We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”
Review of Volney Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Volney Opera Hotel
Ranked #507 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Walking distance from train station, the grand boulevards and opera garnier. Saff was kind and helpful, suggesting us restaurants to go, booking our transfer to the airport,etc. The room was ver y clean and sophisticated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent choice for us after going through the hotel hunt. (If u compare apple to apple, that is a 3 star hotel) Hotel volney is conveniently located near the roissy bus stop which cost us 10 eur each to travel from CDG to opera area. The bus has space for the luggages and it also means that it helped us eliminate the problem of carrying all the luggages up the stairs of the metro.

Upon arrival, reception made a mistake by giving us a room which has not been refreshed, and we tot this was the std and informed her to refresh it while we are out. But she kindly changed our room to a bigger room with a courtyard view and a king size bed. Definately bigger!

All the rooms are newly renovated and we cant find any complains to it. It was refreshed everyday and we love the laundry heater and attached hairdryer in the toilet.

Location wise, PERFECT! We are on the same lane with park hyatt hotel which cost like 5 times more (though its the back lane). And hotel is just a turn away from Chanel flagship store at rue cambon which we shopped in the morning with less crowd and can go back to deposit bags before gg out for sight seeing. It is also near all the branded boutiques at rue st honore. In between 2 metro stations, madeleine and opera. N 10-15 mins walk to galeries lafayette and 15-20 mins walk to the lourve. Basically, we explored alot of places by foot becos of its close proximity to the places of visit.

Alot of nice food nearby. We found a very nice breakfast place at the end of rue volney. Both owners and food are nice. And another bistro volney which was highly recommended by the SA at chanel who said that his cm told him the food was even better than michelin restaurant. However, pls book in advance.

Ask if we would stay here again? Yes!! They have a nicer waiting area than a 5 star in london. A living hall behind with a restroom which we had used upon arrival at 8am to sort our luggage and changed our clothes. They also hAve free laptop for use near the front desk that u can use it to transfer pics from ur camera to ur hard disk.

Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very nice position (close to Opera) and very available and helpful staff. Simple room but good bathroom. Comfortable bed. There was not an external view and there were some problems with the wi-fi. All considered it was satisfying, but the price was possibly too high.

Room Tip: Confirm the view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very conveniently located near the bus station to travel to the airport (Roissybus) and at walking distance from many metro stations and attractions like the Louvre , Place Vendome or La Madeleine. Its a modern hotel with comfortable rooms ,free wi-fi , affordable rates and very
helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie-Acuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

clean,comfortable,staff is helpfull.I was satisfied.The room was comfortable widely than I expected it.A bed was soft and fluffy and was splendid among other things.
I am insomnia. However, I was able to sleep during a stay well.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Rika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

U make a turn and you are on the high street. Galleries is about a 15 min away.
The room is small but it is new and well maintained. They have a standing heater and central air con. It was warm enough as the weather has turned chilly but I am not sure if it is winter whether the heater is sufficient.
The double bed was large and comfortable and comes with duvet. The sheets were hotel class.
It is a key door system and too heavy to carry with u and u have to drop off at the reception when u get out. The reception does not verify your ID when u collect your keys.
Breakfast is not free. I did not try.
Reception loaned me a kettle but no coffee or tea sachets. Even Arts hotel in Barcelona did not give us coffe and tea bags.
The room has no slippers but come with basic amenties which was replenished every day. The bathroom was a moveable plastic shower screen but it could not keep the shower in as the bathtub was v v small. There was no water outlet outside of the tub so the bathroom remains wet till the next day when housekeeping comes in. water. On the last day, they forgot the hand towels and we had to collect them ourselves at the reception. They do not have the extra to deliver to your room.
The room has double glazed window and our room faces the courtyard. The hotel is on a quiet street next to a sushi bar club. They run football shows.
The staff was friendly and booked us an airport shuttle for 36 euros which turned out to be a nightmare. We had 3 check in luggages and 2 hand carry bags. The driver made a lot of noise about the 3rd bag and wanted extra 5 euros which we agreed and he grumbled all the way to the ariport. On reaching the airport, he wanted 10 euros and we disagreed and quarrelled with him. We stuck to the 5 euors. There is another airport shuttle which charge 34 euros for 2 pax but thinking it is arranged by the hotel, we went for it although it was more expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-Lo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Volney Opera is very well positioned with just a short walk to many nice restaurants and some of the major attractions in Paris such as Paris Opera, Place Vendome and boutique shops, the Lourve and the Seine. Whilst small, our room was newly renovated, very clean and air conditioned which was very much appreciated. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#502 of 1,804 in Paris
491 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#321 of 1,804 in Paris
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
London Hotel
London Hotel
#1,016 of 1,804 in Paris
341 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#233 of 1,804 in Paris
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volney Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volney Opera Hotel

Address: 11 rue Volney, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#351 Business Hotel in Paris
#642 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £92 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Volney Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Volney Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Volney Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing