We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good value”
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #1,345 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location and good value”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from both Notre Dame and the Pantheon. On arrival at mid-day our room was not ready but we were offered tea/coffee whilst we waited for 10 minutes for it to be prepared. Our "deluxe" room was spacious and well presented. The bath though was rather small being not long enough to lie down in. The breakfast at €11 was good and plentiful comprising baguettes, croissants and cakes, cereals, cheese and yoghurts plus a range of cold meats together with tea/coffee and fruit juices. Although not on a main road, there was some traffic noise. More important though, the bells of the nearby church stopped at night! Overall a good value hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keianne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    110
    88
    32
    31
See reviews for
35
125
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Ok hotel, small yes, but if you would be expecting bigger, you don't know Paris. We booked without breakfast and had several great ones to choose from around the hotel so no problem at all. Night staff wasn't excatly friendly, but still ok. I would strongly recommend this hotel, value for money is excellent considering the location.

Room Tip: Ask to have seperate beds if you aren't a couple traveling, otherwise you might wind up in a 120...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 189852Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I paid for a bigger room and I was quite surprised at how small the room was. The room could feel bigger with less furniture or less bulky furniture. Tea and coffee was not maintained each morning, shower door leaked, bathroom sink chipped, bed also seemed old; as if larger people had slept in it and the bed was no longer level, could not turn heating down; too hot, lift in the hotel was not cleaned very often and sometimes smelt really bad. I don't think there was enough lights in the room either; not enough light to get ready. Also no mirror under the tv to do hair and make up while using the ONLY plug under the table to straighten my hair. Plug was pretty unaccessable aswell, literally had to crawl under the table. The church bells kept going off at random times; the one morning is went off at 7:39am and rang 12 times! not impressed! not coinciding with the actual time. Reception staff were helpful. We also like to watch the tv while getting ready to go out of an evening but they only have CNN news that was in English. I wish I paid extra (even though the room was expensive) to stop somewhere else. Location is good though, just down the road from Notre Darme.

Room Tip: Pass. I paid extra for a bigger room so I dread to think how small the small rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberts1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I booked a very last minute weekend away for my girlfriend and I from London after work on a Saturday. We consequently arrived at Gare du Nord at 11pm. The hotel was one short metro and a very short walk from the Les Halles exit. So easy to get to, even at night! The room was really cosy and well decorated. We even had our own little balcony! Everything you need. Rooms were small but expectedly so. The bathroom, although compact, had new fittings and a new shower that worked like a dream. Everything was spotlessly clean. I will say though, in summer I'm sure it would be very warm in the room, as there's no air conditioning and the streets are too noisy to have the window open. The lift was very small, and will only fit one person and a bag or 2 thin people at a time. But I felt added to the charm. The area directly on the doorstep wasn't great at night. Remember it's the city central, so there're some dodgy types but nothing to worry about. And if you walked about 100m either way there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants. Plus, its so central that you would most likely stay in the area you're sightseeing in and then make your way back later. No matter what time of day or night, there were always people wandering around, that helped make the area feel safe as well. As we only had 2 days to explore, so we didn't get very much time to see everything, but Notre Dame is very close - there are some fantastic cafes for lunch and dinner on the island it's on. I would recommend highly! And we also walked to the Louvre in 15mins or so. The Centre Pompidou is just around the corner, literally. I wish we had more time in honesty. But we will be back again and will definitely stay at Hotel Agora. For the price, it's absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great location, you get what you pay for though. Tiny (and terrifying) elevator and the walls were so thin you could hear people speak in the next room and their alarm clock even woke us up, otherwise it was good value, yes the room was tiny but it was perfect. Lovely little balcony too! The area itself isn't extremely safe? Some very dodgy carachters walking around there. Perfect location right beside the metro! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Located right beside the main metro station helped a lot and it was close by to Notre Dame and the Louvre. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were a bit dated and the shower was small but was fine for the purposes of a trip to see Paris.
Good price as well for the centre of Paris. Would recommend for young people who want to see the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeHanOFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinkjer, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Me and my girlfiend lived at this hotel when we visited Paris a weekend in september.
Service: The staff are a wonderful bunch of people! Very kean to inform about everything You might want to ask!
Value: With this PERFECT central location, 50 meters to the sub-station "Les Halles"where You can arrive when going by sub from cdgl airport. Most of the attractions within walking distance and SO MANY nice restaurants just around the corner, perfect!
Sleeping quality: Comfortable beds, well isolated windows.
Cleanliness: The room maid made a very good job!
Location: See "Value"
Rooms: Not as small as You could expect for this price in central Paris, the bathroom was large with a bathtub.
No fitnessarea/pool.
To summon up: Perfect for the couple who want to have most of the Paris attractions and good shoping within walking distance, who don't bother if the entrance to the Hotel doesn't look like Waldorf Astoria, who appreciate to live at smaller hotels where people realy makes You feel comfortable and welcome! We will definitely come back when we're in Paris again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Himasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1,078 of 1,800 in Paris
191 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#242 of 1,800 in Paris
180 reviews
Les Halles
Tonic Hotel Louvre
Tonic Hotel Louvre
#1,399 of 1,800 in Paris
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#997 of 1,800 in Paris
358 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,143 of 1,800 in Paris
398 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,120 of 1,800 in Paris
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: 7 Rue de la Cossonnerie, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,345 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing