan if you have the option.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DEAN_CASTENEDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Travel with family and stay in 1 private ensuite room with 4 beds & prvt bathroom. The room was small enough to fit in 2 double deck beds but the bathroom was comfy enough for basic need. Good wifi & nice n simple breakfast. Could request for airport shuttle (inform earlier at the receptionist so he could help to book straight away). From Hotel to CDG Paris airport for 4 person 72 Euro. One hour journey to aiport.

The hotel was a few steps away from Anvers Metro. A walking distance (5 minutes walk) to La Basilique du Sacré Coeur de Montmartre. There's a stall nearby metro station sells bon bon & souvenirs.

8 minutes of walking to Al-fath mosque for muslim and along the road up to the sacre coeur there's a halal restaurant name "Chicken spot" with halal certificate for those who want to look for halal food.

Only one line change to eiffel from anvers metro(blue line) -> trocadero or biir hakiem(green line). around 15minutes from hotel to eiffel tower by metro.

Great location and perfect hotel for those who had a tight budget . Nice and warm receptionist and speak good english.

Room Tip: request for the room facing the scarce coeur .
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fee238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 178 in Paris
796 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#15 of 178 in Paris
774 reviews
Arty Paris
#7 of 178 in Paris
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Regent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Regent Hostel

Address: 37 boulevard de Rochechouart | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £21 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Regent Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Paris from the heart. You are not 20 mn away to the center , 10 mn to the center but just in the center . Ideally located in front of the most visited site of Paris : the Sacré Coeur and a short stroll away from the Moulin Rouge and Pigalle ; the staff of the Regent Hostel will welcome you day or night and will make your stay inforgettable. Come and meet fellow travelers, cook in our common kitchen, hang out in our cool lounge (with great football table) or enjoy the free Wi–fi while just hanging out. share stories and tips. The welcoming ambiance of the Regent Hostel will be just what you are looking for while visiting all the wonderful sights of Paris.We offer:• A parisian breakfast from 7:30 am to 10 am (Juice, fresh croissant, coffee, French bread with butter and jam,hot drinks)• a kitchen fully equipped opens from 12 am to 10.30 pm • 24 hour reception• Free Wifi in the whole hostel• HIGH SPEED internet kiosks (paying) • Cleaned daily• Elevator ( lift )• English NEWSPAPER• FAX SERVICE • parking nearby ( charge ) • Free Day storage luggage after check out • 100% Hostel smoking Free • Free Iron ; Ironing boarding• Hot water 24 hours • Free Use of major mobile phone recharger • Free maps and knowledgeable advice• Lockers at the reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Regent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regent Hotel Paris
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing