We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy shower and loud cleaning service at 8am”
Review of Hotel du Continent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel du Continent
Ranked #82 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moldy shower and loud cleaning service at 8am”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just stayed at this hotel from may1st- May 6th 2014. The location was great, I would give that a 5. On the other side, the entire room smelt like mold because the shower was extremely moldy. I had to keep my bathroom door shut at all times because it would wake me up at night. Also, everything morning at 8am the cleaning lady would wake up the entire floor. I don't mean just little noises, enough to make my bed shake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Kristine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor!
We are very sorry that our hotel did not reach your expectations, because is the first time having this type of complain … the hotel is brand new, entirely renovated in December 2013 and remodeled by Christian Lacroix.
Regarding the noise problem, we would like to mention that our cleaning service starts at 9am, so it is surprising how you were disturbed by the chamber maid at 8am..
We hope you had a nice trip overall!

Best regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    163
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
104
283
101
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Easter Monday and couldn't have been happier. The location was perfectly located -- Tuileries Gardens, Louvre, Champs Elysees, metro...

What really impressed me was the service. The concerige was incredibly friendly and helpful. They remembered my mom and I by name when we came/left and gave great recommendations. What impressed me the most was I left stamped post cards in the room (by accident) and they actually mailed them for me without me calling to ask!

The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom - especially the shower were heavenly. Reasonable rates as well. I'd def. recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite for the extra space. It was only 10 euro more than the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sarah,

We are so grateful for your loyalty to our hotel! We would like to thank you very much for sharing this review on Tripadvisor!
It is a pleasure for us to take care of our guests and provide this kind of services.
The entire team is looking forward seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel in April and had a wonderful time.The hotel's location could not be better.It's right beside the garden tuileries,and in the centre of everything and just a short walk to the Louvre etc,There is a metro stop nearby and we found this really easy to use, The hotel was lovely and comfortable, our bedroom was spotless,warm and modern with a big bed with crisp white bed linen, big fluffy bath sheets, bathrobes and slippers. we always had plenty of hot water with both a bath tub and shower. hotel was very quiet at night so had no problems having a good nights sleep for the three nights we were there,All the staff we met were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. we had an early flight so had requested and early check-in if possible, this was not a problem when we arrived and were greeted with a smile. We would recommend this hotel without a doubt and would stay again the next time we are in Paris..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoife l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

All our team would like to thank you for having appreciated your stay amongst us. Indeed the location is perfect, next to the metro station and the major tourist attractions.
It was a pleasure to accommodate you earlier than expected and we are glad that you appreciate this service.
Thank you so much for your good ranking!
We look forward welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just back from 7 nights in Paris. Stayed at the Continent in one of the single Rooms, #28. Was small as expected, but what was not expected was that my bathroom was downstairs, down a steep twisting staircase leading down under the upper floor. Odd, but fun!!! And from what I hear, it has the biggest bathroom of any of the single rooms. No room issues here, plenty of room for shower, sink, exercising, lol.

Hotel was very clean. All the employees were very kind and helpful with anything I needed. The breakfast they serve is small and simple...a light continental breakfast of Coffee, Juice, Bread/Jellies and Yogurt. Wish they had a big bowl of fruit such as apples and bananas to have as well. Someday?

Overall great stay. Wifi was good, location is excellent in the 1st right near major attractions and the ritzy area you are in. Place Vendome just around the corner....Louvre and Gardens a block over. Concorde Metro station just 5 mins or less away.

I will stay here again when I come to Paris again.

Room Tip: Had #28...single room. Bathroom is on level below the bedroom. If you dont mind a steep little fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a great reward for all our team to have such a nice review from your part. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are glad that you had a pleasant week amongst us.
Thank you for having appreciate our French Continental breakfast! We also take into consideration your suggestion and maybe in the future we will improve it with an assortment of fresh fruits.
Thank you very much for your feedback. As you promised, we look forward seeing you a second time.

Kind regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Recently had the pleasure of staying at this newly refurbished boutique hotel for 3 nights.
The hotel is small but perfectly situated on a quiet street in the
bustling 1st arrondissement-
an easy walk to the Louvre, Place Vendome, the Concorde metro stop and many other attractions.
The hotel is nestled among some very toney 5 star hotels but manages to hold its own.
There were also some very good restaurants - Ferdi & Le Souffle-
on the same block which we had
the good fortune to try.
The staff were very friendly and
helpful and all spoke English.
The rooms were small but cozy, extremely clean and beautifully decorated. Our room had a comfy bed, high quality Missoni toiletries, free wifi, a room safe.
We had the breakfast each morning for 10 euro - continental which included fresh squeezed juices, yogurt and lovely French breakfast pastries and all the coffee you can drink.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1boutiquebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read this amazing review about all our services and the central location.
The title of your comment accurately describes the theme that fits our hotel.
We also appreciate you mentioning the Missoni toiletries! We try to provide a high quality service to the last detail!

We definitely wait to see you again!
Kind regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Funky bohemian hotel, and perfect for my needs. My room was a bit larger than Pullman sleeper car ( could lie in bed and stretch my arms wall to wall) but every inch is well thought out. Great water pressure. Perfect location to transportation and museums. Would stay here again. Good breakfast and very interesting fellow travelers. Only issue is if you are taller than 6'6, you won't be fitting in the capsule like elevators. And it on the top floor, good luck hauling suitcases. Front desk staff tended toward cliche of rude Parisian, which is too bad. Really a neat little place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jewelryjunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your very kind words regarding the decoration and our French continental breakfast. We are glad that our “funky” atmosphere pleased to you.
Our main goal is that our guests are comfortable with us, which is why the entire team works to meet all your expectations. So we do not understand why the front desk disappointed you.
Hope you had an overall pleasant stay.

We look forward welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just enjoyed a 3 night stay at this hotel. It's smack in the middle of everything. Short walk to the Louvre. Metro a few minutes away. Great views of the Eiffel Tower (make sure to view on the hour for the sparkling light show). We had a room on the street but unlike some other reviewers were not bothered by any noise. Staff were amazingly friendly and always willing or provide ideas and suggestions. You have to leave your key when you go out but I understand this is for safety reasons in the event of a fire they know if guests are in the hotel...smart. Rooms are small yes but it's Paris. Spotlessly clean..love the wooden floors for hygiene reasons. Would suggest they provide a full length mirror. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floor if at front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sarah,

Greetings from Paris! We appreciate your nice review and we would like to thank you. All our team is very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the particularities of our hotel.
Besides security reason, keeping the key at the reception helps us to optimize cleaning rooms and not disturb our guests.
Took note of the length mirror in the room…meanwhile we have a lot in the reception lobby for a last “look check” before you go out :)

We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#39 of 1,802 in Paris
1,108 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#223 of 1,802 in Paris
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Opera Richepanse
Hotel Opera Richepanse
#140 of 1,802 in Paris
504 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#73 of 1,802 in Paris
645 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#8 of 1,802 in Paris
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Continent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Continent

Property: Hotel du Continent
Address: 30 rue du Mont Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#63 Business Hotel in Paris
#79 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Continent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Continent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Continent Hotel
Du Continent Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing