We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel du Continent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel du Continent
Ranked #98 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We recently returned from a five day stay in this hotel, it is beautifully and colourfully decorated. The rooms are small like most city centre hotels. Bathroom very small but functional. The staff were excellent - friendly and helpful, and it is in a great location. Breakfast good and reasonably priced for that area. The food in restaurant next door is really delicious - (to the right as you enter the hotel) it is open Sunday evenings, but book to ensure a place.
Suggestion - The item missing in the bedrooms is a full length mirror! Or indeed any mirror! There is a mirror above the washbasin in the bathroom but that is it. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed at the du Continent for six nights recently during the wonderful Paris weather (60's every day) and found the hotel through Tripadvisor.
The hotel is in a perfect location for a first visit to Paris. Close to the major museums and landmarks. One block off rue Rivoli, two minutes to the Tuilleries and Place Concorde.
All the staff were helpful but Andrea was outstanding, doing every task with a smile.
Everything is new, so while the rooms are small they are very accommodating. Much has been said about the design so I will not discuss it.
Breakfast is reasonable (10E). The bath had a great shower but hot water was a problem several days. It was also quiet, our room did not face the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texassuper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed one night here as our 'usual' hotel in Paris was fully booked.
On the plus side - excellent location, very clean, comfortable bed, bath towels that are most definitely bigger and fluffier than most Parisian hotels will supply.
On the downside - not much! The rooms are small, but correct for the price range ... our bathroom was pretty minuscule (but clean and adequate). Lacks enough space to place your toilet bag anywhere other than on the closed toilet seat (!) ... but that's a very small complaint. Our hot water wasn't hot at 0800 ... not freezing, but definitely not hot. The lovely receptionist informed us that they are dealing with this.
Woken by the rubbish truck at 0730 which is actually a really civilised time for a Parisian rubbish collection! We had a room overlooking the street side - I am a notoriously light sleeper and wasn't disturbed at all by traffic. The rubbish truck woke us ... yes, but it was time to get up anyway!
Staff - efficient, friendly, professional.
Nothing to complain about here - a hotel in this price range with this standard in this location is VERY hard to come by.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe stay away from street-side if you want to sleep in a little!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in this great property and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in exclusive area, close to Louvre museum, Place de la Concorde, Champs Elysees and subway station (Concorde).The design of the rooms is very special, Christian Lacroix did a good job. We had a suite junior at 6th floor, “Les Ameriques” well equipped and a bed very comfortable. Nice service and kind attention from the staff, especially Andreea who was always ready to assist. Breakfast was good. For sure we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel and the location is wonderful.I was in a single room for 2 nights. Though the rooms are very small, the decor is pleasing and interesting.The breakfast pastries were fabulous and staff is top notch!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for a few days with my 14-year old daughter in February half term. The hotel is brilliantly located for all the sights. We walked everywhere without effort. The hotel is simple, but spotless and the quirky décor is a treat. Rooms small (as you'd expect in a capital city) but very comfortable - including the beds. Our room looked out into an internal light well, but that made it totally free from traffic noise even with the window open. Breakfast was available but we didn't take it, although we did use the honesty bar in reception which was very reasonably priced. The staff were charming and helpful, which is not always the case in Paris. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LisaR631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beautifully designed, perfectly located - short walk distance from Place Vendome, Tuileries gardens and the Louvre museum, Place de la Concorde and Champs Elysees, Rue Saint Honore... staff is friendly and efficient, breakfast is nice. Rooms are small, but like any other 3 star hotel in paris. Maintenance and cleaniness is superb. Definitely will stay there again when I'm back in Paris.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Lapid_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Cambon
Hotel Cambon
#290 of 1,803 in Paris
406 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#33 of 1,803 in Paris
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#218 of 1,803 in Paris
788 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Richepanse
Hotel Opera Richepanse
#128 of 1,803 in Paris
535 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#87 of 1,803 in Paris
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Continent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Continent

Address: 30 rue du Mont Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#63 Business Hotel in Paris
#79 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £129 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Continent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Continent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Continent Hotel
Du Continent Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing