We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the wonderful place”
Review of Le Regent Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Regent Hostel
Ranked #11 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 29 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Ilia K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. 6 people sharing one toilet that did not work. Roommates coming in drunk all hours of the night. Wifi does not work in rooms and was never given sheets. Carpets are filthy and black mold in the bathrooms. God help me that I may never have the misfortune of ever having to stay in such a hellhole again. I need a shower just having written the mere thought about this place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Quadrotriticale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia-Manager, Manager at Le Regent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to get back to us. Our customers are of extreme importance to us and our aim is to improve our service that's why your comment is so important to us.
We always do our best to make everybody's stay as nice and fun as possible and that's why we're sorry to read that your stay wasn't as expected.

Our rooms are cleaned every day and we are studying solutions against the mould in some bathroom. Usually when a technical problem is reported we try our best to fix it asap. So I don't understand what's happen about the toilets and I'm really sorry for the inconvenience.

Concerning the wifi access to the rooms, it's usually working properly but we are still trying to improve it.

About the other people drunk sharing the room, unfortunately we can't be responsible of the behaviour of our guests. But if you came to the reception to inform our duty receptionnist, he would have take action.

We assure that we're trying to improve our service every day to be better to make our guest's stay wonderful. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for you to verify how much we improve with your comment.

Best Regards,

Laëtitia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at 2 different hostels in Paris (just felt like a change, not due to bad experiences). This one is incredibly close to the metro station (you can see it when you walk out the door of the hostel), and uses room cards (or the buzzer) to get into the main door - 2 great elements to increase safety.
I had booked to stay in a 6 bed room, at a very reasonable price, but this became even more reasonable when I walk into my room to find only 3 beds! There was a small table and chair in the room, as well as a mirror; and the bathroom was very spacious (for a hostel) and very clean! There was a bath and shower in one (haven't ever seen a bath in a hostel before)!
The desk staff were really friendly, and there were rooms to store bags before check in and after check out - I took advantage of both and everything was fine.
Breakfast and wifi came free, the wifi was really good and worked in the room - you get one code which you can use for about 20 days or something so it's great! The breakfast was very simple (Croissant or a roll with a hot drink) although I came to find this was just a Paris thing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanospatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 bed dorm with own bathroom. Directions to the hostel are a little confusing from their website, it will take you 10 min to stroll there. Staff were really friendly, the breakfast is good and reasonable space to eat. This is probably the most social point for this hostel. Our room was 3x4m and was clean/ tidy. Area wise it is super handy to the Anvers metro station, the area is safe enough but towards Barbers is a little rough avoid that at night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank slow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hospedei-me com minha família em um quarto para seis pessoas com banheiro privativo no Le Regent Hostel, em Paris. Trata-se de um hostel clássico, com cozinha equipada compartilhada, área comum para refeições e uma pequena área de convivência. Tive contato com quatro atendentes e três foram muito solícitos (o outro foi um tanto frio). A localização é muito boa, permitindo explorar os bairros de Montmartre e Pigalle a pé, durante qualquer hora do dia, além de visitar o Moulin Rouge e a Basílica de Sacre-Coeur. Fica, ainda, a poucos metros de uma estação de metrô (Auvers, linha 2, azul escuro), que liga o hóspede ao resto da cidade de Paris. O quarto era bom, com três beliches, uma pia fora do banheiro e um banheiro completo. Os únicos destaques negativos eram manchas nas paredes do banheiro relativas a mofos antigos (não parecia recente, não incomodou propriamente, mas o aspecto era ruim) e cheiro de cigarro nos lençóis de uma das camas, o que exigia algum processo de higienização mais profunda do colchão. Em suma, a experiência, como um todo, foi relativamente agradável.

---

I have stayed with my family in a room for six people with private bathroom at Le Regent Hostel, Paris. This is a classic hostel with shared kitchen, common dining area and a small living area. I had contact with four attendants and three were very solicitous (the other was a bit cold). The location is very good, allowing to explore the neighborhoods of Montmartre and Pigalle by walk, during any time of the day, besides visiting the Moulin Rouge and the Basilic of Sacre-Coeur. It also is a few meters from a metro station (Auvers), which connects the guest to the rest of Paris. The room was good, with three bunkbeds, a sink outside the bathroom and a full bathroom. The only negative points were stains on the bathroom walls of an old mold (didn't look recent nor bothered us, but the appearance was bad) and cigarette smell in the sheets of one bed, which required some process of a deeper cleaning method of the mattress. In sum, the overall experience was quite good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricardompfilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I adore this hostel. There is a real international feel and every time I've visited, I've had really nice and interesting room mates and a gorgeous view of Montmartre. The hostel is cheerfully decorated and right in the cusp of Paris' Pigalle district, just opposite the metro and about 20 mins walk from Gare du Nord. A word of advice, be careful walking round here at night as a lone traveler, especially if you're walking from the station through the Barbès area, there are a few dodgy people hanging around. I highly recommend this place and stay here every time I'm in Paris. The rooms are clean for a Paris hostel but remember to bring your own towels and soap!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katemakesfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia-Manager, Manager at Le Regent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your nice review. Our aim is to make our guest's stay nice and fun. My team and I are really happy to read that each time you renew your trust in our hostel.
Looking forward to have again the joy to welcoming you back many times.
Regards,

Laëtitia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Totally price worthy and above standard for a hostel, excellent staff, great croissants, great facilities (there is laundry machines, big equipped kitchen), location is amazing. We had 3 rooms, 9 people in total. All rooms were different. One had an amazing view of Sacre Caeur incl small mini balcony, other had view of courtyard yet included a bathtub! We had a great stay. The service is over the top for a hostel. There are plenty of common areas where people talk and connect. Tips about sightseeing etc are displayed on the walls. There are lifts for each part of the building.

I forgot my laptop in the room (hidden), it was located and Regent helped me with shipment to Toulouse (french town in the South). The personnel are trustworthy, multilingual and overall very helpful. You feel welcomed!

I would strongly recommend a stay and will come back.

Once again thank you for everything!

Kind regards,
Susanne

Room Tip: There is a free fussball game downstairs. Great fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sus_Var
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laetitia-Manager, Manager at Le Regent Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your very nice comment. It's always a pleasure to read that we've made our job making your stay with us in Paris pleasant.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

Laëtitia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 181 in Paris
798 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#14 of 181 in Paris
777 reviews
Arty Paris
#10 of 181 in Paris
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Regent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Regent Hostel

Address: 37 boulevard de Rochechouart | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £17 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Regent Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one the most popular district of Paris, few steps from Gare du Nord, surrounded by bars, concerts, pubs, coffee shops, and close to all the famous places; Le Moulin Rouge, Pigalle, Montmartre, the Regent is the ideal hostel for travelers who want to live a authentic journey in the city. Traveling with your family, your friends, the Regent offers different types of room; private or share bathroom, dormitories, mixed or single-sex. In the convivial and relaxing lounge, you will enjoy games, music and people from all around the world. Enjoy a continental breakfast in the shared kitchen and ask our friendly polyglot staff any tips or advices . On the 5th & 6th floor, you will get the most beautiful view of the rooftops of Paris ! if you are lucky enough to get the room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Regent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regent Hotel Paris
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing