We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is currently a building site, but room was okay.”
Review of Eden Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eden Hotel Opera
Ranked #512 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hotel is currently a building site, but room was okay.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights here. We were not too impressed when we arrived to find a big pile of rubble outside the hotel, blacked out hotel front windows and basically a building site inside. Trailing wires from the ceilings, plastic sheeting and builders everywhere. Not a very relaxing atmosphere considering we were supposed to be on holiday.

The evening receptionist was polite but not at all friendly, and didn't tell us where our room was or that breakfast was infact being served outside the hotel in a bistro across the road (we only found this out the next morning when we asked where the breakfast room was! Luckily it wasn't raining that day!).

Breakfast is really not worth the extra payment, sub standard pastries, a few slices of meat (no cheese!) and I'm sure the orange juice was orange squash or a very watered down version! We're not fussy but it was all a bit cheap and the bistro was not very clean either.

The room itself was okay and was very clean, small but all rooms in Paris are. The bathroom was quite nice and the shower was massive! The sliding door to the bathroom didn't really do the job though ;) Wifi was a bit hit and miss, didn't always work in the room (2nd floor) but fine in reception area. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room which was disappointing.

Location was fine, we walked from Gare Du Nord which to be honest felt a bit unsafe, but the road the hotel is in is quiet and has a useful supermarket nearby.

Hopefully once the building work is finished it might improve, but I don't think we'd go there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yip35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    128
    52
    17
    13
See reviews for
49
171
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The room was small but it was very clean and the bathroom was relatively big, compared to the room itself, with a really nice shower. The bed was comfortable but very small.The hotel is under construction/renovation, with very narrow and dirty hallways. There were construction workers every day, although there was no noise in our room. The elevator is very small and a bit scary so quite a few times I chose to take the stairs up to the 4th floor. There was free wifi with very good signal in the room, which was a surprise. The staff didn't speak much english but it was enough to communicate and to give us some directions. The hotel is close to the subway station "Pigalle" and from there you can go all over Paris. It's about 20 minutes walk from Montmartre but it's all uphill so be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. The hotel is in the red light district of Paris, but it wasn't a dangerous area. There were many bars and markets closeby. I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Being my first time in Paris I was expecting something better, even more for the price we paid for it. Our room was too small and the bathroom even the smaller I have ever been. Breakfast was no bad but staff was no that friendly. Fortunately we spend only three nights there. Overall just disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esteban O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked this hotel quite last minute (one night in advance), and mainly chose it because of the low price and reasonable reviews. The hotel itself is undergoing quite extensive renovations and as such the hallways are always crowded with construction workers. In the early morning this resulted in having hammering as your wake-up call. The rooms themselves are basic and clean, although quite small, while the bathroom is quite large. A very big plus is the staff, they are very helpful and are always willing to help you out with your problems and inquiries. Free wifi is available in the lobby. The location of the hotel is very good, close to Montmartre and two metro stations/lines (St. George and Blanche).
For the price we paid this hotel was worth its money, however, when seeing the real prices I could understand people might be a bit disappointed with what they get, given the basic rooms. Bear in mind though that this is Paris, where cheap hotels are as rare as cheap drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on the red light district of Paris. Sounds worse than it is, because it is safe on the streets and close to some very nice places like Montmartre, Sacre Coeur and the Opera.

The hotel is very basic. Room is small and bathroom is tiny. Room is clean. Wifi only available downstairs in the lobby and very slow.

All in all a basic hotel for people looking for a place to sleep. Don't expect too much more...

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Willem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The hotel is very central,very near to metro stations, the room was very clean and hot and the price was very economic.But the hotel is under constraction, the front face of the hotel is covered with iron bars and plastic bags.Be careful, if you give importance to luxary, there is no luxury ,but the basic services are well enough to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memduh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It seemed two nights too many. The hotel is situated in a strange neighbourhood of Paris.

Front desk, is a simple table with computer.
The rooms are renewed, but they've kept the old filthy carpet. The room we've stayed in was very basic and tiny. I would not advice people - who are claustrophobic - to stay in one of these rooms. Myself, I was glad to get out of this room.

The bathroom was way too small. When you are a tall person... it's impossible to use the toilet (you always have to leave the door opened!)

Then the noise... you can hear every noise from the rooms next door. At night, there's a lot of noise from the street and/or from the neighbour building.

Breakfast was as basic as the room. For me... the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Hotel Eden Opèra is not 3-star worthy.

One thing was good... the men at the front desk were always kind.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Villa Boheme
Hotel Villa Boheme
#759 of 1,801 in Paris
227 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Timhotel Opera Grands Magasins
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
#141 of 1,801 in Paris
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#412 of 1,801 in Paris
612 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#111 of 1,801 in Paris
790 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#371 of 1,801 in Paris
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Opera

Property: Eden Hotel Opera
Address: 35 rue Jean Baptiste Pigalle | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#358 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in a contemporary style with a typical Parisian set characterizes the hotel Eden Opera. The hotel Eden Opera is a superior three star and is located close to Montmartre, The Opera House Garnier, big department stores of Haussmann Boulevard and many theaters and cabarets as Mogador or Moulin Rouge.Reception is personalized. Our professional and dynamic staff is omnipresent to answer to all your needs and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing