We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcomed Invitation”
Review of Le Campanella

Le Campanella
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Le Campanella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #741 of 17,405 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: Great food and service at a reasonable price. In the 7th Arr. just down the street from the Hotel Londres De Eiffel
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Welcomed Invitation”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were searching for a place to dine after a long day of sightseeing and were invited in by the maitre d of the restaurant; so glad we took him up on his offer. Inside, the restaurant is stylishly designed with cozy lighting. We all (4) ordered different meals, and were all very happy with our choices – my husband’s beef bourguignon was the best he’s ever had. The waiter’s wine suggestion was also a big hit. Would go back for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    153
    39
    18
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant - or at least the 'specials'!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We thought we'd try this restaurant as it was near our hotel and had a wide menu suitable for our family. Pricing on the menu was reasonable (although higher than other cafes in the area with similar menus). The 'specials of the day' were significantly more expensive.
Having advised the waitress of our choices, she became very pushy as we had selected dishes from the main menu (chicken, fish, beef) where there were similar choices available as 'specials'. After some debate with the waitress, we eventually succumbed with assurances that the specials were of very high quality.
The food was not as described, it was tasteless and cold ...
When asked whether we had enjoyed our meal - we provided feedback - there was no response, apology etc ... just the bill!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, CO
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stopped here for dinner without reservations as it was near our flat. We were able to be seated outside immediately despite it being very busy. We ordered beef bourguignon, steak with frites, duck confit and two bottles of wine. Everything was delicious and we said YUM about ten times each. This was my first real French prepared beef bourguignon so I was extremely happy and the duck confit had not been tried by our friends who were also very satisfied. It was a good food experience.The only complaint was that we ordered two bottles of wine, the waiter tried to upsell the wine, we declined three times but he still served us the high priced wine, which is not necessary in Paris as almost all of the wine is good. He opened the bottles before getting to the table and then made a bit of a scene about not understanding. We went ahead and drank it anyway to avoid a further scene. It was all delicious despite that one sore spot. I am hoping it was just a miscommunication and not a ruse. I would still recommend as this seems to be a locals spot so not a trap despite the scene and the food was really good and fairly priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fifidudedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, West Java
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Paris”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Four hungry caterpillars chose this for lunch, mainly because it was full of local people having fun. The service was the friendliest I have had in a Parisian cafe, and the food was remarkably and consistently excellent French cafe food at excellent prices. Later that day we went to Cafe Deux Magots, once my favourite, but now too famous and exploited for its own good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willsymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Paris”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From the outside this restaurant on the corner of a busy wide road looks warm and inviting, but the minute you walk through the doors it’s even better. The atmosphere was comfortable, the service was just right, and the food was simply brilliant.

We stumbled on this restaurant late in an evening in the middle of the week and it was nicely busy even then, and from what we could hear there was an even mix of tourists and locals which was a good sign to us. The menu had English small print and had a wide range of options including what I’d stereotype as French food. Our waitress was very pleasant, she spoke better English than we spoke French and made some great food and wine recommendations.

Even though we’d seen snails on the menu before, this is the first place we felt comfortable enough to try them and they were very enjoyable (I’d recommend them if you like seafood). My wife’s Beef Bourguignon was the best she’s had, and the Steak I ordered from the specials board was easily the best I can ever remember having. Both meals were cooked perfectly, full of flavour and left us both pleasantly full. I’d strongly recommend giving this place a go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrmatthewandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Campanella also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Campanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing