We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - overbooked and left us with nowhere to stay!!”
Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Europe
Ranked #1,392 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Well I can't fully review the hotel as they had overbooked their hotel and there was no where for us to stay!!

We arrived in Paris at 8pm and were told upon entering that no rooms were available and to make our way to another hotel!!

Now although not happy at this thought we did not want to let it ruin our holiday, however on arriving at the other hotel we were told they had a room for us for one night and after that they had no where for us to stay!!

This second hotel was disgusting and we felt dirty just from the reception area. After much searching both by us and family in the uk we managed to find a hotel for the night and the subsequent nights in Paris but we ended up quite out of pocket and it's not what I would expect!!

On another note do not use veneer.com to book, disgusted they would advertise a hotel which over books and does nothing to help its guests and then fails to respond to a serious complaint!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lucy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a one star hotel on the Rue de moins and not to be confused with Europe Hotel also in Paris. I like it here. It is clean and it is inexpensive. I am on the second floor (no lift) and there is a toilet and basin in a small cupboard in my room. The shower (shared) is about 5 steps away. The location is quite good. There is a metro station a block away and it's a pleasant walk into the city if you like walking. About 2.8 kilometres. There are patisseries in the vicinity and plenty of places to eat. Yes it's basic, but it is sufficient.

Room Tip: It helps to have some French as there may be no one here who speaks English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waggachocolatelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We booked this hotel by phone through Venere and stayed there in March 2013. Photos can be very deceptive and whilst they do show the room as it is, it is not actually as grand as the photo. It is a very basic hotel, with a very small spiral staircase and as we were on the third floor it was quite hard work getting our suitcases up to our rooms. The bathroom was extremely basic though the water was warm. They are obviously do a lot of renovating as I believe the complete second floor was closed. We were then charged twice for the room which took me several phone calls to get reimbursed. Veneer told us that the hotel was just 2 mins from the scare Coeur when in fact it was a 20 minute metro ride. Venere did not inform us of the lack of a lift or that the hotel was so basic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pod1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel consists of two small buildings. I had a single-room with shared toilet & shower in 2nd building (behind 1st).
CONS:
- there is only one shower and 2 toilets for the 4-story building!
- the rooms are quite small, the walls thin so you can hear your neighbours talking (there were fortunately no loud people when I was there) and the opening/closing of doors is rather loud.
- rooms on lower floors may have window looking only on other building
- the stairways are very (!) narrow (no elevator), not suited for elderly people!
- WLAN is only on the lobby (2 small tables with 3 chairs) and not in the rooms as indicated on many hotel descriptions!
- without any advance information or reduction of price the shower in the 2nd building was renovated during my stay such that I had to go to the other building (4 stairs down, through the court (rain!) and 2 stairs up!
PROS:
- the hotel is on a small road with very few traffic, there was almost no noise from outside.
- only 2min walk to metro station Brochant and av. de Clichy with shops (food, bakery, fast-food, McDonalds (e.g. for breakfast) 6 min Walk)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The room is very small, no toilet and smelt disgusting! The photos provided by hotel are not " true face". I changed to another hotel after I stayed there one night! Very terrible!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jsk319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank seth671234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#941 of 1,803 in Paris
457 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,556 of 1,803 in Paris
282 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,555 of 1,803 in Paris
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gofen
#1,630 of 1,803 in Paris
21 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,232 of 1,803 in Paris
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Address: 67 rue des Moines | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,392 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £41 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Europe 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing