We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volney Opera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,790
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kyriad Hotel Paris Bercy Village(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
130
189
44
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
189
44
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcounter space around the sinkpreferred locationmadeleine stationdirect busan extended stayquiet streetsafety deposit boxcute boutique hotelsimple hotelparisian standardscentral locationinstant coffeeplace vendomeelectric kettlerecommend this hoteldowntown paris
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you - like me - heavily dislike old, shabby bathrooms and worn-out beds, go to this hotel - bathrooms are brand new, and rooms as well (some still undergoing renovations, but all beds are already new - I had a wonderful sleep).

Quiet location in calm side street with no through-traffic , I even could sleep with windows open.

Always nice and helpful staff at reception.

I recommend this hotel in the center, close to opera and big stores on Haussmann. Affordable price given the location and the proper rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilse1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Good location for Louvre and for the tour bus. Situated in a side street. I think the whole Hotel is being Refurbished. We had a very nicely decorated room with a balcony on the 3rd floor.
Lovely new Bathroom with nice white towels.
An Extra Large wall MountedTelevision. would be nice to have had English programmes.
But then again we were in Paris site seeing not watching TV.
The bedroom was spacious but did need a dressing table mirror for the ladies.
Tea and a coffee in the room would have been nice but I think this is normal not to have these facilties. The Reception staff were really very helpfull and pleasant. I think the Hotel could do with a better lift.

Room Tip: Ask for a Refurbished room with a Balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Emma504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel the first week of July, The hotel was in the process of repairing their elevator (we had to log our own luggage up to our room) The room was dusty resulting from a building refacing across the street.The day we left the new owner and lady manager who were present, never offered assistance in bringing the luggage down.
As we let the owner know that we would have appreciated being made aware of their present situation when we booked, he told us that while he was upgrading the hotel floor by floor and did not have to inform us of anything.
This hotel is well located, new owners/management may not be as client oriented as the previous owners. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: In the present situation, request a court room to avoid noise and dust
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette P, Directeur général at Volney Opera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Sir

We wish to thank you for your review about our hotel. All comments from our guests are very important to us.
However we are a little surprised that you feel that the new owner is not “as client oriented as the previous one”. Since past November, the new owner kept improving the hotel : all beds have been changed, new duvets and new pillows have replace the old bed furniture, a buffet breakfast is now proposed instead of the previous basic breakfast …. And some bath rooms have been already renovated.

Concerning our elevator, be assured that we were really sorry about the situation : Our lift was indeed stopped for renovation’s work during one week. These reparation works have been decided only one week before, as our lift was out of order so frequently that we had no other choice but replacing urgently the old engine. We proposed to all our guests to carry up and down their luggage. A notice was put at each floor and all the staff of Hotel Volney and myself kept bringing up and down our guest’s luggage. But it seems that our night receptionist who was on duty when you checked in did not bring your luggage up to your room on the second floor. On the next day, when you complained about this situation, we offered your breakfasts of the day. We took the opportunity to explain to you that on departure, somebody of the hotel will bring your luggage down. On your check out day, you asked for a late check-out, which we have accepted. But strangely, you brought down your luggage on your own without phoning us ! All our other guests asked us for the service. Why didn’t you ask us to bring your luggage down ?

Part of our rooms are indeed under process of renovation (floor by floor) since past may and up to today nobody complained about any noise or inconvenience. In a few weeks, all bath rooms will be ready.

We are sorry that you regret the old Volney but you have to know that Hotel Volney Opera is in process of becoming another Hotel : Hotel Volney Opera will always be a family hotel with warm welcome but just with more comfort.

Fortunately all Hotel Volney’s usual and historic guests do accept these changes and really appreciate the improvement.

Best regards
Colette Pardon
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at the Volney Opera for a two days trip in Paris. Location is perfect (5min walking from Place Vendôme and Jardin des Tuileries, 10min walking from the Louvre). Room was good. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gheun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The only hotel I've ever stayed at in Paris in that didn't provide breakfast in the bedrooms. No tea/coffee making facilities either. Basin tap was falling out of its socket.

Paid extra for a "courtyard" room. Turned out to be right on the base of a light well, a few feet from the opposite wall.

Asked for a boiled egg in the basement dining room, it was brought almost raw and rolling around on a plate. Had to ask for an eggcup. Asked for an extra pillow in the room, was told there wasn't one.

Will not be going back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCTufnellPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews