We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Undistinguished Collection”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Centre Pompidou

Centre Pompidou
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.52*
and up
Skip-the-Line: Centre Pompidou Paris Ticket
Ranked #64 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER : . The biggest collection of moderne and contemporary art in Europe, one of the finest in the world ! . A building that is an icon of 20th century architecture. . Cutting-edge events, exhibitions that can't be missed. . The most wonderful view of Paris.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Holt, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Undistinguished Collection”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

A few pretty-bad Picassos. A couple of even-worse-than-usual Pollocks. A typically pretentious/worthless Rothko. And those were the high-lights!

Well, OK - there was a mildly interesting room full of Kandinsky.

But, seriously, once you've taken the escalators to the top floor and looked around, you've seen the best you're going to see here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vinteui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,125
    1,465
    637
    220
    139
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stimulating and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I visited in early August with my teenage daughter and this was my first visit to Centre Pompidou. We had the Paris Museum pass (brilliant) so just walked in, no queues. It seemed quite organised and not overly crowded. I'm not an art person so I was surprised that I actually liked it (modern art??) and even more surprised by my daughter's reaction. She had moaned her way around the Louvre - saw Mona Lisa and wanted to leave - the same with Musee d'Orsay. This time she was actually interested and taking pictures, usually it's head stuck in phone and no looking up. If you have teenagers with you I'm sure they will love this place, from the chalk wall mural that they can write on to the sculpture with the circular objects in ascending sizes including the small car with the flashing lights. Definitely this is the place to go if you have children as they will prefer to participate rather than just stare at art over a sea of heads. And sure if you don't like the art you can always go out on the balconies for the views of Paris.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank westdubmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views from the Escalator”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The visit to the Centre was made worthwhile by the extraordinary view from the escalator, especially during a rainstorm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSparkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
625 reviews
243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Visually appealing + views from top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Definitely a must visit while in Paris especially if you are in and around the Marais district. The external part of the building on both sides is incredible. As well, if you are looking to relax the platz on the one side is perfect for sitting/lying down and being entertained by other tourists and various musicians. There will be a lineup to go inside. To save time get in the lineup for the Library as it is short and takes you to the same place! You can use a kiosk to pay for your admission. The art on the inside is worth the admission. As well, take the escalators all the way to the top of the building for fantastic views of the city. The art exhibits are modern and well presented.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
480 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Even though we have been to Paris a number of times we had never been here until this last trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was a wonderful experience and one that we would recommend to any lover of modern art. They have a fantastic collection and the building is very interesting as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon that we spent here and we will be back the next time we are in Paris. It was that good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 46749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centre Pompidou also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Centre Pompidou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing