We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect budget friendly hotel in Paris close to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Paris Maubeuge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
Ranked #1,364 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect budget friendly hotel in Paris close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Not sure what the negative reviews were about but our stay was wonderful!! The staff was pleasant kind and extremely helpful the rooms clean and cozy new towels and our bed made each day upon our return from our day out in the gorgeous city of Paris. The breakfast consisting of croissants baguettes cereal ham cheese jellies butter coffee and orange juice was delicious and filling!! Perfect for getting ready to spend the day touring Paris. We were there for our honeymoon and had a dream trip! The desk staff even helped arrange a driver for us as my husband uses a wheelchair and even ordered a pizza for us our last night. There are many lovely cafes in the area which we had delicious meals and a grocery across the street. The room was clean and cozy and we could see the Eiffel Tower from our balcony!! Gorgeous!! It was warm while we were there and I being American and used to AC was not overly warm without a fan. My husband is Belgian so he is used to the no AC. Perfect for a romantic stay!! For a basic budget friendly hotel this one was lovely. It exceeded our expectations after reading the poor reviews. We will be coming back and our families are already planning stays there as well!! Lovely charming hotel and we enjoyed everything! Thank you for everything staff of Hotel de Paris Maubeuge. You all are wonderful!

Room Tip: The 5h floor has balconies which you can see the Eiffel Tower from
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
16
32
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from Paris and we spent 7 days in this hotel. The only 2 good things are the location (it is near Gare du Nord and Montmartre) and the price (about 70 euros per room breakfast included) but in our opinion it is too dirty. The 1st day we saw that the toilet was not flushed from the previous guests and anyway the flush din't work well. The bathroom and the room seemed that were cleaned just using water, no cleanser or similar....
The last day i saw on my towel just changed by the staff a sticky spot with an hair....I don' t want to know who was the owner....
The breakfast room wasn't so clean as well.
Anyway the staff was very kind and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Raffaella P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We went for a short 4 days holidays and chose this hotel because of the location, near the Gare du Nord station, this is the only plus point of this hotel. This is a 2 star ** hotel. The weather was so hot..... when we arrived. The check in time was 1;30 pm, had to wait for couple of hours.

The room itself, bathroom and the toilet were very small. There was no fan provided, and we couldn't even stay for few minutes without a fan. Went and asked for a fan at the reception, a black lady simply said "sorry we don't have any fans to provide you.....", we asked to talk to the manager and she replied.... "he will come only tomorrow morning". We then went out and bought a fan outside!!

Breakfast was the traditional French one... same breakfast for the 4 days.... Room service was very poor.... only 3 days they changed the towels, out of 4 days....... only 1 small soap, 1 small packet of shampoo were provided for the whole stay....

We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.... there are few other hotels in the surrounding area!!

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We arrived without booking and luckily they had a room. The staff were friendly. The room is basic but ok. The bathroom is very small. The shower could do with being upgraded. Compared to places we stayed later this hotel was good value quite a decent two star hotel. Again it's an OK place for short stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our first time in Paris, and we only wanted a very basic room as we didn't plan on spending much time in it anyway. However, the staff gave us two big scares when we first arrived. The first was when they told us that they'd check to see if they'd have a room available for us and that it would be a "miracle" if they did. I told them they damn well better have a room since I had booked well in advance and had paid for everything upfront. They then tried to tell me that I did not, in fact, pay for anything yet - as if I wouldn't be aware of the fact that hundreds of pounds had been deducted from my bank account.

They had a room for us and we were able to check in (about two hours late), but others weren't so lucky. They had apparently severely overbooked their rooms, so as I waited I watched a steady stream of people who had just arrived in Paris being awkwardly informed by a bewildered staff that they had no rooms available, despite having booked in advance.

The second scare was that first night when we were getting ready for bed. I heard someone fiddling with the lock on our door when a complete stranger who was obviously not one of the hotel staff walked into the room, took one look at us, apologized and then left. The staff had accidentally given him a copy of the key to our room, apparently having "forgotten" that we were in there. There was no bolt or security chain on the door, so we didn't feel all that secure from then on.

Another far more minor annoyance was the fact that the internet barely works in the place. It didn't work at all in our room, and we had to use the lobby if we wanted to get a signal. Even in the lobby the signal was sporadic.

Here are some of the reasons for the two-star rather than one-star rating: Despite their incompetence in this instance the staff was always friendly, polite, and as accommodating as possible. Also, the location is great.

If you plan to stay here I would simply make sure to phone them ahead of time and confirm with them that they're not going to hand your room over to someone else, either before or DURING your stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Durpulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights. The bathroom is dilapidated and needs repairs of various kinds. The fixtures and fittings are also aged. However there were no bedbugs (see previous reviews from 2009)!! The sheets were changed (we think) and the towels were changed daily. The towels were small and old, not up to international standards for size whiteness or fluffiness (if there are not such standards there should be!). There is a small oil heater in the room but no fan or airconditioning. In summer, if the weather is hot the room will be hot and you will need to sleep with the window open. We were on the first floor so the road noise kept waking us up. All that said, I think the location is very good - short walk to Cadet Metro station, Carrefour supermarket nearby, ample laundromats, boulangeries, pattiseries, small supermarkets and pharmacies all very short walks in any direction from the hotel. Very friendly staff. Free fast Internet. Coffee shop next door. Great neighborhood with residences all around and local people on the streets all the time. I think this would be a great place to stay if you are young and carefree; it perhaps doesn't suit families as the rooms are very small. No really, I mean VERY small!

Room Tip: Our first floor room was not airconditioned and the road is very very busy, so on a hot night it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel is very basic, but this is Paris and hotels are generally of a much poorer quality. Staff are relatively efficient and somewhat friendly. The room seemed clean enough. Two big negatives - 1) no shower stand, so you must hold the shower head yourself which is annoying. 2) The hotel walls are thin so there are lots of odd noises that echo at all hours. However, on the second night, this didn't bother me too much.

On the good side, the location is fairly good and just a 5 mins walk from Gare du Nord. Also, there are hotels that charge about €20 more for the same quality, service.

If you realise this is a budget place, and set your expectations accordingly, you will be satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,263 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#939 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,467 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#915 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Entrepôt
Maison du Pre
Maison du Pre
#1,255 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,529 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Maubeuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Maubeuge

Property: Hotel de Paris Maubeuge
Address: 37 rue de Maubeuge | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,364 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris Maubeuge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de Paris Maubeuge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing