We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
Review of Hotel du Levant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Levant
Ranked #190 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Surounded by restaurants, close to Notre Dame. The location is really great. Everybody was very helpful and friendly. The room was small but convenient. The breakfast was good in the fresch dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kittycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel .

Our location is definitely what most people appreciate in our area

It is a very convenient solution as you can get straight and easy access to major tourist sites
such as Notre Dame, the Louvre Museum, the Orsay Museum, and to public transport as well, within walking distance .

Besdes , as you said there is a wide choice of restaurants .

Our rooms may not be very big, but our priority is to make sure they are clean , comfortable and functional . We are happy you enjoyed the newly decorated breakfast room.

We hope to see you again for your next visit to Paris

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This may be my 7th or more visit at Du Levant. The comfort of location (i.e., RER from the airports, St. Michel Metro, one block from the Seine and bridges) and the house always make it a no-brainer to make it my preferred base. The location straddles for me the Latin Quarters and St. Germain Districts, with easy walking access equally to the Marais, via Notre-Dame, Isle St. Louis, or the Louvre, Tuileries, all the way to the shopping avenues, Departments Stores, etc. on the Rive Droite. I am a walker. The only way to see and feel and smell Paris. The Du Levant is constantly updating and renovating its rooms. I always opt for the back of the house for price, and was so happily surprised to get a totally redone queen-size room with a beautifully renovated bathroom. Front of the house staff, in their quiet, helpful fashion, always recognizes me and makes me feel welcome. In the breakfast room you can have a bottomless cup of coffee, boil your own egg. (Breakfast incld. in price) Simplicity, no fuss, very helpful. The comfortable, colorful front room allows you to read the paper or organize your day. Wi-Fi provided. This is a small hotel, small elevator, family operated, without pretense, but with an eye to giving you comfort, superb cleanliness, a warm feeling of a home base, and value for your money.

Room Tip: I have always looked for the best price and since I travel solo I have always chosen the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Heike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

Dear Francesco,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that everything met all your expectations .

Particularly our location and your quiet room.

Guest satisfaction is our top priority and all our staff is always ready to help the guests spend a lovely and enjoyable stay .

We will be happy to see you again some other time if you plan another trip to Paris .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Accueil toujours très chaleureux, les travaux présagent d'un relooking de l'accueil, il me tarde de voir ce que cela va donner...
a recommander

I had a great stay at the hotel as the welcome is always perfect and location is wonderful. The welcome desk will have a new look soon...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014
Google Translation

Monsieur ,

Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour , malgré les désagréments compte tenu des travaux à notre réception.

Mais , comme vous l'avez bien compris, il s'agit de travaux de rénovation et d'embellissement.

Malgré tout, tout le personnel reste mobilisé pour satisfaire au mieux les clients .

Nous espérons vivement vous accueillir dans notre hotel "relooké" ^pour votre prochain séjour à Paris.

Sincères salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had a wonderful time at Hotel du Levant. It's a hotel very well located, my room was nice and spacious, the breakfast was very good and the staff was friendly and professional. The hotel is being renovated ( the lady owner is taking care personally of the renovation and as an architect I think it will be more agreeable to the costumers without loosing the Parisian charm). I've stayed lodged for 20 nights at Hotel du Levant and could experienced its very interesting history. For the next January 2015 I will be booking it again.

Room Tip: I always choose bedrooms far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JulietaPedrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Mrs Pedrosa,

Thank you very much for your nice review about the hotel .

We all remember you (room 44) , we selected the room together right from our website .

Everybody appreciated your pleasant smile and your kindness

At the moment, the Reception Desk is still being renovated , and we intend to renovate some rooms as well in the future.

Of course, you will be given a warm welcome if you plan another stay in our renovated hotel .

Looking forward to meeting you as soon as possible .

Best regards.

Leo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The postives of this hotel are its ease of access from the St. Michel RER station or the METRO and its excellent location in the heart of the Latin Quarter. The staff is helpful. Breakfast is provided early for those with early departure times. The small size of the lift is not unusual in Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1712JB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel .

We are happy you enjoyed your stay not only in the hotel but also around our area.

With such an easy and convenient access to public transport or tourist sites, our location remains what most of our guests appreciate in the Latin Quarter .

Our staff is dedicated to help the guest , and as you mention if they can arrange an early breakfast ,they will do it .

We hope to see you again if you plan another trip to Paris .

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a lovely hotel, right in the heart of Paris - great location with restaurants all around! Being vegetarians we heard Paris would be a difficult place to cater for us but this was most definitely not the case in such a location. The hotel itself was lovely, the lift unfortunately was very small - we could fit one person and 2 suitcases. Being a family of 4, every time we went up and down, unfortunately we had to squash ourselves into the lift, but it is manageable. The room was great for 4 people - 2 single beds and a double bed. However we had some serious problems with the ventilation - to keep us nice and warm the temperature was set to a very high temperature but the blankets are also well insulated, which made us very hot at night. We had a nice view of the Notre Dame Cathedral. The breakfast was also included in the stay - nice continental variety with croissants, cheeses, cereal and eggs. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sm9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel .

We are happy to hear your overall stay was enjoyable .

But we are sorry about the problems you had with the warm temperature .

The hotel works with the central heating system. But whenever you feel too hot, you can tell the Reception Desk about it, we usually call a private company we work with , they come and lower the temperature from our basement .

As for the lift, there is nothing we can do about it, let's say this will be the funny story of your trip in Paris , funny ah,ah, ah , and funny peculiar.

Anyway, we hope to see you again if you plan another trip to Paris .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel every year for the last thirteen years of a weekend stay in Paris, and will keep coming back. It is a charming three star hotel right in the heart of the Latin Quarter. It is so easily accessible from CDG, via the RER to St Michel, and a couple of minutes’ walk from there. And then it is such a short walk to the Seine River, Notre Dame, and metro links to all of the delights of Paris. There is always a gracious welcome when I arrive. Rooms are small, but totally charming and adequate for a stay in Paris. I have seen many of the rooms, all different and impeccably clean. My room this time looked down on Rue de la Harpe, a busy street crowded with all sorts of ethnic and French restaurants. All the staff are so courteous and helpful. Breakfast is included, in the small dining room from the reception desk. It is always great – freshest of croissants, baguettes, and selection of cheese, cold meat, pastries, and opportunity to boil eggs. It is always a great start of exploring Paris. Bathroom is tiny and wholly functional, but always sparkling clean! Internet is provided free of additional charge, and it works well in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask to view a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your very nice review about our hotel .

We are all the more happy to hear you are a regular guest who is familiar with our different types of rooms.

As you say , all our rooms are different not only in terms of decoration but also of size.

But our priority is to provide our guests with clean and functional rooms.,such as the wifi access

By the way, if you prefer a quiet room instead of a room facing the street, we can arrange this beforehand when you make your reservation ; of course, if one is vacant .

Apart from the rooms, we note and appreciate you enjoyed our breakfast buffet , and our location .

Our area is what most of our guests praise as you can get a straight and easy acces to major tourist sites within walking distance .

Very convenient to get access to public transport as well. For example,the RER C that you can catch Inside line number 4 ( metro St Michel) can take you to Musee D'Orsay, or to the Eiffel Tower.

From the RER B , you can go directly to Charles de Gaulle airport.

We will be very happy to see you again for your next visit in Paris .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#183 of 1,804 in Paris
1,272 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#204 of 1,804 in Paris
889 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#755 of 1,804 in Paris
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#259 of 1,804 in Paris
937 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#322 of 1,804 in Paris
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Levant

Address: 18 rue de la Harpe, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Paris
#291 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £167 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Levant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Levant in Paris... The finer things in life! Step into the atmosphere of Hotel du Levant, Rue de la Harpe on the Left Bank, and open the colourful pages of the history of Paris! In the heart of Paris' lively, picturesque 5th arrondissement of Paris, the hotel is a blend of charm, authenticity, nostalgia and modernity. Elegance, thoughtfulness, comfort and style, the motto of our guest establishment ever at our service with its cosy rooms "a la Parisienne" is the best way for your walking discovery tours of the most beautiful jewels of the Capital: Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cite, the banks of the Seine and its bookstalls, Boulevards Saint Germain and Saint-Michel, the Conciergerie, Sainte-Chapelle and so much more. Ideally located on the Left Bank, our 3-star hotel is a haven of peace in the hubbub of Parisian life.We do have a 3 guests bedroom available especially designed with handicap amenities. Because the Hotel du Levant is an old haussmanian construction, regular wheelchairs do not fit in. This is why we provide to our handicap guests a specific wheelchair, which fits in our elevator, to circulate in our hotel. We also provide storage of your personal wheelchair during your stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Levant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Levant Hotel
Du Levant Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing