We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Levant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Levant
Ranked #188 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a lovely hotel, right in the heart of Paris - great location with restaurants all around! Being vegetarians we heard Paris would be a difficult place to cater for us but this was most definitely not the case in such a location. The hotel itself was lovely, the lift unfortunately was very small - we could fit one person and 2 suitcases. Being a family of 4, every time we went up and down, unfortunately we had to squash ourselves into the lift, but it is manageable. The room was great for 4 people - 2 single beds and a double bed. However we had some serious problems with the ventilation - to keep us nice and warm the temperature was set to a very high temperature but the blankets are also well insulated, which made us very hot at night. We had a nice view of the Notre Dame Cathedral. The breakfast was also included in the stay - nice continental variety with croissants, cheeses, cereal and eggs. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sm9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel .

We are happy to hear your overall stay was enjoyable .

But we are sorry about the problems you had with the warm temperature .

The hotel works with the central heating system. But whenever you feel too hot, you can tell the Reception Desk about it, we usually call a private company we work with , they come and lower the temperature from our basement .

As for the lift, there is nothing we can do about it, let's say this will be the funny story of your trip in Paris , funny ah,ah, ah , and funny peculiar.

Anyway, we hope to see you again if you plan another trip to Paris .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    406
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
276
276
204
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel every year for the last thirteen years of a weekend stay in Paris, and will keep coming back. It is a charming three star hotel right in the heart of the Latin Quarter. It is so easily accessible from CDG, via the RER to St Michel, and a couple of minutes’ walk from there. And then it is such a short walk to the Seine River, Notre Dame, and metro links to all of the delights of Paris. There is always a gracious welcome when I arrive. Rooms are small, but totally charming and adequate for a stay in Paris. I have seen many of the rooms, all different and impeccably clean. My room this time looked down on Rue de la Harpe, a busy street crowded with all sorts of ethnic and French restaurants. All the staff are so courteous and helpful. Breakfast is included, in the small dining room from the reception desk. It is always great – freshest of croissants, baguettes, and selection of cheese, cold meat, pastries, and opportunity to boil eggs. It is always a great start of exploring Paris. Bathroom is tiny and wholly functional, but always sparkling clean! Internet is provided free of additional charge, and it works well in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask to view a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your very nice review about our hotel .

We are all the more happy to hear you are a regular guest who is familiar with our different types of rooms.

As you say , all our rooms are different not only in terms of decoration but also of size.

But our priority is to provide our guests with clean and functional rooms.,such as the wifi access

By the way, if you prefer a quiet room instead of a room facing the street, we can arrange this beforehand when you make your reservation ; of course, if one is vacant .

Apart from the rooms, we note and appreciate you enjoyed our breakfast buffet , and our location .

Our area is what most of our guests praise as you can get a straight and easy acces to major tourist sites within walking distance .

Very convenient to get access to public transport as well. For example,the RER C that you can catch Inside line number 4 ( metro St Michel) can take you to Musee D'Orsay, or to the Eiffel Tower.

From the RER B , you can go directly to Charles de Gaulle airport.

We will be very happy to see you again for your next visit in Paris .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borkowo, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Hotel situated in excelent localisation: direct access to the airport (RER B), in the center of latin square with all its restaurants.
Very kind stuff, tasteful breakfast, wi-fi, small room but big bathroom - everything you need for one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BJDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel .

Our location is definitely what most of our guests prefer as they can walk around easily
and get access to major tourist sites, to public transport and to different restaurants .

But of course, we prefer when the guests like their rooms .

Every room in our hotel is different, in terms of size, decoration , bathroom facilities ( with a shower or a bath). But our priority regarding the rooms is their cleanliness and if all the equipment inside works perfectly ( air conditionned, TV, hair dryer, etc.)

We will be happy to see you again for your next visit in Paris, in the meantime , we wish you a merry Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hotel du Levant is very well located--less than two mins from Place du Saint Michel and Notre Dame. Many many restaurants in the area.

The rooms are well kept and tastefully decorated. I would definitely recommend this to someone who's looking for cheap accommodation in Quartier Latin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SS01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel..

Our location is definitely what most of our guests prefer .

The reason is that you can walk easily to major tourist sites such as Notre Dame, the Louvre Museum, Pompidou Center or to public transport , particularly the RER B from which you can get straight and easy access to Charles de Gaulle airport .

Very convenient in every way .

But what we appreciate more is when our guests say they liked their room , because the room was comfortable, well designed , and clean.

The decoration can change from one room to another room .

Every room is differrent , we are constantly making efforts in the renovation of some rooms
so as to bring more confort and satisfaction to the guest.

We are happy to hear you think , we are not expensive , please note our room rates include breakfast , the wifi is free as well.

We will be pleased to see you again if you decide to come back to Paris .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our family of 5 spent 3 nights here. We divided up and stayed in a double room and a triple room on separate floors (I believe they were rooms 8 and 15). The double had a wonderful view over rue de la Harpe. The street scenes were vibrant, but the noise was not a problem when the windows were closed (we loved keeping them open in the evening!). I can't say enough about the location, which is just south of the Ile de la Cite, with easy walks to the Louvre, the Musee d'Orsay, the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Pantheon, and the Sorbonne. In addition, two Metro stations are less than a 5 minute walk away.

The rooms were nicely decorated, quite large relative to our expectations, and very clean. Great restaurant choices abound up and down rue de la Harpe. The hotel is not inexpensive, but it's still a good value in the Latin Quarter. A variety of conveniences are available, including laundry service at a reasonable price.

We would definitely stay here again on any return trip to Paris!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe4968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the two rooms you booked met your expectations.

Unlike most of our guests ,you like the rooms facing the street and the noisy atmosphere that goes with them .We are happy about this as well.

But our location is definitely what our guests like most , as you can ger straight and easy access to major tourist sites and public transport .

Besides, there are many restaurants around the hotel you can choose from.

We will be happy to see you again for your next visit in Paris .

Best regards.

Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location is great with walking distance to central Paris. Rooms are nice and good for two people and beakfast is sufficient. Service from recieption is good, however we forgot a nice jacket in the closet when we checked out, but when we contacted the hotel the same day they could not find it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Sir ,

Thank you for your nice review about the hotel .


Our location is definitely what most of our guests appreciate .

As it is very convenient to get straight and easy access to major tourist sites and public transport.

However, we are sorry to hear about your jacket .

The housekeepers usually take every left item in the room down to the Reception Desk .

For such an important item , we inform the guest by email to see if we have to send it or else, somebody who is already in Paris can pick it up .

We hope this inconvenience will not put you off to stay in our hotel for a future trip in Paris .

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Location, style and quality of the room and lobby, breakfast and friendliness of staff all exceptional, especially when compared with the competition of other Parisienne '3*' hotels. Paris has a lot of cramped, inhospitable, miserable and over priced hotels. This is a rose among thorns.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northcom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We appreciate your image of the rose among thorns.

Our staff is genuinely dedicated to help and satisfy the guests for whatever they need .

Compared with other hôtels in our area, breakfast is included in the room rate, there is no extra charge .

We will be happy to see you again if you decide to come back to Paris .

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#194 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#231 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#236 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Cluny Square
Hotel Cluny Square
#380 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#177 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Levant

Property: Hotel du Levant
Address: 18 rue de la Harpe, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Paris
#140 Family Hotel in Paris
#293 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Levant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Levant in Paris... The finer things in life! Step into the atmosphere of Hotel du Levant, Rue de la Harpe on the Left Bank, and open the colourful pages of the history of Paris! In the heart of Paris' lively, picturesque 5th arrondissement of Paris, the hotel is a blend of charm, authenticity, nostalgia and modernity. Elegance, thoughtfulness, comfort and style, the motto of our guest establishment ever at our service with its cosy rooms "a la Parisienne" is the best way for your walking discovery tours of the most beautiful jewels of the Capital: Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cite, the banks of the Seine and its bookstalls, Boulevards Saint Germain and Saint-Michel, the Conciergerie, Sainte-Chapelle and so much more. Ideally located on the Left Bank, our 3-star hotel is a haven of peace in the hubbub of Parisian life.We do have a 3 guests bedroom available especially designed with handicap amenities. Because the Hotel du Levant is an old haussmanian construction, regular wheelchairs do not fit in. This is why we provide to our handicap guests a specific wheelchair, which fits in our elevator, to circulate in our hotel. We also provide storage of your personal wheelchair during your stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel du Levant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Levant Hotel
Du Levant Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing