We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BREAKFAST SCAM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bastille Speria
Ranked #710 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST SCAM”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were on a 10 day trip. We booked the hotel directly with breakfast. Upon are arrival we were told the breakfast hours. No mention of price or included /not included. On the 8th day I overheard another guest arguing at checkout that breakfast was included. The desk said it was not. Later I asked the desk if breakfast was included for my booking. They replied that it was not. I checked my booking receipt and there was no mention of breakfast. Continental breakfast was 26 Euros for the both of us, for a total of 208 Euros.

THIS IS A VERY GOOD SCAM. PAY THROUGH A CREDIT CARD AND THE RECEIPT SAYS NOTHING. THEN NOTHING IS MENTIONED UNTIL YOU ARE ABOUT TO LEAVE.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wrekier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    182
    49
    22
    6
See reviews for
43
191
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Excellent location. Clean rooms and cosy! Very friendly staff!.. Good breakfast...near metro station with different lines. Nice restaurants in the neigberhood... We had a great time staying there! Small and cosy hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I booked this hotel because it was the only one left in the area at an affordable price. I did not expect much, but I was surprised by the friendliness of the staff and the size of the room (I was actually upgraded to a deluxe room for no apparent reason), usually both lacking in Paris. The room was pretty clean (apart from the bed cover, that was a bit stained) and spacious (for Paris). The staff at the reception was very helpful and friendly. You need a code for the wifi but if you specify for how many days you'll need it you won't have to ask for a new password every day (however, you have to ask for one password for each device you need to connect, if you have more than one). The elevator was, sometimes, not very fast, and some of the other guests were a bit noisy (but this is not the hotel's fault), but overall I had a very good experience. The price was also very good, for the area (but I found a special discount on the internet).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cappascap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Bastille as a location is excellent but there are hundreds of hotels in this area so take the time to find the right one for you. This place, where I stayed a week, is very expensive and for the price you get the basic treatment and offering of a hotel- so basically terrible value for money.

Overall the prices here are extremely high and the service very poor in comparison. I wouldn't recommend it at all. Firstly there's no tea or coffee in the rooms and our keys stopped working multiple times.

The cleaning was shoddy and there were blood stains on the sheets when I arrived. Trash wasn't thrown away and generally the room looked clumsy and items strewn on the floor left lop-sided. Cleaning is not done with care or diligence.

There was a particular female receptionist who was incredibly rude and unfriendly the entire week I was there. A necessary wifi username and password is needed everyday (not convenient for someone on business as I was but manageable) but this receptionist refused to read the code over the phone multiple times meaning needing to go downstairs to get it each time. Another receptionist also put the wifi code in the elevator and ordered us to get out of our bed at 2am and collect it from the elevator as he also didn't want to read it out. The other staff would always read out the code over the phone. As you can see , poor and clumsy, careless service unacceptable at these prices.

The pictures look nothing like it actually does in the hotel and generally people are trying to do the minimal they need to in this hotel to just "do their job". No effort to make your stay feel welcome, comfortable or worth the money.

As a frequent traveller to Paris for work and pleasure, I've stayed in many hotels and this I can honestly say was 100% not worth it. There are so many better places.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasminedesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for the first time in this lovely hotel in our preferred Parisian quarter Bastille. We have booked a standard room and were upgraded to a deluxe room right under the roof which was very spacious and perfectly equipped. The bathroom had window (!) and was therefore bright. The staff was friendly and because of receiving a keycard it was not necessary - as usual in Parisian hotels - to wait at the front desk several times a day.
Summing up: unfortunately only 2 days in an excellent hotel. We will defintively return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jofox31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A super little hotel dans Le Marais. Perfectly situated very close to La Place de la Bastille. The hotel room was small, clean and comfortable. Our room had no view - not necessary since we really didn't spend much time there. The hotel staff was always willing to help with questions. We chose to have breakfast outside of the hotel - we were only steps from several petits cafes where we had good coffee and light breakfasts.

Room Tip: If you want a window with a "street view" make it clear that's what your are interest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie Zwick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The bastille speria is a comfortable and quiet hotel with good amenities and location to metro.

Staff are helpful and friendly and breakfast was nice!

Everything is clean and well looked after, with a nice spacious bathroom.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Castex Hotel
Castex Hotel
#540 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#346 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#380 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#1,003 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#488 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastille Speria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastille Speria

Property: Hotel Bastille Speria
Address: 1 rue de la Bastille | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#340 Business Hotel in Paris
#618 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bastille Speria 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bastille Speria is situated between the Place de la Bastille and the Place des Vosges, in the heart of Paris, the ideal location for a business or leisure trip. It is close to several public transport lines making it exceptionally easy to travel around Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bastille Speria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastille Speria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing